We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secluded idyll in the heart of the Norfolk contryside”
Review of Felbrigg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Felbrigg Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A secluded idyll in the heart of the Norfolk contryside”
Reviewed December 6, 2009

A superb hotel consisting of several luxury lodges set a peaceful wooded glade Our lodge was called Bramble was very cosy indeed. Beautifully decorated and furnished to a very high standard. We has a massive sleigh bed, sofa TV & DVD player etc and as for the bathroom WOW. We made good use of the spa facilities as well the lovely pool. Both dinner and breakfast were impeccably cooked to order, with local Norfolk produce. A real shame that we only stayed one night but we will definitely return to Felbrigg Lodge in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorsfordAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    61
    25
    16
    11
See reviews for
99
349
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ESSEX UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The hosts work extremely hard to deliver a stay to remember the rooms are quality and the location outstanding. Its the quitest place ever in beautiful woodland with walks starting from the entrance. The food was cooked to order and was exceptional variety & quality in a very cosy restaurant. Excellent all round and finally the entrance road was fine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koja1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We received a very warm welcome once again from Deedee. This was our fifth time back to this wonderful retreat. We have tried different rooms and they are all very well presented, very comfortable, spacious and clean with lovely soft furnishings.
This family run business is better than home from home and nothing was too much trouble for Deedee and her staff. The location has to be seen to be believed, set in the woodlands. It's very picturesque.
You have the added option of free usage of the indoor pool and gym equipment.
The on site restaurant, for residents only, gives you a select menu of quality meals and selection of drinks.
On one of our visits when my health was not at its best Deedee was most accommodating and thoughtlful.
Nothing is too much trouble and we shall return time and again for the relaxing short break that we look forward to at the Felbrigg Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maudy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow on the Hill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband booked this for me as a suprise, as i needed a break away he wanted it to be something special, there was only one night available as it was all booked up, so the other night we stayed in Caley Hall in Holkam. We stayed in the Tamarisk Lodge in Felbrigg we met up with my Aunty and uncle who live in Norfolk and took them along to show them where we were stayin, place difficult to find had to ring as there was no signposting we were told to follow sign to study centre could def do with sign to Felbrig Lodge. We were met by a friendly lady who showed us to our lodge,Our first reaction was how cosy and nice and warm, room decor to a lovely standard, beautiful bed nice ornaments nice attention to detail comfortable seating area good selection of tea and coffee, our initial reaction was very pleased.We left and went to my aunts for tea.On return at 8.30pm room cold heating was off,my husband had prob to get tv on pic not good, i did not feel like getting in shower as bathroom cold had a wash and got in bed to keep warm. Next morning noticed Wooden floor in bathroom could do with renewing split very tatty, thick dust in top of raidiator when i moved towel which was covering this bath robes need renewing off white look grubby. I have high standards of cleanliness this did not live up to them cobwebs in corner near teamaking desk spider in it, and under desk when knelt to switch table lamp on thick dust along back edge of bed. Still no heating on, shower lovely and hot thank heavens, went for breakfast no heating in reasturant area, the atmosphere was not relaxed, coffee lukewarm did not enjoy breakfast too greasy fried bread espeacially we were offered sauces asked for brown sauce and mustard by the time waitress came back we had eaten half of breakfast, the lady cooking seemed harrased guest waiting to check out she told him he would have to wait until she had cooked the breakfast 10-15mins he didnt look too happy. My husband was so disappointed as he wanted this to be special and the reviews he had read were so good.This place has lots of good points beautiful place lovely surroundings i did sleep well, but a few things that could be changed and improved on let it down we did not class this a five star because of this. I would recomend to friend if these few points were improved on.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Glowingtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Great little B&B that consists of small outbuildings converted into luxurious lodges. The setting was beautiful and so peaceful, it was a real forest retreat. Our lodge, "Tamarisk" was huge inside. Massive bed, sofa, loads of space. My only critiscm was that the bathroom was in need of updating however the shower was one of the best in any hotel that I've stayed in - so powerful. The breakfast, cooked by Deedee herself, was fabulous, cooked to order with local Norfolk produce. A real shame that I only stayed one night passing through Norfolk but am planning to return to the Felbrigg Lodge and use it as a base to explore.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by DeeDee who showed us to our room & where the pool was, restaurant etc.
We had a stunning room, with everything one needed. We did bring our own travel cot for our 18mth girl & there was a camp bed for our oldest. We had a great family swim in the lovely pool which we had to ourselves,
We had an excellent evening meal, which was made even better by the chef who catered for our taste (as I don't like mushrooms!) The chef made a special effort for our fussy children eaters!!!!!
After a very comfortable nights sleep, the breakfast was once again, 1st class!
I would thoroughly recommend Felbrigg lodge to families, as we wanted for nothing during our stay, & if we had of had, I am sure DeeDee would have helped us!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiffyMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We were welcomed by the family who run the hotel, and made to feel very welcome. The food was well cooked and well presented and we loved the creme brule. throughout our stay we had everythingwe needed

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughespeter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
3.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
708 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
579 reviews
7.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
22.6 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felbrigg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felbrigg Lodge

Property: Felbrigg Lodge
Address: Felbrigg Lodge School ROad, Aylmerton NR11 8RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Felbrigg Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Felbrigg Lodge in a unique small boutique hotel in North Norfolk (we are boutique not because of the modern minimalistic décor, but because we are one of a kind, we have an independent attitude and our clients are individualist too. We offer a unique guest experience)The hotel is not a typical one it has no long dark corridors where someone slams a door at 2am,or drops a shoe on the floor just when you have got to sleep. Nor does it have large empty reception rooms which look like an upmarket furniture warehouse which are only full on high days and holidays.We don't need them all our rooms are suites and have ample seating again not like most hotels that are so small you have to sit on the bed to be comfortable and watch telly. We are set in a beautiful woodland location where relaxation and peace are paramount. There are eight rooms set in the grounds which are all ground floor. The remaining two can be found in the main house on the first floor , the house also includes the small intimate restaurant that even when we are full you will never experience an extensive wait for your food. We now boast a small conservatory which overlooks the garden and babbling brook.As we are licensed you can relax and enjoy a drink, or a glass of wine. All rooms are individually styled 5 having recently been recently refurbished. We have a heated indoor swimming pool, and an outside hot tub. We endeavour to make exceptional friendly customer service our mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Felbrigg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felbrigg Hotel Aylmerton
Felbrigg Lodge Aylmerton, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing