We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship

The Ship
Ranked #18 of 50 Restaurants in Yarm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Country Pub and Restaurant
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Visited the Ship yet again. Lovely food, Exellent value for money, Nice relaxed atmosphere. Well done.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annwilliams64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    42
    27
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food, Lovely staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were a party of 7 who spent a Saturday evening at The Ship. We were looked after very well, the place was very busy too.
Nice choice of food on the menu, the prices are a bit higher than you would usually pay in a similar establishment, but not that high. The drinks seemed a little pricey too but it was a spcial occasion so we did not mind.
It would be nice to go just as a couple too, cosy and very welcoming.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RIOLADY59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely change of chef and maybe new owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have visited the ship at least monthly for the last 20 years.
Unfortunately the food is most certainly not as good as it was.
Went two weeks ago and had lasagne which is my favourite and the ships was always exceptional.
However it was not too good, on complaining was told it was a different chef.
Thinking it was maybe a one off, been today for lunch to find again the food was most certainly not
As good as it used to be. Very disappointed as the food was always excellent. Maybe it has changed hands. It was always very busy but on my last two visits there were very few people eating.
Maybe give it one last visit but if it isn't back to its normal standard we will not be going again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Overpriced low quality food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Like other recent reviewers my family have eaten here occasionally over several years but our meal last night will be our last.
I ordered the sizzling chicken/king prawn in thai chilli sauce with fragrant rice. My daughter ordered a vegetable balti with rice. When the meals arrived the rice on both dishes was a overcooked tasteless yellow and whilst looking appropriate for the curry could by no stretch of the imagination be described as 'fragrant rice'. I complained to the man who asked if everything was ok. He asked what I expected, and went to see the chef. Returned with a poor explanation and kept saying that he wasn't a chef. Eventually he said would I like some rice with corriander. As we were all 1/2 way through the meal I declined and asked for a reduction on the bill. £2 was offered off the £13.95 that was being charged. This missed the point that the whole dish was spoilt. I was told that the manageress would come over and discuss but she didn't and seemed to avoid this.
The chicken parmasan (mentioned on website as a teesside fav) was a disgrace. The chicken was low quality and grey and greasy. A better quality can be had from any Middlesbrough kebab shop. My wife had to look at the menu to see if it was pork or chicken she had ordered! That was £9.95. When I went to pay the bill the manageress apologised in response to my complaint, told me the chef had been told off and offered £4 off the bill. All the while she was nodding in a vacuous, patronising, 'im really listening to your complaint' manner which gave the impression that she wasn't listening. Total for two mediocre and two poor meals and one round of drinks was just short of £60. Poor value for money. Poor customer service, Poor food. Will not be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sixpoontprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“FAB, RELAXED DINING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

1st of all,The Ship has been decorated and looks far better than in the photos...We have been to this pub many times and always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The portions are plentiful and presented nicely. It's a very relaxing place to eat. And through out October there are great specials on offer, like some meals with 50% off (look out for the little boat symbol on the menu) Our favourate (chicken rapped in bacon and stuffed with leeks in a cream/stilton sauce) was one of these. It's only a short ride from Yarm, but feels like your in the country. We stayed and enjoyed our drinks at leisure. Looking forward to our next visit. Keep up the good work and thank you for a very pleasent afternoon....We visited on Sat 5th Oct.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annwilliams64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship also viewed

Yarm, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 
Yarm, North Yorkshire
Yarm, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing