We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Dog Days Please”
Review of Bodnant Garden

Bodnant Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 80 acres of magnificent Garden in the beautiful Conwy Valley. Stunning collections of plants and trees from around the World, giving interest and colour throughout the seasons.Varied Events Programme offering something for everyone.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Visited the gardens on Saturday 22/02/14 - lovely winter garden with lots of trees and shrubs with interesting bark.

Would like to visit again in another season but the dog days are limited to an evening for the rest of the year and as we live in Lancashire its not feasible to come to Wales for a few hours.. All the dogs were well behaved and on short leads.

More dog days please.

2  Thank Davidh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"laburnum arch"
in 280 reviews
"national trust"
in 192 reviews
"full bloom"
in 95 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 82 reviews
"plants and trees"
in 27 reviews
"stunning gardens"
in 52 reviews
"car park"
in 123 reviews
"craft shops"
in 37 reviews
"garden centre"
in 108 reviews
"every corner"
in 32 reviews
"different areas"
in 25 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 116 reviews
"tea room"
in 40 reviews
"old mill"
in 52 reviews
"north wales"
in 74 reviews
"conwy valley"
in 21 reviews
"nt members"
in 18 reviews
Filter

1,399 - 1,403 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is amazingly beautiful and vast with all the flowers and meandering paths. A must see for any gardener. There is now a huge car park, but even on a Friday parking was at a premium. If you have dogs they must stay in the car and there are very few shaded areas so probably best to leave them at home. Free admission to National Trust members.

Thank 3dogmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. Just to confirm that we do now have "Dog Days" here at Bodnant Garden. Dogs on a short lead are welcome on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday during normal opening hours (10am - 4pm) through to the end of February.

From March to October, dogs are welcome every Wednesday 5pm - 8pm.

If you require more information, just give the office a ring on 01492 650460 or email me rose.james@nationaltrust.org.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We visited this beautiful garden - expecting something on a much smaller scale than it is! What a great and pleasant surprise - so much variety in horticulture, trees, and shrubs - mostly neatly labelled; also, fascinating buildings and structures - loggia, ponds, memorials - a new attraction as you turn every corner!
What vision contributed to this wonderful place - and how lucky we were to see it in the autumn with the acres in stunning colours. No fees if you are a National Trust Member.
(Slightly tricky to find - was it the fault of the Sat-Nav or the driver?!).

Thank PeterFleming187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are actually a (National Trust) Garden within the Bodnant Estate so beyond our boundaries we have beautiful views and fields and woodlands which add to the beauty of Bodnant Garden.

There are lots of the brown signs along the main road directing drivers to Bodnant Garden, but if you miss them then Sat Nav’s, unfortunately, do take you to a private drive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a gorgeous garden but the NT need to assess their policy - if you are going to close half the garden off for maintenance then at least tell people before they pay and give sensible re-direction signs - we had no idea how to get around and after the third blocked path, gave up and crossed the rope. In addition the visit was ruined by two gardeners using leaf blowers - it was bedlam and completely unnecessary - I know from experience that a rake on a lawn does the job more efficiently, without adding co2 to the environment and peacefully. Warned by a TA review I said no to the gift aid which was being added with and got a very frosty response - I give to charity often but I don't wish to be bullied into it - NT charge more than enough without it and just now the Philippines need is far greater.

2  Thank shelovestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

I'm so sorry that you were disappointed by your visit to us this month. We’ve had to close a couple of paths for your safety due to a tree which came crashing down in last weeks high winds. (There are lots of rather impressive pictures on Facebook). Otherwise the whole of the Garden is open and at half-price through November to February we think gives excellent value!

Leaf blowers can be noisy and not to everyone’s taste but raking 150 tonnes of leaves off over 80 acres of garden is sadly physically just not possible. The blowers are much faster and more efficient. We try to restrict their use wherever possible and there’ll always be areas of the garden that are quiet and peaceful.

Giving Gift Aid is a personal decision for all our visitors. Many of our guests choose to do so as a way of efficient giving which reclaims tax. There is never any intention of compulsion or coercion.

Do ring me if you'd like to discuss any of these matters in more detail; 01492 650460

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This week is the time to go. The maples and acers are at their best. If you get a sunny afternoon, go late on for the best photos. We went at 3, one hour before closing and the late sun sparkled off the reds, oranges and yellows. Colder weather forecast this week will see the end to them, so be quick! Great tea rooms too!

Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thanks for your glowing review of the autumn colour at Bodnant Garden. It’s still looking stunning and there are some fantastic views of the snowy dusted mountains from the Terraces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodnant Garden also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Bodnant Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing