We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few Niggles But Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night - stunning room overlooking the castle and the marina - surely one of the best hotel views in the UK. Wanted to take the kids swimming but found this was only possible between 10-12 and 3-5. At my own health club in Manchester member's kids can only swim at certain times but hotel guest's kid can swim at all times because it's a key part of the hotel offer and they are paying a significant sum to stay there. Went in the next day with them and it was virtually empty so it's not as though the kids are proving to be any kind of interruption - maybe it's just that the hotel wants to be more "adults only" which I can understand. Rest of stay generally excellent,nice breakfast, although wrong hot drinks were brought to us and we also got the wrong bill for bar drinks too - but not as bad as the guy stood next to us who ordered two drinks and got a bill which also included three meals! If they can sort out these niggles it will be fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued comments following you recent stay with us at the Quay Hotel. Delighted you know that you enjoyed our wonderful views and were kindly considerate of the few niggles that you encountered at the time. I would confirm I have spoken with the relevant managers regarding your constructive observations to ensure we address the concerns and improve the quality and service we offer.

Regarding your disappointment with the designated swimming times for children, I would confirm that we have to try and "please all of the people all of the time" which is not always possible. We do have guests and members who prefer a quiet pool with no children, who may be want to swim lengths. There are then the families, such as yourselves, who understandably want to enjoy the pool facilities all together, therefore we have had to allocate times for both requirements. It is not a case of wishing the encourage the adult only sector, we are endeavouring to provide the amenity to as many people as possible, whilst acknowledging members' and guests' preferences.

I do hope you will visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,966 - 1,972 of 2,796 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were taken to this hotel for dinner, on a lovely sunny Monday early evening.
I was amazed how busy it was, both in the restaurant and bar area, where food was also served.
The best bit was sitting outside on a lovely terrace with amazing views of Conway harbour and Conway Castle. With the sun shining it was the perfect place for a pre-dinner drink.
The menu in the restaurant is quite varied, with the option of a three course deal, which included steak , a fish dish and a vegetarian dish for a reasonable price. We were also given warm, home baked bread and oil while we were waiting. A la carte seemed rather expensive and really for a special occasion. I guess the bar meals were also reasonable and not restaurant prices.
The staff were attentive and helpful, and the ambience of the reception, bar area and restaurant had a pleasant buzz, even on a Monday evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank your kind posting, delighted to know you enjoyed dining with us on a lovely sunny Monday evening. Out Terrace is just the perfect place on such an evening, delighted to know you appreciated the stunning views overlooking Conwy, the estuary and the castle.

I am pleased to hear your complimentary feedback that you found our restaurant menu varied and at a reasonable price and you thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience and ambience, my attentive and helpful staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The holiday did not start well, I was on crutches following knee surgery and couldn't bend my knee which meant we had to hire an MPV. The hire car company were 8 hours late in delivering the right vehicle which meant that by the time we got to The Quay we had missed our original dinner reservation, however this was not a problem. From the very moment we arrived the staff were outstanding, they could not have done more for us. The room was clean with breath taking views over the estuary. Dinner was fantastic with the fish cooked to perfection. The service was unbelievably prompt and efficient. The bar served Welsh real ale ( brewed in Conway- where else!) We slept like angels, all the problems with the car hire company having melted away.
At 8am prompt the next day - as arranged - there was a knock at the door and in walked two members of staff with the most beautiful bouquet of summer flowers and bottle of prosecco to celebrate my wife's birthday. Breakfast (full Welsh of course!) was a model of friendly efficiency. The service was once again outstanding, with the staff being exceptionally well drilled and managed. All to soon it was time to leave and move on to our end destination.
We have stayed in many hotels around the world. You guys are right up there with the greats. The perfect start to a perfect holiday!

Footnote. - On the way back from our perfect holiday we stayed at a hotel in Chester, oh dear what a shambles, terrible!

I wish we stayed at The Quay on the way home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great compliments, following your recent stay. Sorry to hear that your knee problems caused transport difficulties for you and you did not have the best start to your holiday. Good to know that once you arrived at the Quay Hotel we were able to help you forget the previous few hours and provide the relaxing experience you needed.

Good to know my staff were outstanding in their service and care, dinner was fantastic and the birthday surprise for your wife was well received.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit and trust you knee is healing well.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a 2 night break. Position superb watching sailing boats going by whilst having a glass of vino in the hot sunshine -perfect. Staff friendly. Lovely decor. Good sized bedroom and en-suite which was immaculate. Clean,thick, crisp cotton bedding. Was nice to be able to have your own private patio where you could sit. Wine and meals a bit steep in price. A shame but there was a down side to our visit. Had no hot water for two days in rooms or spa. Definitely not what you expect from a quality hotel. Apparently this happens a lot so some staff told us, when the hotel is full. Complained about this and senior staff were on the defensive side. This problem should have took hours to fix not two days from a hotel of this standard. The only compensation we got, was a reduction of £20 off the bill. Its not about money but about quality of service and how the hotel makes you feel special, even in a bad situation. Would have been nice to have been given a complimentary meal and bottle of wine instead of them being so defensive to us as this was not our fault but the hotels. British service is definitely not the same as European service. Would I stay again - hard one because the spot it so nice. Still deciding whether to give them a second chance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback following your stay at the Quay Hotel last month. I do apologise that the building management system failed during your visit, due to a fault resulting in a lack of hot water. As you are aware this occurred over a bank weekend and therefore obtaining the replacement part was not as straightforward as it should have been, however, the fault was rectified as quickly as possible and I can also confirm that this is not a regular occurrence, in my two year tenure here at the Quay I have had one other failure with our boilers.

Good to know of your kind appreciation of all other aspects of your two night break – our superb location, stunning views, friendly staff, lovely décor and even hot sunshine! Your constructive comments are also very much appreciated and will be taken on board.

I do hope you will reconsider returning to the Quay and would assure you the regrettable lack of hot water is now no longer an issue, once the fault was identified and resolved. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future, do contact me directly when you have a date so I can personally take care of your reservation.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staffs very professional and there to please.
Will definitively go again.
Food excellent with a good choice.
We had a small problem which was dealt with efficiency and professionalism.
Same about the weather but the hotel made it for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay. Delighted to know you enjoyed your time at the Quay, appreciating my friendly professional staff, excellent food and good to know you intend to visit us again.

Sorry the weather didn't come up to the same standards as the hotel, let's hope next time we can also provide sunshine!

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Attended a special celebration here 21/06/13. Nice venue, in a lovely location and waitresses were lovely. Inept bar staff with poor selection of soft drinks for those unable to drink. Food was shocking to say the least. Dried up sandwiches which were barely a mouthful, "hot" chicken goujons which were anything but hot as well as being severely overcooked, and small selection of mini quiches. Garlic mayo was 90% garlic 10% mayo. Desserts were pitiful and tasted of nothing with the lemon posset being nothing more than slop rather than a beautiful, rich,set cream dessert. expected better. Entertainment was the best part.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback following the event you attended on 21 June. I am pleased to note your kind words regarding our lovely location and my waitresses, but would apologise for sincerely for the disappointments you encountered. I would confirm that Buffet did include a selected of sandwiches, sausage rolls, mini burgers and quiches, sticky chicken wings and goujons. As the food was served a buffet style there may have been some time delay in the first and the last guest selecting food, which may, to some degree, account for the goujons not being piping hot, however the buffet was replenished during service. A wide choice of mini desserts were provided – flapjacks, chocolate brownies, scones and the posset, which was not to your taste. However, there were a number of other choices as we had catered for everyone to take 3 or 4 mini desserts.

I am so sorry that you had concerns regarding the food, but would say that we have received a very complimentary email from the organiser of the event, Catherine Rowlands.

“A MASSIVE thank you for all your help in the planning of our 10th Birthday on Friday, it all went well and everyone enjoyed themselves thoroughly, they already asking whens the next one!!! Once again many thanks for all your help”

I am pleased to note that you found the Entertainment the best part and do hope that your personal experience will not deter you from visiting the Quay Hotel in the future.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned from a three day break, hotel in perfect location with excellent views across the Conway Estuary. Minor issues on first mornings breakfast sorted efficiently by Ola and Simon the General Manager.
Staff very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tijaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your great feedback. Great to know you visited again and enjoyed a 3 day break at the Quay, appreciating our stunning views, friendly and welcoming staff.

Your kind words have been forwarded on to Ola and Simon and we look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
411 reviews
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,087 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
731 reviews
13.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
805 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range: $166 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel And Spa
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing