We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chef! Not much else.”
Review of Wainstones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wainstones Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Broughton
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed overnight as wedding guests, the ceremony and reception were at the hotel and we arrived at midday and stayed until the next day after breakfast. The reception and greeting were welcoming and the gentleman was helpful on check in. We ate lunch in the bar just after arriving and enjoyed selecting from the vast menu and were delighted with our choice of hot meals and sandwiches, very tasty, good quality and served promptly. Did not like the constant buzz of flies around but thought this was just around the food, we did however discover that the flies are permanent guests and in every room!. The wedding ceremony was wonderful and very professionally handled by the hotel staff, though they could have staffed the bar better when 25 guests all descended at once after the photographs were finished. Once again the food at the reception was a high standard, clearly a talented chef back of house. The temperature in and around the hotel rooms was too high and there is little ventilation which is probably why they supply fans in the rooms. The nights sleep was anything but peaceful, the hotel is very noisy at any hour, staff talking and clattering about, a very noisy vacuum cleaner at 8 a.m. on Sunday morning when the hotel is full of wedding guests who had a very late night, doors banging, we chose not to mention our disturbed night on check out mainly because we were not asked how our stay was but many other guests could be overheard complaining about the noise and disturbance. Aside from the wedding itself and the friends and family of the wedding party we would struggle to be complimentary about any aspect of our visit. Yes the place needs updating as the decor and furnishings are tired and worn but deeper cleaning or vigilance may help to rid the place of flies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 230 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

A very friendly welcome. The building is in a pretty spot, a lot of it was built when construction methods lacked a little. I could hear quite clearly what was going on next door, it was not conducive to sleep. The doors are paper thin so you can hear quite clearly what is going on in the corridor. The bed was worn out. A very strange wifi arrangement. Bathroom tired.

Food seemed basic but competently done and served by friendly girls who seemed to have a definite interest in customers needs. The breakfast was very good and the porridge excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank infoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Review written in the context of undertaking Wainwright’s Coast to Coast Walk. Accommodation arranged by Macs Adventures. Not on the route, but a collection and delivery service offered to and from Clay Bank Top. Warm welcome and farewell. Friendly and helpful staff. They are used to walkers staying there. Good sized bar with local real ales. Bar food in the bar or meals in the restaurant / separate dining room with separate tables. Good evening meal with a varied menu. Breakfast satisfactory and available early. Packed lunches provided. We had a four-poster bed and a spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here both times when walking C2C may2010 and sept2012.
This was the most expensive @£59 singles.£89 twin/doubles but it was worth every penny.
Collection and return to Clay Bank top very efficient and friendly.
I felt that this place does everything it possibly can for customers..Free wifi and loan of laptop.fresh fruit in the rooms.loads of small details like compede available.
Food was excellent and reasonably priced including packed lunches.
7.00am breakfast useful if you are walking a long section.
Rooms nice and large most with baths
Give yourself a treat and book this place.A MASSIVE thank you to the owners and staff for being so welcoming and making our stay perfect

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here on our Coast to Coast walk and it was a real, proper, 3-star hotel.
The staff will pick you up at Clay Bank Top and take you back the next morning, so that you don't have to walk down to the village and back, which is a fair distance. The staff are all very friendly and helpful (with the single exception of the breakfast waitress).
Our room was large, clean and well-equipped with bath, kettle, WiFi and Sky.
The restaurant was also a pleasant surprise with a good selection and the food was great.
The location is nice and quiet too.
This is a 3-star hotel and not 4- or 5-star. Remembering that, it ticks every box.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamAndCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights to meet up with a few friends, who also mostly stayed there. The staff were very helpful and attentive; the food good (especially the breakfast) but the rooms seem tired and in need of refurbishment and some soundproofing. We were able to change from the assigned room which had an old, small double bed to a room with twins, otherwise I don't think we'd have slept at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The location of this hotel is ideal if you don't like staying in the center of a busy place like Middlesborough. There is a lovely walk around a stream with wild ducks and pretty houses.We also found a couple of nice pub-restaurants nearby which served better fod than the hotel restaurant. Athough the hotel restaurant food was nothing special and a bit overpriced, the breakfast was excellent. Staff was always around to take an order or look after the guests.
The rooms are a little bit plain and needs upgrading maybe to a more modern decor, but the beds were comfortable and very clean. The toiletries are a good brand and I didn't mind using them for a change. The kettle and TV needs upgrading as well. The hotel offers broadband connection for the rooms and a password is available for wifi at the bar-restaurant. Overall, this is a comfortable hotel which is good value for money and I wouldn't mind staying here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor, otherwise you will hear the noise from the room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marichu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Broughton
1.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,539 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
14.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
834 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainstones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainstones Hotel

Address: 31 High Street, Great Broughton TS9 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Broughton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Broughton
Price Range: $79 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wainstones Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Wainstones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wainstones Hotel Middlesbrough
Wainstones Hotel Great Broughton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing