We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful lodges, idyllic setting, wonderful staff - a perfect break.”
Review of Felbrigg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Felbrigg Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

we were a group of 10 , we made a very last minute booking and had all sorts of dietary requirements . Dee Dee, Billie, the Chefs and the whole team worked hard to accommodate all our needs and requirements.every effort was made to provide Vegan, Vegetarian and Ciliiac food. The lodges are beautiful, set in an idyllic location. All the staff are so very friendly and made this break for my parents, sisters and our children a perfect holiday and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kishoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We know how some hotels are phased by dietary requirement such as yours but to us it's just another day at the office....You set the challenge we try our best to meet it.

Your family were a delight to look after and we feel very privileged you chose us.

Good luck with the sponsored walk for such a good cause and next time you visit us
I look forward to hearing all about it.
DeeDee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Felbrigg Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 547 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I took my elderly mum away for a couple of days in August to Felbrigg Lodge. I don't know where to start to praise both the hotel and DeeDee and Philip, the lovely couple who own and run Felbrigg Lodge.
First of all the place is lovely with a beautiful garden to relax and wander around. Philip is a fantastic cook. We ate in both nights and the meals were really excellent and we felt good value for the quality. Mel who waitressed at breakfast time created a lovely warm atmosphere and the breakfasts were fantastic and a treat in themselves. DeeDee and Philip really do make you feel special and make time to chat and get to know you. My mum wasn't well on the last day and Mel and DeeDee sprang into action sorting things out and just making sure Mum was ok. Nothing seems to phase these two they were fantastic! I left feeling that I had been so lucky to have found this lovely relaxed place and to have experienced this sort of hospitality.

Room Tip: Briar is a lovely room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

There is nothing more frightening than feeling or being ill when you are far from home. Having elderly parents ourselves we know how to deal with most ailments and will always go the extra mile to ensure we cover all angles and look after our guests how we would like someone to look after our loved ones if we were not there.....why because we care, and all our staff are chosen because they have the same ethos. A quality we are very proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Felbrigg Lodge in March 2012 (tripadvisor wouldn't let me select that far back) for a long weekend getaway. The accommodation, food and service were all fantastic and the location was an excellent base for our travels around the local Norfolk area.

This family run hotel was wonderful; the owners were always on hand to help and the food was very tasty; all home cooked with great portion sizes. We booked as part of a deal and also had a cream tea and massage as part of the booking that added the icing onto the proverbial cake!.

I would really recommend Felbrigg Lodge to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in Norfolk. It's close enough to Cromer to be able to experience the sea and local crab, but also well situated for quiet country walks or to visit one of the stately homes in the area.

Hopefully we'll make it back some time soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chestnut suite - highly recommended!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review of your experience of Felbrigg Lodge as far back as March I really feel honoured you did this. I am delighted we met your expectations and you want to come back. Look out on the new website to be launched in mid September it will have lots of different deals.....all based on what our guests have said they would like to see. And do....

Hope there will be one that suits you....

DeeDee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

"We had the very loveliest time in the stunning county of Norfolk staying, once again, in the very comfortable, relaxing and magical surroundings of Felbrigg Lodge. Big hug to you both and your lovely team for delivering such a wonderfully considerate stay. Managing to make every Guest feel special must be really hard work behind the scenes, but appears to us to just be second nature to you all. We've stayed in many prestigious hotels all over the world, but none that have demonstrated such genuine care and commitment to ensuring that we had such a wonderful stay. Felbrigg Lodge is a unique and special place, whatever recipe you're working to (and that includes truly delicious food, oh my goodness!) don't change a thing, it's perfect just the way it is. We look forward to staying with you all again soon.
Gary Avis, Ballet Master and Character Principal, The Royal Ballet.

Room Tip: Every room/cottage is unique and special to enhance the comfort of your stay!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balletboy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

It was lovely to see you both again (and the dogs of course)....and we are delighted you enjoyed staying in Willow the new addition to the Lodges. You both lead such hectic lives its nice to see you both relaxed and able to step off the world for a while.....Next time you come to Norfolk its going to be in The Oak Pavilion which will be perfect for you all, you can light that wood burner in the winter and totally chillax....

We know you have a busy 4 months ahead with the productions etc and we look forward to hearing all the exciting news the next time you are here.
Big hug to you both and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay it means a lot to know we met your expectations
DeeDee and Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked our wedding 'reception' at Felbrigg following a visit seeing the restaurant, accommodation and to discuss our requirements with DeeDee.We immediately fell in love with the charm of the place and could see the potential for wedding photo opportunities as the grounds were simply stunning!!

As we arrived following our ceremony we (and our guests) were met with fantastic hospitality as Phillip and co made us feel welcome immediately and served our every need. They went to the trouble to accommodate our extremely tired one year old daughter who was worn out with the morning's festivities and needed a nap, by setting up a temporary cot in their restaurant to enable the day to continue to flow. Our guests were comfortably settled in the Lodge's new adjoining conservatory with drinks enjoying views of the beautiful grounds while we could escape for photos.

Following an amazing start Felbrigg then served up a lovely three course meal (including a beautiful sorbet) which was met with great praise and appreciation from all of our guests. The service was second to none and nothing was too much trouble (if I'm honest they completely exceeded our expectations and them some - and they were high in the first place!).

The rooms were to a first class standard and as hoped our guests were treated to complete luxury as hoped .... they have since commented on returning home they have never been so relaxed. In addition the facilities were fantastic (our guests loved the freedom of the pool, gym and hot tub) and our three children aged 10, 3 and 1 thought the place was fantastic and enjoyed our wedding day as much as we did - something we were striving for when planning our intimate wedding. Our eldest was so enthralled she has requested we buy the place .... we wish lol :)


Personally as a newly married couple, we would like to strongly recommend using Felbrigg for your wedding as they helped made our day perfect and the grounds are second to none for stunning wedding photos. Also for those seeking a secluded retreat we for one will be regular visitors in the future on our own and with the children.

Thank you DeeDee and Phillip. You really made our special day more perfect than we could have ever imagined. You should be proud of your staff as they are a true credit to the first class lodge you are managing - it is amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oak Lodge which we loved as it was very traditional and romantic with a four poster...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

No it is us who are the lucky ones to look after such lovely people was our privilege. I am so pleased the weather which had a dodgy start ended up being perfect for you all.
Philip and I have been responsible over our years in this business ( more than 37) to look after many parties and wedding receptions and at Felbrigg they can be even more intimate which makes it even more special. Hope to see you again on your first anniversary if not before,and I cannot wait to see the photos. Claire you looked like a film star..

Please keep in touch and I look forward to putting a photo or two on the website as you have given us your permission so everyone can see what a handsome couple you are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband booked a surprise stay at Felbrigg Lodge to celebrate my 60th birthday - what a very special place! Our accommodation was superb, DeeDee and her staff were very welcoming and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. Dinner and breakfasts were excellent. Our only regret was that we simply didn't have enough time to explore the grounds or use the swimming pool. We are seriously considering booking again in the autumn to celebrate our ruby wedding.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

I am pleased your husband won some brownie points and your birthday was a special one. We would be very honoured to be involved in you ruby anniversary in the autumn. It is always such a special time in north Norfolk with so many trees the colours are spectacular a photographers dream. The beaches are usually quieter, the roads offer more parking opportunities and the skies seem even wider. Pack your cardies and good walking shoes and let Norfolk air fill your lungs.
Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
DeeDee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just spent a weekend at Felbrigg Lodge for the first time did not know what to expect. All I can say is what a fabulous place to stay. Stayed in the Oak Pavillion heaven, thank you DeeDee, Phillip and all the staff for making our break so wonderful. All the staff so friendly nothing was too much bother.
Accommodation was so clean, food wonderful the gardens beautiful. It was such a relaxing break definately coming back. My wife loved the swimming pool a the hot tub and we couldn't believe the peace and tranquillity.
Many thanks again to you all for making it such a special place keep up the good work.

Steve and Lorraine Ward

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbrigg, Owner at Felbrigg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Yes the oak is a very special place as is visited time and again when people want to get off the world a while.
The staff who work very hard behind the scenes will be delighted you have mentioned the cleanliness of the rooms on one social network site we have 9.4 out of 10 if you look for dust or a cobweb out in the countryside you will always find one I am afraid that's why our team spend so much time in the rooms trying to get it right for each guest. We don't get it right every time but I am delighted we did with you.
Look forward to meeting with you again.
DeeDee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
3.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
22.6 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,694 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
914 reviews
7.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felbrigg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felbrigg Lodge

Address: Felbrigg Lodge School ROad, Aylmerton NR11 8RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range: $224 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Felbrigg Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Felbrigg Lodge in a unique small boutique hotel in North Norfolk (we are boutique not because of the modern minimalistic décor, but because we are one of a kind, we have an independent attitude and our clients are individualist too. We offer a unique guest experience)The hotel is not a typical one it has no long dark corridors where someone slams a door at 2am,or drops a shoe on the floor just when you have got to sleep. Nor does it have large empty reception rooms which look like an upmarket furniture warehouse which are only full on high days and holidays.We don't need them all our rooms are suites and have ample seating again not like most hotels that are so small you have to sit on the bed to be comfortable and watch telly. We are set in a beautiful woodland location where relaxation and peace are paramount. There are eight rooms set in the grounds which are all ground floor. The remaining two can be found in the main house on the first floor , the house also includes the small intimate restaurant that even when we are full you will never experience an extensive wait for your food. We now boast a small conservatory which overlooks the garden and babbling brook.As we are licensed you can relax and enjoy a drink, or a glass of wine. All rooms are individually styled 5 having recently been recently refurbished. We have a heated indoor swimming pool, and an outside hot tub. We endeavour to make exceptional friendly customer service our mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Felbrigg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felbrigg Hotel Aylmerton
Felbrigg Lodge Aylmerton, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing