We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and warm.”
Review of The Roman Camp Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Roman Camp Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped in for lunch. Enjoyed the food we did have although the menu is not very vegetarian friendly. The service was good and polite. The ambience very pleasant and the place was clean. Not an economy lunch.

We will eat here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adiexx2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 271 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch, had the special of 2 course meal for £13.50. Good value.
Really enjoyed the food, in a lovely atmosphere.Waitress was very attentive and pleasant.
Overall it made for a nice afternoon,look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CJS-L-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

we went there at the weekend food was ok but we did not go alot on the rolled turkey it was all stuffing and not alot of turkey veg to hard will not go back again and we did not even get asked if we would like any wine with our meal

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BRIDGET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Cromer, nearby, is known for its character, pier and theatre, lifeboat, a glorious old flint church with a mighty tower, Edwardian seaside splendour which lured Lillie Langtry, its limestone reef and the tasty crabs and lobsters caught there in the pots of its very own breed of seafarers, and now its autumn festival of art, music, and theatre. Then there were Romans who found the very first caravan site with a sea view, and handed it on to the National Trust. So this is just a gentle walk down a leafy lane, across the road, which is part of probably, the only rural one-way-system, west of Japan. This Inn has a beautiful, well maintained, and peaceful English country garden, and secluded accommodation from where a step outside yields a memorable view of rolling rural N.Norfolk, were the sun will set in its soaring skies. Then, why else would you stop here, next to a filling station that sells an unkown brand of fuel, on a cross roads, next to a one way system, on a main A road? Because; you can hear no traffic in the accommodation, it has a spacious bar with comfortable seating, overlooking the garden, it has a panelled dining room with fresh mussels, smoked haddock, crab and pheasant were on the menu, with ribeye steak from locally sourced cattle, a wine list worth exploring, and young, smart, and conscientious staff managed happily and professionally by the licensee and her colleagues with humour, and courtesy. The heating might have been a tad warmer, the wetroom in one of two suites for disability, was spacious, and with a heater to help the floor to dry. The drapes are colourful, tasteful, and skilfully crafted from fabric printed in a cheerful maritime theme, which harmonises with the decor, and the seating is comfortable.
This is a very reasonably priced hotel, conveniently situated, on the A148 road crossing Norfolk, while only a few minutes drive away from unspoilt, heritage countryside, the coast with sites to see migrant birds, the family attractions of popular beaches, and the towns of Sheringham, Cromer, and Holt.

Room Tip: Access the hotel from the rear car park, and walk through to Reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wabally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a lovely small hotel to stay in for visiting the area. We were going to the Thursford Christmas Spectacular which was around 25 minutes from here. We chose it as it was one of the few reasonably priced establishements not allowing dogs, which my mother has a phobia about.
We had a very friendly welcome and our room was clean, modern and comfortable. If I had 1 comment it would be to put the heating on a little earlier. we arrived at 2.20 and the room was cold. However we went and had a coffee in the lounge and when we retuned to the room at 3.30 it was reasonably warm.
Breakfast was very good. Lovely choice and freshly made.
We would definatley stay here again

Room Tip: We stayed in standard Twin - Room 12. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a regular customer to the Roman Camp Inn and recently stayed here for one night and enjoyed my experience! The rooms are well decorated and the bed was comfortable. On the evening of my stay I had a meal with friends who joined me and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was well presented, filling and I most definitely cannot fault my experience here! The staff are friendly and always willing to help and answer questions! Ill definitely keep on returning to the Roman Camp Inn and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam-ara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a very pleasant Sunday afternoon at this very nice Inn's Restaurant. At the weekend it's open for food all day long, which makes it very flexible. Exceptionally good tasty food and nice varied menu, with daily specials presented at the table. The menu is moderately priced, our meal was round about £25.00 per head for starter, main and dessert. The staff were very friendly and attentive as well.
Would recommend highly and will defiantly make a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
3.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
652 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roman Camp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aylmerton
Price Range: $106 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Aylmerton, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing