We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed it”
Review of The Roman Camp Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Roman Camp Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“enjoyed it”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

arrived here and decided to have our lunch here .
staff all smart and very proffesional the adnams beer superb bar man very good polite and informative .
lunch was very good , quality ingredients used my one complaint bit small .
decor is good . would like to stay here over night and will do if the rooms are a good as the beer and the food count me in .

Room Tip: get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review it was very nice to hear that you had experienced quality over quantity which goes unrecognised sometimes and doesn't get appreciated. We look forward to meeting you when next on the Norfolk coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    84
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
63
116
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

we went to our annual trip to cromer as weneared cromer we stopped at the roman camp inn for lunch . er' in doors had the local crab salad . whilst this was excellent the portion size was a wee bit on the small size ,
i had the loacl scampi all fresh it was again quality but again a bit on the small size .
i had one of the best pints of adnams i have ever had .
its not cheap but the quality is very good would i go again most certainly quality far out weighs quantity .
on other point the staff were all smart well groomed and very attentive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your lunch. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed and er in doors also enjoyed your visit with us. Please introduce yourselves when visiting us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

19.07.13 we called for lunch at what appeared to be a nice hotel. We both ordered the fish and chips with mushy peas. The meal arrived, frozen battered fish - which was absolutely tasteless, frozen chips and mushy peas which consisted of garden peas being mashed up. The cost of the meal was extortiant for the quality of the food. The premises and gardens were very nice so we were very disappointed with the standard of food whith was served.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggierobinson979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review , we were sorry to hear about your meal. Our fish is delivered on a daily basis fresh from a local supplier and cooked to order with our own homemade beer batter.
Our mushy Peas are made with Peas, finely chopped onion and double Cream. The cost of the meal was £10.95 . Your very descriptive details sounds as if we have sent out fish that is still frozen which is incorrect when using fresh fish. If this meal was not suitable for your requirements and taste we would of been accommodating to correct your dissatisfaction on the day if this had been brought to our attention. We have also bought this to the Kitchen brigades attention. We are happy to hear that you found the rest of the Inn and garden pleasing we do hope that this does not deter you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked a group of twenty-two of us, mostly, couples, for an overnight stay on Sat 23rd July at the Roman Camp Inn in Aylmerton, Norfolk. All dealings were done with Marnie, the manageress, who pushed the boat out for us in both hospitality, courtesy and comfort. The quality choices three course meal plus coffee at £22.50 per person was excellent, house wine from £16.50; and if there were any other additional requests during the meal, they were promptly addressed by her young, yet marvellous, staff. Very large portions were beautifully presented, to the delight of some of our hungrier patrons and double room rates were very reasonable for this time of year too.

We even had our own dedicated dining room on the first floor so we could be as boisterous as we wished, within reason of course. This enabled us to arrange a fun quiz after dinner which garnered lots of laughter and banter, without disturbing other restaurant guests downstairs in the main restaurant, which was very well attended. The food must be good!
All the group commented on the lovely decor of each room and comfort of the beds. Tea and coffee making facilities were included and plenty of additional bedding was available in the spacious cupboards. The grounds were beautiful and we all had pre-dinner beverages in the garden and then later in the evening, after dinner drinks on the terrace outside.
Although the hotel is located on the Holt to Cromer road, none of us were disturbed by traffic noise and it is great testament to the hotel that Marnie manned the bar until about midnight, when the last of us finally retired for the night. She and her staff certainly have some stamina.

Breakfast the following morning, was again, very comprehensive. Full English, smoked haddock, continental, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts; you name it, they had it, together with a wide variety of teas and good coffee.
We were blessed with brilliant sunshine the whole weekend and with this wonderful hotel, we had a terrific result!

Well done!

Room Tip: Speak to Marnie, the manageress, in person. She wants you to experience the best stay ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogueTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Rogue Tripper, many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit stay with us, with your Harley Davidson Group. It was wonderful to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and that the weather was warm enough for you all to partake in pre and after dinner drinks in our glorious gardens. It sounded like all of you had fun whilst dining in our Private Room with a View Restaurant and that the quiz went down well. It is always a pleasure to make sure that all of our guests have a pleasant stay and that myself and the whole team can cater for all of their needs. I would also like to say a personal thank you for letting me pose on one of your bikes for a photo, for which I have put on our facebook page. Please don't forget to look us up again if you are ever in the area, or if you all fancy a quick break on the North Norfolk Coast. Kind regards Marnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we stayed at The Roman Camp last minute, arriving at gone 5pm on the off chance of a room. The poor receptionist was multi tasking, doing serving, room cleaning and reception and looked run off her feet.
The room was spacious but noisy due to the road traffic and as it was a sweltering day you had to have the window open. The room design is very in vogue at the moment but poorly decorated in it's quality.Outside our window room 5 was an orange light which lit the hotel so at bed time our room was an orange glow. The shower was mediocre in its power and only luke warm. The toilet struggled to flush. The welcome pack stated that if you go out after 11pm you need to speak to the manager as they lock up. I tried to phone reception and the bar and got no reply. It took 30 mins after repeated trying then got a swift response!
Breakfast was well cooked and a selection. You have to make your own toast, so that was felt more like a premier inn than a good Inn. No beans!
The gardens and terrace are beautiful and a real asset. It was mediocre and for £120 a night felt should be better

Room Tip: If a light sleeper not at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireHatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We popped in for a meal on Saturday 29th June 2013. We have eaten here before but it had been a while back and memory of how good the food was then caused us to stop and try The Roman Camp Inn again.

It wasn't busy, in fact almost empty when we arrived and we were served promptly.
We ordered beef steak & kidney suet pudding and a Roman Camp burger. I was a tad dubious as at £10.75 the burger seemed expensive.

Whilst we were waiting we ordered two drinks, a blackcurrant squash and I did try to order a pint of Pepsi, I say tried to order as was faced with sorry we can't sell it in pints only in 16oz glasses....and at £1.90 a glass as usual a true rip off price for a soft drink - but this is common to ALL pubs not just The Roman Camp.

The food arrived pretty quickly and was definitely freshly cooked! Presentation was also good too. Young waitress was very friendly as well.

The food was excellent! The meat in the steak and kidney pudding just fell apart it was that tender and the burger, well any reservation I had over price went with a few mouthfuls! It was really really good. The chips were fresh cooked too, none of this reheated or oven cooked offerings this was piping hot, freshly cooked chips. Very tasty they were too.

Two meals and two drinks came to £25.60 and I have to say given the quality and taste represented excellent value for money.

Place was very clean and staff were welcoming and friendly.

Would definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Family sunday lunch with a choice of beef or pork at £10.95. Meat was strangely served on top of vegetables, with 3 potatoes around the pile. perfectly edible but not noteworthy. Pint of cider was £3.60 but soft drinks were not such good value. Service was a little slow, and the 2 staff seemed under pressure. Desserts were £5.25, and were again nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorby321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
5.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
596 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
1.5 mi away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eiders Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roman Camp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Property: The Roman Camp Inn
Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Aylmerton, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing