We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful friendly helpful staff. Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly helpful staff. Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. We were greeted by the most friendly lovely young lady who was excellent and made us feel very welcome from the start. She gave good advice and was very knowledgeable of the area. The room was first class and overlooked the marina. Unfortunately no sun on the balcony in the afternoon (you can't have everything). We had a meal on the Sunday night the girl that welcomed us told us everything we need to know about the menu in a very professional manner but was also friendly and chatty. All the staff were excellent. The food was wonderful and couldn't fault the service. We had a fantastic weekend in the sun and the views and the sunset were magnificent. Would recommend this. The girl on reception I hope you got the feedback I passed on. Well done Quay keep it up. Steve

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind compliments following your recent two night stay with us. Delighted to know you appreciated our warm welcome, fantastic views, wonderful food with assistance from my professional friendly staff.

Thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future - perhaps we can also provide the sunshine on that occasion!!

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    611
    239
    103
    66
See reviews for
362
1,415
47
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Quay Hotel and Spa for two days in May. The hotel is very nice and the location is excellent. The service in the restaurant was also very good but the breakfast
was not very warm. The evening meal was excellent.

The room was very nice but there were silverfish in the bathroom which I reported. I enjoyed my stay there and would love to go again. I have stayed in hotels that are cheaper and just as nice. It is overpriced.

Room Tip: If you are booking a room overlooking the marina ask for one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback, following your stay with us last month. So pleased to note your kind appreciation of our stunning location and good service. I am sorry to read breakfast was not as hot as it should have been, please be assured I have spoken to the relevant Food & Beverage managers to help improve the quality we offer.

I am sorry that you felt our offering was over priced, but I would assure you that our prices are keenly competitive with other similar standard establishments within the area.

It was regrettable that there were concerns within your bathroom and would confirm we called in our contractor immediately and the matter has now been rectified. Please accept my apologies for the issue.

Good to know you enjoyed your stay and would love to come back again. I look forward to welcoming you on that occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having just got back from a fantastic break at the The Quay, i have to put a rave review on trip advisor.
we arrived at the hotel early - thinking we would have a coffee until it was time to check in when we were told our room was ready " Happy birthday & we have upgraded you to a mini penthouse suite" - an absolutely fantastic greeting! A really friendly porter showed us to our suite & have to say it was brilliant, spacious & immaculate bathroom, massive bath & seperate shower, double sinks, the works! separate lounge area with tv & large sliding doors to the balcony - we were also in room 248 which has spectacular views of the marina, sea & the castle. Bedroom was massive, another tv & very large bed, which we both slept really well in. we were greeted with a birthday card & birthday cupcakes - a really lovely surprise. The balcony was great - who needs a tv when u have such a view to look at. We spent the afternoon in the pool - very clean, great water temperature & very friendly staff.
Had no issues with the shower & we were on the 2nd floor.
had a lovely meal in the restaurant, with some really great & unique touches. The little loaves of bread with welsh butter were gorgeous - the food was of an excellent standard & the puddings have to be some of the best we have ever tasted. We had coffee on the terrace to round off a fantastic day!
Breakfast next day was lush!! There is no way on earth anyone could have moaned about that, there was plenty of everything & everything was absolutely gorgeous.
we spent another couple of hours on our balcony before sadly having to leave.
we both felt it was such a relaxing place, the staff were exceptionally friendly, the welcome was great & the location fabulous, The Quay is an absolute gem, but you can tell there is hard work & attention to detail gone into the hotel. Loved it & will definately be back!!

Room Tip: room 248 was brilliant x
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellsbells_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your great feedback, following your "Birthday Surprise" stay with us.

So good to know the surprise element was so very well received. Delighted you enjoyed your upgrade to a Penthouse with fantastic views and welcome birthday card and cakes. So pleased to note your kind appreciation of both dinner and breakfast and the relaxing friendly atmosphere created by my team.

Good to read that you will "be back" and I look forward to welcoming you for a return visit,

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We decided to have a night away at the last minute & only booked the night before. We booked direct for the best price. It is in a great location with beautiful views of Conwy & right on the waters edge. We sat on the terrace enjoying a few drinks in the late afternoon sunshine. Our room was lovely with plenty of space, the bathroom was also large & very modern. We didn't have a quay side view as booking last minute unfortunately non were available but we still had a nice view of the courtyard & the water in the distance. That evening we went looking for a nice restaurant in Conwy.. Lets just say the choice of restaurant's in Conwy is VERY LIMITED!! We ended up in an Italian which was like going back in time 20 years!! We regretted leaving the hotel & wish we'd just stayed there for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was very enjoyable! Plenty of choice & very welcoming & friendly waiters!! We also asked for a second cafitiere of coffee to enjoy out on the terrace which was not a problem. We left the hotel after breakfast & headed out to walk up Snowdon - overall a very enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Quay. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the large and modern accommodation,drinks on the terrace and a great breakfast.

Sorry to hear of your disappointing experience of dining in Conwy - perhaps next time dine at the Quay, or the village of Deganwy offers 3 really excellent restaurants.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future - lots more walking in Snowdonia to be enjoyed and you can always book a dinner reservation when booking your accommodation!

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General; Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
302 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This ugly modern hotel is situated in a lovely spot and when the weather is fine it's delightful enjoying afternoon tea outside while overlooking the Conwy Estuary & Conwy Castle itself. The food & drinks are of a very high standard but everything is expensive here, and service is average at best.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrREvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback following your recent visit. I am sorry to read that you found our building ugly, but do appreciate everyone has their personal taste in beauty. Good to know you enjoyed our stunning views and afternoon tea overlooking the Conwy Estuary and Castle.

Your observations regarding our high standards is pleasing and I would confirm to you that our prices are keenly set and comparative to other similar quality local establishments.

I do hope you will visit us again in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Extremely disappointed. Paid 5 star price, $249 dollars per night for average room but had to change room 3 times in effort to get a properly operating shower with hot water. 4 nights without proper shower was 'compensated' by a risible £30 refund for the whole period!. Miserable gastro-pub type bar where we had to take breakfast since our booking via expedia (by our companions) did not include breakfast. Option to pay £15.95 for a miserable breakfast buffet with unhelpful maitre d. We were not informed that we could take breakfast in the bar, told that breakfast only served in the Restaurant. Dinner did not live up to descriptions in the menu. Lounge/bar dark and uncomfortable. Not a good advert for North Wales hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room where the water pressure is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback and I do apologise for the inconvenience caused by the lack of hot water. Regrettably, the hotel experienced a major fault with our building management system, resulting in temporary loss of hot water.

I would confirm that the fault occurred on the Saturday of your stay, an emergency repair was undertaken so we could provide hot water on Sunday morning. The emergency fix lasted until Sunday afternoon and the fault was then fully repaired with a new boiler component on Monday morning, with the return of abundant hot water throughout the hotel.

I am sorry to read of the disappointments you experienced at Breakfast . The Quay Hotel offers a fully, freshly cooked breakfast selection with eggs cooked to order, we also offer speciality dishes that are available to be served at the table which include Porridge with Drambuie, Eggs Royale, Eggs Benedict, Omelettes, Kippers and smoked Haddock. We also offer a wide spread cold buffet selection, all our breads and pastries are all cooked in the morning fresh.

I would further confirm that we are no longer taking room only reservations from a third party (Expedia) agent. We now only offer Bed & Breakfast to ensure guest satisfaction at all times.

I do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future and would ask you to contact me directly, once you have a date in mind, so I can personally take care of your reservation. I look forward to hearing from you at that time.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have just returned home from 5 nights at the Quay Hotel. Couldn't be happier with the efficient check-in and excellent service. Booked through Secret Escapes and our room or rather suite was fabulous with wonderful views of the estuary and Conwy Castle. Don't miss the fantastic sunsets. Ate in the restaurant once and in the bar the other evenings. Could not fault the quality of the meals or the service. The desserts were particularly delicious. Baffled as to why a previous post criticises the breakfasts. The buffet, and we are well travelled, was one of the best we have experienced with an extensive and excellent choice. We were also fortunate that the weather was perfect and the sightseeing in the area was great. Found the staff very happy, polite and helpful at all times. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Second floor with Estuary view. Room 248 was an excellent suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Return75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your generous compliments following your recent 5 night stay with us at the Quay. I am delighted to know that "you couldn't be happier" with your Secret Escape experience and enjoyed our fabulous location, fantastic sunsets, great meals.. Your kind words of appreciation have been forwarded on to my staff.

Delighted to read you had perfect weather for sightseeing, and look forward to seeing you again - there's plenty of North Wales to explore! Thank you for your recommendation.

Best wishes

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
1.1 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
13.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
24.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: The Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
The Quay Hotel And Spa
Quay Hotel Conwy
The Quay Hotel & Spa Deganwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing