We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were having such a lovely time, what a shame?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucia's Italian Kitchen

Lucia's Italian Kitchen
Ranked #17 of 50 Restaurants in Yarm
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were having such a lovely time, what a shame?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We visitied Lucia's on Friday 1st March as a family of four. We have two daughters (aged 5 and nearly 3) and were really happy to be greeted by a welcoming, sociable, happy, and relaxed atmosphere. The waiters and waitresses were really friendly and attended to our needs.
We explained at the start of the meal that our daughter had a severe egg and nut allergy and the waiter helped us to identify what she could eat.
As every child loves puddings we decided to all have a pudding, however from the children's and adult's menu there was only one dessert she could have, cheescake. My daughter had been so looking forward to some ice-cream, but they didnt even have any ice-cream for people with egg allergies. Surely she is not the only child in the North-east to have an egg allergy.
It could have been so simple for them to have ice-cream in the freezer that catered for people with allergies. This is meant to be the 21st century for goodness sake.
Needless to say she was rather upset and dissappointed. As were we, we communicated our disappointment and were told that the chef would be informed. Would we go again? I'm not sure I could do that to my daughter again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsglmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luciasitaliankitchen, Owner at Lucia's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Lucia's Italian Kitchen, we were pleased to hear that you were greeted by friendly staff and that the atmosphere was welcoming, however we were disappointed that we were unable to meet all of your expectations -with regards to the ice-cream for your daughter who has an egg allergy. We have been involved in the restaurant industry for over 20 years and have not had this request before. Now that you have brought it to our attention we will explore sourcing ice-cream that would be suitable for your daughter and other people with egg allergies. We hope you will give us the opportunity to show you that we have acted upon your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    93
    52
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NorthYorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good in parts.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having read the assorted reviews, I was really looking forward to trying out this new addition to the eating out choices available in Yarm. Having looked at the menu's on the website, we both decided to sample the Happy Hour - I chose garlic mushrooms with wonderful bread, followed by Saltimbocca - not a huge portion but fine for me. Couldn't resist the hot cherry dessert either - delicious!

We liked that the tables weren't too close together, background music just that, not overpowering. Could have done with a bit more lighting, but liked the surroundings from what we could see of them.

Service? Bit hit and miss, friendly but not attentive enough really, we had to go and find someone to take our order. No-one seemed to be keeping an eye out for tables needing service, we felt a bit ignored at times, which was a shame.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2013Yarm, Owner at Lucia's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is really useful to get feedback from customers so that we can make things even better. We will discuss your comments as a management team and try to make the appropriate changes. We hope you will come again so we have the opportunity to show you that the points you highlighted will be addressed. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, superb service, best in Yarm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We knew this place very well as Joe Rigatoni's when the food was great and you were ways well looked after. Now, however, Chris has lead the transformation in to a whole new level. Fresh, high quality produce prepared by a genius chef who clearly cares as much as the front of house team (particularly Gemma) do that you leave absolutely delighted. Do not eat anywhere else! If you delay trying Lucia's you will only regret the times you ate elsewhere....can't wait to return

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosiema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia2013Yarm, Owner at Lucia's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review! We are so pleased that you were not disappointed when trying out Lucia's. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Happy Hour kept us very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

2 courses for £10.95 excellent value for money good grub and enough to satisfy us both. Will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luciasitaliankitchen, Owner at Lucia's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Happy Hour menu and that you will be returning. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I also was a frequent visitor to joe rigs and arrive last night with my family knowing it had changed to Lucias. We arrived to a nice friendly atmosphere ordered drinks, and ordered food. We were gob smacked at the portions that arrived at our table! 6 chunky chips neatly arranged on our plates for the price of roughly £12.00 a salad that had been drowned in an oil so much so it was almost flat to the plate. When I asked was this it? I was told yes. Would I like some extra chip we replied yes when the arrive they were not even cooked so inedible. My family and friends will NOT be returning any time soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia's Italian Kitchen also viewed

Yarm, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 
Yarm, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 
Yarm, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lucia's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing