We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and great service ”
Review of The House

The House
Ranked #16 of 61 Restaurants in Yarm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Bistro restuarant within a desinger clothing store in the centre of Yarm High Street opposite the town hall
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

Visiting Yarm and wanted a bite to eat. We were unsure where to eat and asked a shop assistant for recommendations. She mentioned a couple but I’ve never been into The House, so we thought we’d give it a try. We weren’t disappointed. We had the Friday Fish special. It was lovely and great value for money. Didn’t have space for a dessert but next time I think we’ll just have a drink so we can have a gorgeous dessert.

So worth coming here if shopping in Yarm

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank CarolG900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 177 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

We visit the cafe inside the House on a regular basis. Food and service is always excellent. Staff are very welcoming and helpful.
The full English breakfast is particularly nice and at a very reasonable price.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Jeffrey274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019 via mobile

Chose this place from the extensive menu outside. Ended up with good old fashioned ham, egg and chips. Real fried chips no awful oven chips here! The ham was very good quality and tasted good.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank JoJetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

We walked the main street at Yarm trying to find somewhere for a nice, but inexpensive meal. A lot of the menus outside the pubs and restaurants seemed a bit expensive and pretentious, but eventually we found the café inside The House (a sort of small department store on the main street).
Even though it was busy, we were soon shown to a table. The menu had a good choice of food. The meals we chose were very tasty and moderately priced. The service was friendly.
One disadvantage was that the toilets were upstairs - perhaps a bit of a problem for anyone with a mobility problem. Other than than, I can recommend this restaurant for its food and its reasonable prices.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank iangemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

We gave enjoyed several breakfasts here and always enjoyable. Full English for me but something for everyone. Good friendly service and relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Huttongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House also viewed

Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
 
Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
 

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing