We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Yarm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We have recently spent the weekend at The Old Mill and thoroughly enjoyed our stay; the hosts Andy and Zoe were first class; so welcoming and friendly we'll definitely be back again! Our room was first class and exceeded our expectations, very spacious and modern, everything was immaculate. We enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast on both mornings in the "farmhouse" style kitchen, loved the enormous long table for everyone to sit at!
Location is ideal - out of the main high street where traffic can be very heavy, and noisy on a night, but lovely to visit during the day, great for shop and eating.
All in all we loved the place and would highly recommend it to anyone; also very family friendly.
Cant understand a couple of the negative reviews they seem far from the truth?!
Thank you Andy and Zoe for our lovely stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouB1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    82
    44
    27
    54
See reviews for
34
209
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Just spent Bank holiday weekend in The Old Mill. We were so impresses as we drove up to the Mill, beautiful well kept gardens,patio area and plenty of parking spaces.

We were given a warm welcome on our check in, and offered a complimentary drink ,nd We were invited to sit at the patio area and use the outside facilities along with other guests who were also enjoying the peace and quiet and lovely sunshine.We were shown to our room and found it to be very light, clean and comfortable,the en suite was fabulous and very modern and clean.

We walked a few minutes away to a small pub and enjoyed a really nice meal,which was reasonably priced and very enjoyable.

The beds were clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed a good nights sleep, and breakfast the next morning was very good and great value for money,once again the staff very friendly and helpful.

We are planning a break in the near future and would definatley stay at The Old Mill again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelybreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My husband & I have just returned from a weekend away, where we stayed at this B&B. The pictures & some of the reviews on the internet make this appear a lovely place full of charm. It isn't. First, it isn't in Yarm, but quite far outside...between the housing estate and the prison to be precise! The Mill isn't the accomodation, the bedroms are apartments behind the main building. Ours had cobwebs on the walls, a ripped, tatty towel, unironed sheets and a strange smell.Oh, and the double bed was too singles pushed together!!!! We could easily hear the other guests moving around and the water system was extremely noisy, we could hear every time a tap was turned on or a toilet flushed. The windows were not dressed and you were easily visible to the garden. The breakfast was appaling, not as described, and we were expected to sit at a long bench with the other guests IN THE HOTEL KITCHEN while the host watched TV and dried the pots!!! The Mill house is a "bar" with seating for the three people and the local pub with "good food" is far from it, just a plain pub with basic generic microwave pub grub. I would not recommend this B&B, pub or Yarm for that matter. However, if you are ever in Yarm "Everly's Continental Restaurant, High Street, Yarm..it's excellent

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mad_and_Marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldMillBnB, Receptionist at The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
In regards to the accomodation not being in yarm we ARE classed as Yarm-On-Tees just because we are not in the yarm high street doesnt mean we are not yarm but apologies if you were misled on this occasion. Also we are not situated in between a housiing estate and a prison as the prison is about a mile or 2 up the road and i think this was wrongly used in describing our accomodation as you cannot physically see it from the mill itself. Also the beds are a ziplink bed which are together but can be seperated. The windows ARE dressed as they have curtains up in all our rooms. Our apologies for the water system being noisy but this is not our fault. This message is not a rant or rave i would just like to apologise for the unfortunate stay you had but we are not a 5satar hotel we are a bed and breakfast so alot of people expect alot more than what they should once again my sincere apologies and if you are ever in the area again please give us a call and we will show you the real Old Mill Bed and Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yarm hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The motel style rooms were average, as was breakfast. If you expect "luxury" or charm you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We were travelling with our 12 week old baby and this was the first time staying overnight somewhere as a family. I was very nervous about staying somewhere with such a young child. We choose this B&B for 3 reasons 1) Location to Ingleby Barwick 2) Family room 3) Value for money.
The accommodation met all our expectations and more! When I booked the room I advised we were travelling with a baby and could we request a quiet room. A few days before we arrived I received a phone call asking if we required a travel cot and what time would we like to check in? I thought this was a nice touch and felt my requests were being noted before we had even arrived.
On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and offered us both a drink to take back to our room to help us unwind after our long journey (what a lovely unique touch) . She also noted our previous request for a quiet room for the baby and said she had allocated us room 1 which was a quiet room. We were asked if we would like continental or full cooked breakfast for the morning. She showed us a menu and asked if there was anything we would like or not like with our breakfast (again tailoring to individual taste, nice touch).
We were shown to our room which was an extended part of The Old Mill. It felt like our own little private space away from the main building. We had a lovely balcony with table and chairs, with patio doors into the main bedroom, with a little sitting room off from the main room. We had two TVs (one in bedroom and one in seating area), a big Double bed (made up of two singles together), a mini fridge (great for baby bottles) and a nice modern bathroom. NOTE: The room was very quiet! We went to bed at 9pm and baby slept soundly until she woke for her normal night feed and then slept soundly until morning.
Breakfast was cooked by the owner and was superb! The owner was very friendly and was keen to know if we had enjoyed our stay. I really got the impression that the owners are there for their guests and really want to do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Note: This is a B&B not a high street hotel!! You do not get the 'Luxury' of a 5 star hotel, but you get 5star hospitality.
When visiting friends again, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0c0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This booking was made fairly quickly - scanning through and phoning around accomodation in the Yarm area. I liked the look of the building from their website and thought it would be a bit different, compared to other hotels and B&B's in the area.
The initial price quoted was quite steep, and came down a little (took off the VAT) when I said so. However, it was still comparatively high, but I wanted that little bit of "luxury" referenced on the description on the website.

I was quite surprised to be advised that the policy was for no refund within 14 days (!!??) of arrival, but we knew we were coming, so that wasn't an issue. I was also a little annoyed when the first email confirmation did not show the discount, but the full price and I had to call again to get the correct price emailed through.

On arrival the room appeared spacious, though it was obviously of a rather poor quality fit-out and furnishing. As our stay progressed we became increasingly dissatisfied with the room - in summary:
- No dressing table - despite it being a fairly large room - pain for someone trying to do make-up and hair
- Hot water in the shower ran out on both mornings
- glasses in the bathroom were dirty
- bathroom itself not very clean - patches of what looked like talcum powder on the floor
- inadequate towels - one frayed and only one hand-towel between two persons
- Thermostatic valve on the radiator in the main room didn't work - only effective settings on or off - so impossible to get a reasonable temperature in the room
- Main room not particularly clean either, sitting on the floor doing make-up I became very aware of the thick layer of dust and fluf all around the edge of the room
- double bed constructed of two singles and therefore super-king-sized, but the duvet wasn't! barely fitted to the edges.
- all soft furnishings and bedding of very poor quality. The "spare" pillow in the cupboard didn't even have a pillowcase on it
- the room was in the side-buildings to the windmill and the conversion was obvioulsy done on the cheap - thin walls and a connecting door between the rooms meant we were very aware of the movements of those in the room next door. LIkewise for the room above. Thankfully we were lucky and they weren't noisy people!
- the front-door to the room had windows, but no curtains so light streamed in
- TV was too small for the room
- we were very annoyed to get back on the second evening to find that the room hadn't been serviced at all!! We had left in the morning and been out all day until 9.30pm, so no excuse for that.
- although the building looked very cute on arrival - all nice lights and so on, the outside area was somewhat shabby with bits of building materials just outside our room.

Overall very disappointing and certainly will not be coming back. We travel quite a bit around the UK and are very used to the feel of a hotel/B&B where the owners "care" about the quality of the stay for their guests. This wasn't one of those experiences.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dweeb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We booked this accommodation 2 weeks previous, to stay for one night. We travelled from Tunbridge Wells, Kent on 23rd December, 2010. We arrived at A1 Services at Thirsk. Had a phone call from my sister to say Leven Bank was closed due to SNOW STORM. We tried to telephone The Old Mill over 20 times from 5pm to 9pm & the line was engaged solidly for 4 hours. We were assured if we had any problems to just call at any time. We wanted to know what the roads where like & even tried the mobile number (that was advertised on their website) & just constantly rang with no reply. by 8.50pm we so distraught we searched for another hotel & had to pay £150.00 on top of the £110.00 the owners took out of my mastercard the following morning & for one night! I telephoned the manager on our return & was extremely rude & very unprofessional.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie503899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarm
1.6 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
528 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
844 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#3 of 5 in Yarm
242 reviews
6.5 mi away
Thorpe Thewles Lodge
Thorpe Thewles Lodge
#1 of 14 in Stockton-on-Tees
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Address: Barwick Lane | High Leven, Yarm TS15 9JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yarm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Yarm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Yarm
The Old Mill Bed And Breakfast
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast Yarm, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing