We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for visiting the Yorkshire Moors”
Review of Wainstones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wainstones Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Broughton
Reviewed July 3, 2010

excellent location, and setting out point for touring North Yorkshire.
the food in the bar was excellent, and also at breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbevHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 235 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2010

The Wainstones went the extra mile for our big day. All of our guests were very impressed with the food , rooms and service. The hotel was very flexible and met all of our requirements.
We would not hesitate to recommend it unconditionally.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradisesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Whenever in the area I try and book in the Wainstones, the staff are so helpful and cheerful. The food cannot be beaten for value. portion size or taste .The hotel is a proper hotel and not a nameless chain without character .

The location is peacefull with many walks close by. I stay in many hotels across the UK and this the one i look forward to staying in.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanoChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We looked for a last minute Xmas break that was value for money and not a grab as much as you could take institution and found this peach of a hotel.

From the initial booking the staff were excellent, helpful, responsive and informative righ t through tinkering with the package offered to accommodate an earlier than wanted return to work for myself to helping my elderly mother.

The hotel/pub were quaint, clean, quirky and yet homely. Staff friendly, respectful, pleasant, understanding and yet jovial. Respect for you one and all and that really made us feel part of a family atmosphere and not at any old hotel.

Food! Inspired, delicious, value for money and with good choice I recommend throughly all that was offered. Travelling a lot I come across good and bad restauarants and this i up with the best I have encountered.

Overall and outstanding place for rest, holiday base or for elegant and sophisticated eating.

Thank you to an excellent manager and superb staff, not used lightly, for making this holiday super and memorable.

I'll be back to quote a well know cinematic icon.

Graham

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Just got back from a great weekend at an absolute gem of a hotel. An anniversary stay, this venue proved to be most romantic. The rooms are good quality, the food was devine and great value. All of the staff were really friendly and efficient. Good, clean and great value. I'm happy and booked next years 'romantic' weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

The room was pleasant but small, staff very helpful and friendly, but a little overpriced. Could do with a lounge, the only seaing in the bar area was dining tables except for stools at the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crispypack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We booked a family room by phone as the website did not seem to accept the discount showing on the site. We paid £69 for a family room. The bedroom was well appointed. the fresh fruit was a nice touch. We ate in the Endeavour bar in the evening and the food was delicious. My husband was particularly impressed by his mixed grill . He does not give praise lightly! The breakfast was also good. The staff we encountered were friendly and happy to oblige for those little extras that make the difference betweeen mediocre stay and a really enjoyable stay. We will be back. Great location too.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosePearl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Broughton
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,564 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
3.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
356 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainstones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainstones Hotel

Address: 31 High Street, Great Broughton TS9 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Broughton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Broughton
Price Range: $78 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wainstones Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wainstones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wainstones Hotel Middlesbrough
Wainstones Hotel Great Broughton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing