We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas lunch excellent”
Review of Wainstones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wainstones Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Broughton
Stockton on Tees
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Xmas lunch excellent”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just been here for the xmas lunch, there were 12 of us. The food was very good, served well, hot and good presentation. The waitresses were very pleasant. A good 3 course meal for only £15 each and coffee too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen-9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    71
    51
    17
    5
See reviews for
33
89
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norton, Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We decided to get away for an evening to ourselves this week before the family arrive for Christmas. We went to this hotel because it is in a lovely part of Yorkshire and near to Helmsley and Stokesley. We live on the County Durham side of the Tees but the hotel was only 15 miles away. However, Yorkshire is another country and wonderful. As is common with a lot of hotels, the public parts of the hotel are old and charming and the guest accommodation is newer and modern. The room was standard for its type but very clean and in good order. It was a cold night and the radiator was cold but my husband went down to reception and they immediately adjusted the thermostat (which apparently was situated in the bar area). Everything about the booking was correct and a table had been reserved for us in the restaurant which was heaving with Christmas celebrations. The hotel has the same menu in both the restaurant and the bar and it was suitable - certainly the kind of menu my husband appreciates with a good range of meat and fish dishes, locally sourced where possible. I had a local pork chop with red cabbage, mash and caramelised onions. My husband favoured the huge burger (this description doesn't actually do justice to it) because it was what he felt like - despite his usual favourites such as steak and ale pie and steaks being on the menu. It is really rather robust eating - this is not "fine dining" but it is good food, extremely well cooked and with a local provenance. Excellent menu. Very nice waiting staff, helpful. In the morning, the breakfast was superb and the waitress absolutely excellent. She was cheery and solicitous without being intrusive. The bacon (local) was wonderful and properly cooked (how often is this not true of hotels). All in all, we had a great night away before the festivities start and will certainly go there again. The gentleman who prepared our bill in the morning was helpful and chatty (a Scot who offered a Yorkshire welcome).....he explained that a lot of the hotel's business was normally corporate and that the hotel was frequently full in the week. However, if you are a hiker doing the Cleveland Way or just attempting Roseberry Topping, or visiting the lovely towns of Stokesley or Helmsley - this is a great place for a stop-over.

Room Tip: All the rooms are away from the road and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nortonvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A fantastic place to get married, it was recommended to us from another couple who had been married there and the place has a lovely warm feel to it, everyone we spoke to after the reception said it was the best wedding they had been to. This was all due to the expertise of David and his staff, the reception room looked fantastic, it was noted by a lot of people how courteous and cheery the staff were. The reception cost was very reasonable and David the manager was very flexible regarding arranging the menu and drinks. We cant speak highly enough about this venue and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone - this is now our anniversary venue! Ian & Karen McGowan

Room Tip: the bridal suite had four poster bed which was lovely..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently had our wedding ceremony and reception here and we thought the service was excellent.
Right from the day we booked it we had good support from all the staff, answering all our questions, and helping to make the day to remember.
The staff during the day were fabulous,very courteous and the day went as smoothly as we had hoped for.
The one thing that let it down unfortunately were the rooms, they could do with a good makeover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was the venue for my daughters wedding. The staff were just wonderful from our arrival until we left.

There were a number of family's staying all had superb rooms.

The wedding went without a hitch we were all made to feel very special.

Thank you for a fantastic time.

Duncan Greene

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We got married at the wainstones in September. We had the perfect day. The staff are very attentive and will go out of there way to help you. Even with the smallest thing. We had our ceremony and reception here and would not have changed a thing. The day ran at our own speed with no presure of been told when anything had to be done. The food is by far the best I have eaten at a large function of any sort. Service was to the highest standard. The disco (provided by the hotel) was perfect, everyone got up to have a dance! A lot of our guests stayed over at the hotel as my husband is not from the area. Some stayed the night before the wedding and we enjoyed meals in the bar and drinks, this was very relaxed and again staff very attentive. We alson Stayed in the four poster room andhad a very comfy nights sleep and enjoyed a great fry up the following morning. Some of out guests have told us they had "fantastic food", "Very clean bedrooms", "Comfy nights sleep", "one of the best weddings", "Fantastic disco". This is just a few comments. We would like to thank all the staff at the Wainstones for making our Wedding day perfect : )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbeedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed overnight as wedding guests, the ceremony and reception were at the hotel and we arrived at midday and stayed until the next day after breakfast. The reception and greeting were welcoming and the gentleman was helpful on check in. We ate lunch in the bar just after arriving and enjoyed selecting from the vast menu and were delighted with our choice of hot meals and sandwiches, very tasty, good quality and served promptly. Did not like the constant buzz of flies around but thought this was just around the food, we did however discover that the flies are permanent guests and in every room!. The wedding ceremony was wonderful and very professionally handled by the hotel staff, though they could have staffed the bar better when 25 guests all descended at once after the photographs were finished. Once again the food at the reception was a high standard, clearly a talented chef back of house. The temperature in and around the hotel rooms was too high and there is little ventilation which is probably why they supply fans in the rooms. The nights sleep was anything but peaceful, the hotel is very noisy at any hour, staff talking and clattering about, a very noisy vacuum cleaner at 8 a.m. on Sunday morning when the hotel is full of wedding guests who had a very late night, doors banging, we chose not to mention our disturbed night on check out mainly because we were not asked how our stay was but many other guests could be overheard complaining about the noise and disturbance. Aside from the wedding itself and the friends and family of the wedding party we would struggle to be complimentary about any aspect of our visit. Yes the place needs updating as the decor and furnishings are tired and worn but deeper cleaning or vigilance may help to rid the place of flies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Broughton
1.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,459 reviews
11.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
331 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
12.5 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainstones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainstones Hotel

Property: Wainstones Hotel
Address: 31 High Street, Great Broughton TS9 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Broughton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Broughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wainstones Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Wainstones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wainstones Hotel Middlesbrough
Wainstones Hotel Great Broughton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing