We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good break at the Quay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Quay for a second time earlier this month. We had a superior double room facing the marina. The rooms are well-equipped with a chiller, iron, trouser press, sky tv, bathrobes, toilettries, tea/coffee making facilities (replenished regularly) and a safe. Pretty much everything you will need. We were pleased with the modern and comfortable room and the balcony and view, although after staying there twice, we thought that we'd probably be just as happy in a courtyard room, as it seemed very quiet.

The bathroom on both of our stays have always been large and the shower was very good. The complimentary toilettries were very nice and it is one of the few hotels I've been to where the heated towel rail actually works and works well.

We ate in the bar area on the first night where we had absolutely no problems with service or food. My husband had the fish and chips which he enjoyed, mainly because the batter was so light on the fish. I had the beef burger which was very large and I needed help to finish. The drinks are a bit expensive but only when compared to pub/restaurant prices rather than other hotels of the same calibre.

The pool was clean and kept in good order, although there isn't always a staff member around when you want to collect/return towels.

One of the highlights for me was the breakfast. The staff were efficient and the options were very good. The cooked breakfast was lovely, in particular the sausages, and we were impressed by the amount of local products, including the very creamy yoghurts. Staff bring tea, coffee and toast to your table and juice and milk were available in jugs in the buffet area rather than severe looking dispensers.

We did have the misfortune of being next door to one reveller we believe was an attendee at a function that was being held in the hotel, who proceeded to throw up loudly when he returned to his room, however, we felt that the fact that we heard no other noise that night, considering how many guests there may have been at the function, was actually a positive.

Room Tip: 220 superior double room faces the marina and rooms on this side are usually quiet. These rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your lovely feedback following your latest break at the Quay. So pleased to hear of you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated our rooms and all their amenities, especially the heated towel rail!

Glad to know that your evening meal of fish and chips were so enjoyed - your kind words and y compliments regarding breakfast, have been forwarded on to Chef.

I am sorry for the disturbance caused by an inconsiderate guest and so pleased there were no further disruption to your sleep from other guests.

Look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,746 - 1,752 of 2,660 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our room was very spacious and clean. The staff can, t do enough for you so helpful. It was my husband birthday, they gave us 4 very nice cupcakes to take home. The food is so nice and presentation was fabulous. We have been twice now and will go back again.

Room Tip: Room over looking the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your complimentary comments following your recent visit to celebrate your husband's birthday. Good to hear that my staff were so attentive, you enjoyed our fabulous food and you appreciated the celebratory cup cakes!

Look forward to welcoming you back for the third visit -

Best wishes
Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited the Quay Hotel and Spa for a birthday afternoon tea, as a group of thirteen and sat outside on a lovely summers day. There is no better place to be, absolutely stunning views of the river and Conwy with its castle and walls. We had afternoon tea, a few drinks and watched as the sun started to descend on the river. We all enjoyed the our afternoon thoroughly and intend to return to stay overnight in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jono0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback, following your Afternoon Tea visit. Great to know your party enjoyed the birthday celebrations at the Quay with our stunning views on a lovely summer's afternoon.

Good to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and intend to return and stay overnight. I look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We got a deal for our anniversary on travelzoo which included 2 nights, room upgrade, dinner on 1st night and breakfast. Room we were given was huge and had balcony with most amazing views over deganwy estuary. Meal in restaurant was fantastic for both dinner and breakfast. I was 7 months pregnant so my husband treated me to a pregnancy massage in the spa which made the trip extra special. Staff across the hotel were so friendly and helpful. Trying to come back for this years anniversary just unfortunately is a bit too expensive without the travelzoo deal which is such a shame.

Room Tip: Definately upgrade to a room with views over estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent 2 night stay at the Quay. Delighted to hear of your appreciation of our lovely rooms with amazing views from your balcony, fantastic dining experiences and the special treat massage!

Glad to hear my staff were all friendly and helpful and you would like to return. Do look out on our website for future special deals and family accommodation.

May we wish you every happiness on the birth of your baby and look forward to welcoming you all back on another occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely for a relaxing break but I would recommend not to eat in the restaurant - overpriced, small portions, poor service. This is such a shame as it really lets the hotel down.
The rooms however are gorgeous - lovely balcony or terrace overlooking the estuary or marina. Sky tv also in rooms.
The pool is nice and clean with loungers at the side, the gym is ok - not huge but what you would expect from a hotel that size. 3 running machines, couple of bikes, cross trainer and weights. The room was also cool which is good.
Restaurant:-
On arrival we were given a 'reduced' menu and asked to order in advance as we were a table of 8! Why reduced???!!! I asked if we could order from the main menu and after a few minutes and talking to various staff they agreed!! The restaurant manager says we were given the reduced menu as the food on the menu was easier to cook and they were busy that night!! I'm sorry but I don't find that acceptable. Also don't really like pre ordering food but agreed to do this for our party of 8. Took me a while to track everyone down with their food choices but I took the completed form to them at 3.30pm. A staff member then wanted to know what sweets we wanted! Was not told this before and was not given a sweet menu! Also you really don't know if you would like a sweet until after your mains. Anyway she said she needed to tell the pastry chef! So I spent another 15 mins calling everyone asking what sweet they would like. Decided to all decline sweet apart from 1 person. We couldn't think about sweets so easier to not have one at this stage. Surely it wouldn't be too much hassle to order on the night after our meal - just like everyone else in the restaurant??
Arrived for meal and starters served - all but 2! Seemed to have forgotten them! Then they asked what we ordered!! I only wrote it down for them 4 hours ago!! Mussels were not the best - many not open.
Main courses - ok but small portions. Steak we asked (in writing! For well done came out bloody) sent it back but still
No better. Couldn't stand any hassle of sweet ordering as we knew it would be a problem so we left. A bottle of wine was given complimentary on the evening to make up for the hassle which they charged us for at departure - more hassle at reception!
Breakfast - no toast offered so had to ask. Not enough staff on - had to ask for coffee. When it came it was just water - asked again for coffee!
On another note one of our party's room was not booked for the first night so they had to change rooms after 1 night.
All in all what should have been a relaxing weekend turned into quite a stressful one.
Spoke to the duty manager on departure who gave me his card for booking next time.
Ate in the Castle View pub in Deganwy and would recommended. Half the price of the grill in the hotel with better service and food. They could cope with a table of 8 very well! Food came out together and we did not have to pre order!!
All in all would stay again if price was right but would not eat in restaurant. Conwy is a quaint busy town which is walkable or 5 min drive. Llandudno also only 10 mins away by car.


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your great comments, following your recent 2 night stay with us. Good to know you found the DBB special deal rates excellent, the hotel very clean with brilliant spa facilities and the room spacious with those extra touches much appreciated. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your evening meal with amazing food and service.
I am sorry that the Rose Wine was not provided in your room on arrival and I am currently investigating this shortfall. Your valued observations regarding check in time and a complimentary drink with those on dinner packages is welcomed and will be discussed with my team. I would, however, say that Check-in time is always a fine balance between allowing departing guests’ time to check-out without a rush and yet having rooms ready for incoming guests. You will appreciate that we have 74 rooms to service to a high standard and we do offer an early check-in facility which you may wish to take advantage of on your next visit.

Earlier in the year we did amend check-in to 3pm instead of 4pm. We guarantee the accommodation available as from 3pm, but you may well arrive before this time and if the room is ready, many guests are able to go straight to their room. As you may be aware, it does not matter however early you arrive, even if your rooms are not ready, we should be pleased to store you luggage, leaving you free to enjoy all the facilities of the hotel and start as soon as you arrive.
Good to note that you will definitely be returning and, if you did not receive your Rose later in your stay this time, I should be more than happy to ensure that it is provided on your next visit.

Best wishes
Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lovely decor, food okay, but overpriced. My complaint is the service. For lunch in the bar, I had to twice ask when our meal (one course) was coming. For my birthday, my son had booked in the restaurant, and the first 'surprise' was being asked to pre-book the meal, except the menu was never sent! On the day on my treat, booked for 7.30pm. I phoned at 3.30pm to ask for the menu to be emailed, phoned back at 4.30pm, to be told not to worry, as the chef had said we could order that evening! I commented that this was 'normal' for a hotel. In the event, the meal took 3 hours, and I even had to ask when the desert was coming, after half an hour. The lady maitre d'hotel, was full of apologies. I shudder to think the final bill total, my son picked up. He wasn't happy staying there either (but that's another story) I cannot comment, of course, on the hotel itself

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback following your recent dining disappointments at the Quay. I do apologise that the experience was not as we would have wished and would confirm I have discussed the issues with my team to help improve the service standards.

It was most regrettable that your birthday was marred by the hotel shortfalls and do hope you will consider a return visit at some time in the future. When you have a date in mind, do contact me directly and I should be pleased to take care of your reservation personally.

I look forward to hearing from you on that occasion and welcoming you back to the Quay for a much improved experience.

Best wishes
Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a wedding and would not normally have stayed at such an expensive place if it weren't for the occasion. The food for the wedding was lovely. Our room was very spacious, clean and had all the extras you expect at this standard- free bottled water, fridge, trouser press, bathrobes etc. the real bonus was the full sky package in the lounge and bedroom. On the down side the shower was very poor, low pressure and the fittings were falling off. We did have it looked at twice with a slight improvement. We had a fab couple of nights but will not return as we don't need all the extras and the showers are better at premier inns!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spammie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback following your visit to attend a wedding at the Quay Hotel Thank you for your kind comments regarding the wedding food and all the facilities available for you in your specious and clean room. I do apologise for the maintenance issue with the shower.

Delighted to know that you had a "fab couple of nights!" and perhaps you would consider a return visit as a special treat!

Do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes
Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
706 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,041 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,271 reviews
24.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range: $156 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
The Quay Hotel And Spa
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing