We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent, relaxing and well worth the money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Felbrigg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Felbrigg Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
2 reviews
“excellent, relaxing and well worth the money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed here for a long weekend away, it was a treat booked by my partner and i loved it.
As we arrived i lost myself within in the stunning scenery, a quaint log cabin as reception greeted us along with the owners deedee and phillip who it turns out did everything possible to make our stay as perfect as possible and believe me it was a weekend i will never forget.
I have read other reviews that say the place is dirty our cabin was spotless it seems that some people do not understand that the cabins are set in woodland area and some leaves are bound to get stuck to your feet and brought in with you!!!!
The swimming pool and gym were an added treat formy partner as he is fitness mad so he really appreciated that.
Breakfast in the morning was truly scrumptious with everything you could possibly wish for being served and if they dont do it just ask and they will accomodate you as much as possible.
This is the best weekend i have had away in england that i can remember and have already booked for next year.
Well worth the money, Felbrigg Lodge is Heaven!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    61
    25
    15
    11
See reviews for
96
345
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for one night and if we had another place to stay, we would have left! The 'drive' to the hotel was full of pot holes and not what you would expect; I suggest a layer of gravel would be better than what they have currently. The reception was a shed with a note on saying call this number and we will come and get you; with little or no mobile signal this is difficult and what happens if no phone?? The room 'Briar Junior Suite' was dark and much smaller than suggested on the site. It was also in need of a clean with a good cm of dust covering all surfaces and cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. The 6ft bed was 2 singles pushed together so had a large space down the middle and no duvet just sheets and blankets! A chair in the room had no seat so you fell through and there was a blood stain on the headboard of one of the beds. The DVD player built into the tv did not work and the owner said he knew it didn't work as it had been broken last week but he could lend us his laptop! Funny, one of the other reviews said the same thing and that was the room next door. For £155 a night this is not what we expected, if you want luxury do not go to Felbrigg Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cinders28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
European Traveller
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

We spent a very restful couple of days at Felbrigg Lodge Hotel. We were particularly impressed by the exceptional helpfulness and friendliness of the proprietors and their staff who made us feel that we were house guests in their home rather than hotel guests. When the DVD player in our room broke, the proprietor even lent us a laptop to avoid our son from being disappointed at not being able to watch his new Thomas the Tank Engine DVD. The staff in the restaurant were really pleasant and made us feel very welcome. The hotel consists of a number of bungalow style rooms set within pleasant wooded gardens. Our rooms were tastefully furnished and of good size. One of our rooms (Bramble) caught the sun in the morning and was very light and pleasant. The hotel is set back from the road in a secluded and quiet location, although it isn't actually very far from Cromer, Sherringham and the other local attractions. There is a swimming pool which looked nice although we didn't have time to use this.

There were a few niggles that we noticed. The long driveway was a bit pot holed - all right for out 4x4 but you may have to drive dead slow in a low slung sports car. You also need to be careful where you park your car to avoid it from gathering bird droppings from the overhead trees. A really nice touch was not being charged for our young son's dinners which left us with a very positive feeling about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

This "luxury" B & B / Boutique hotel is situated in Felbrigg Manor estate which is on National Trust land and the lodge we had was in a wonderful location, if peace and quiet is your wont this is it!
However the reception area was untidy and haphazard (a wooden shed in the grounds) and I had to go looking for the receptionist to obtain the key to our room. This was booked as a special treat for a birthday. The lodge we booked looked bright and welcoming on the website, the reality was not so. The lodge was dimly lit and short on daylight and our "luxury" bathroom did not have a shower, only a bath. The swimming pool was adequate, although a little larger than the norm, and the cover had to be hand cranked backwards and forwards. The treadmill in the gym was unsafe to run on.
The restaurant is on the small side but adequate for the number of guests,old fashioned but nice. The evening meals were good although my sirloin steak was chewy. Dinner is served at 7pm and guests gather in a lounge area for drinks before sitting at their tables. This gives a nice relaxed feeling to the meal. Breakfast is nice but we had hard poached eggs served on burnt toast on both mornings. We feel that this is a expensive location that did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Confusion with owner on date for booking over phone. Took an age to find place so had to contact owner who still had wrong booking date for us. Showed accomodation on arrival which was completely different room to one that we had booked. Room not to our taste-very chintzy,dark and old fashioned. Owner did not know what would be on menu for evening meal so you take pot luck as to whether you are going to like what is on offer. Told to take cover off pool ourselves. Complained to owner about being given room that we had not booked which was completely different and was told they are the same but know for a fact from pictures posted on internet that they are not. No apology,no discount,or goodwill gesture offered. Owner very rude and abrupt. Not one to admit to her mistake. Told we could go if we didn't like it ,so we did. Was meant to be a romantic break for Valentines! Extremely disappointed and totally unexpected after reading reviews.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fairyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbrigg, Proprietor at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
I am so sorry, yes we did get it very wrong.....sometimes it happens .
No excuses, but if you would like to come back and give us another chance we will try to put it right......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

A superb hotel consisting of several luxury lodges set a peaceful wooded glade Our lodge was called Bramble was very cosy indeed. Beautifully decorated and furnished to a very high standard. We has a massive sleigh bed, sofa TV & DVD player etc and as for the bathroom WOW. We made good use of the spa facilities as well the lovely pool. Both dinner and breakfast were impeccably cooked to order, with local Norfolk produce. A real shame that we only stayed one night but we will definitely return to Felbrigg Lodge in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorsfordAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

The hosts work extremely hard to deliver a stay to remember the rooms are quality and the location outstanding. Its the quitest place ever in beautiful woodland with walks starting from the entrance. The food was cooked to order and was exceptional variety & quality in a very cosy restaurant. Excellent all round and finally the entrance road was fine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koja1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
3.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
22.6 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
7.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felbrigg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felbrigg Lodge

Property: Felbrigg Lodge
Address: Felbrigg Lodge School ROad, Aylmerton NR11 8RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Felbrigg Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Felbrigg Lodge in a unique small boutique hotel in North Norfolk (we are boutique not because of the modern minimalistic décor, but because we are one of a kind, we have an independent attitude and our clients are individualist too. We offer a unique guest experience)The hotel is not a typical one it has no long dark corridors where someone slams a door at 2am,or drops a shoe on the floor just when you have got to sleep. Nor does it have large empty reception rooms which look like an upmarket furniture warehouse which are only full on high days and holidays.We don't need them all our rooms are suites and have ample seating again not like most hotels that are so small you have to sit on the bed to be comfortable and watch telly. We are set in a beautiful woodland location where relaxation and peace are paramount. There are eight rooms set in the grounds which are all ground floor. The remaining two can be found in the main house on the first floor , the house also includes the small intimate restaurant that even when we are full you will never experience an extensive wait for your food. We now boast a small conservatory which overlooks the garden and babbling brook.As we are licensed you can relax and enjoy a drink, or a glass of wine. All rooms are individually styled 5 having recently been recently refurbished. We have a heated indoor swimming pool, and an outside hot tub. We endeavour to make exceptional friendly customer service our mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Felbrigg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felbrigg Hotel Aylmerton
Felbrigg Lodge Aylmerton, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing