We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be returning!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the classic room as there wasn't any other room available as all booked. We weren't disappointed, the room was lovely, fresh & spacious & we had a lovely sleep, we can't wait to return. Management were more than happy to show us other room options available for our next stay (at our request), we decided on the suite room for our anniversary next summer. Staff were very friendly & more than happy to help. I had steak, Peter had fish & chips in the lovely bar grill, all food iwell presented & tasted delicious! We have already recommended the Quay to our friends & family and have discussed the possibility of our daughters wedding day celebrations being held here in 2015.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments, following your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our classic rooms and slept well. Good to hear my staff were friendly and happy to help and the food in the Grill Bar was delicious and well presented.

Your kind recommendations are much appreciated and we should be delighted to assist with your daughter's wedding celebrations. Do contact our Sales department for any details you require at this time.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,790 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked a one night stay through Secret Escapes and what a pleasant experience this turned out to be. Checked in with charming Rebecca at reception who quickly completed registration and took us through the welcome letter before pointing out the location of public rooms.She then took us up to our room which turned out to be the stunning penthouse suite which was amazing.Everything you could want was here including three televisions,one of which was above the bath. Superb bathroom and an extra touch was a personal bag of toiletries.Sliding patio doors led on to a balcony which afforded wonderful views across the estuary and across to Conway castle.
We were on a dinner ,bed and breakfast deal. Dinner in the evening was excellent.We were placed at a table with views out over the estuary and the service provided was exemplary.Staff were attentive and pleasant and the food and wine matched the superb service.Breakfast next morning was just as good with extensive buffet selection.
An excellent hotel providing wonderful service and food which I have no hesitation in recommending.We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Rooney which overlooks the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely compliments, following your recent Secret Escape stay with us at the Quay Hotel. Delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit, from being checked in by Rebecca, appreciating the amazing Penthouse Suite with wonderful views across the estuary to Conwy Castle, to an excellent dinner with superb food and service.

Good to note that breakfast next morning was just as good!

Thank you for your kind recommendations and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel as part of a Secret Escapes offer. It was only £99 per room per night including breakfast. To our delight we had a suite which was on the first floor and the balcony overlooked the estuary. What a fantastic room and view!
The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the spa was an added bonus. The swimming pool got a little crowded before dinner but only due to the limited times children were allowed in there.
On this occasion there was only myself and my husband but on our next visit we shall be taking our son. We can't wait to return to The Quay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest

What a great recommendation, that you "cannot wait to return". I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your Secret Escape to the Quay Hotel and appreciated a fabulous suite overlooking the estuary with fantastic views.

Your kind words regarding my friendly, welcoming staff have been passed on and I look forward to welcoming you both and your son for the next visit,

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Coming from the area I wanted somewhere special to stay at with my girl-friend on our first visit to North Wales. I would normally chose the excellent Castle Hotel in Conwy, but as it was late spring/early summer I thought I would try the Quay Hotel for the first time. Quite corporate in style, but great nevertheless. We had a sea facing suite and we weren't disappointed. I could almost see the classrooms across the river at Ysgol Aberconwy, my old secondary school! The bar was nice, especially early evening as the sun was setting. Breakfast was nice, if quite hectic, though we had to pay as we thought it was included. Overall very good and much better than a derelict slate quay!

Room Tip: Must have a river/sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Lovely to have compliments from a "local" and delighted to know that you enjoyed your return to the "old slate quay", but not as you remembered it!

I am pleased to note that you still can appreciate the views across the estuary, the sunset and a good breakfast.

Hope you will visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for 1 night for a friends wedding reception. Room was a good size overlooking a small marina, and the bathroom was very large though lacked sufficient towel rails!

TV rather small for the size of the room, which didn't matter so much for our short stay, but it did offer Sky channels. Was a large and comfortable bed. Only negative was that the hairdryer sounded like it was about to explode!

15 minute walk into Conway, which was a pleasant when we stayed as it was a dry sunny day. Otherwise its a 5 minute drive into the centre.

Breakfast was a well stocked self service and was plentiful, with a choice of cereals and typical cooked breakfast items.

Overall a nice hotel, but probably overpriced for Wales, even with a wedding discount. Would be unlikely to stay again at the regular full room rate as this is rather expensive

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for you lovely compliments, following your night's stay when attending a friend's wedding reception. Good to know you appreciated your accommodation overlooking the marina, large comfortable bed and a plentiful breakfast.

Your constructive feedback regarding additional towel rail and size of TV is much appreciated and will be considered during the next refurbishment programme.

Sorry to note that you feel you may not return due to the regular room rates, however do keep an eye on our website for those special offers which may entice you back - you may well be pleasantly surprised!. I do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Have been here a few times to the restaurant since it opened and always previously left disappointed (and significantly poorer!). However, wanted a change for Sunday lunch so gave it a try last weekend. At £11 it was really good value food, well cooked and well presented - superb value sunday lunch and must be one of the finest views for eating locally looking out over the river.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Teejay12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your great feedback, following your recent Sunday Lunch experience. Delighted to know that you enjoyed dining at the Quay with "one of the finest views" overlooking the river and found the food well cooked, well presented and superb value.

Very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit - maybe dinner next time !

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in a suite at the Quay recently and everything was absolutely superb! the staff are all courteous and helpful ,and pay much attention to little touches which make a visit here all the more special. The suite in which we stayed was absolute luxury, and the spa,gym and pool are second to none . Wonderful food is served in the hotel restaurant again by helpful, friendly staff. On top of all this, the hotel is set in the most beautiful area, right on the waterfront with many of North Wales' special attractions nearby.
I can't wait for another visit!! Thank you Quay Hotel for a very special break!!

Room Tip: Go for a suite! It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sylv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent two night stay with us at the Quay Hotel. Delighted to know that "everything was superb" and you appreciated our attention to detail and all the little touches. Good to hear you enjoyed one of our luxurious suites, the spa, gym and pool areas and were so complimentary regarding our Grill room Restaurant.

Yes - we do have a beautiful location and hope you can return soon. I look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
403 reviews
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
13.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
801 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range: $159 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel And Spa
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing