We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
One of the National Trust's best

Holidaying around the UK we visit a number of National Trust properties on our travels, so Bodnant... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
DMC13
,
Lymington, United Kingdom
Amazing

Having not been before we were amazed at how much was "in bloom" for a mid January and cool... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Evan J
Read all 1,986 reviews
  
Reviews (1,986)
Filter reviews
1,986 results
Traveler rating
1,638
293
24
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,638
293
24
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laburnum arch national trust full bloom formal gardens stunning gardens car park plants and trees garden centre craft shops every corner different areas tea room well worth a visit old mill north wales water features conwy valley
Filter
Updating list...
1,634 - 1,639 of 1,986 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is amazingly beautiful and vast with all the flowers and meandering paths. A must see for any gardener. There is now a huge car park, but even on a Friday parking was at a premium. If you have dogs they must stay in the car and there are very few shaded areas so probably best to leave them at home. Free admission to National Trust members.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank 3dogmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. Just to confirm that we do now have "Dog Days" here at Bodnant Garden. Dogs on a short lead are welcome on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday during normal opening hours (10am - 4pm) through to the end of February.

From March to October, dogs are welcome every Wednesday 5pm - 8pm.

If you require more information, just give the office a ring on 01492 650460 or email me rose.james@nationaltrust.org.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We visited this beautiful garden - expecting something on a much smaller scale than it is! What a great and pleasant surprise - so much variety in horticulture, trees, and shrubs - mostly neatly labelled; also, fascinating buildings and structures - loggia, ponds, memorials - a new attraction as you turn every corner!
What vision contributed to this wonderful place - and how lucky we were to see it in the autumn with the acres in stunning colours. No fees if you are a National Trust Member.
(Slightly tricky to find - was it the fault of the Sat-Nav or the driver?!).

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank PeterFleming187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are actually a (National Trust) Garden within the Bodnant Estate so beyond our boundaries we have beautiful views and fields and woodlands which add to the beauty of Bodnant Garden.

There are lots of the brown signs along the main road directing drivers to Bodnant Garden, but if you miss them then Sat Nav’s, unfortunately, do take you to a private drive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a gorgeous garden but the NT need to assess their policy - if you are going to close half the garden off for maintenance then at least tell people before they pay and give sensible re-direction signs - we had no idea how to get around and after the third blocked path, gave up and crossed the rope. In addition the visit was ruined by two gardeners using leaf blowers - it was bedlam and completely unnecessary - I know from experience that a rake on a lawn does the job more efficiently, without adding co2 to the environment and peacefully. Warned by a TA review I said no to the gift aid which was being added with and got a very frosty response - I give to charity often but I don't wish to be bullied into it - NT charge more than enough without it and just now the Philippines need is far greater.

Date of experience: November 2013
2  Thank shelovestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

I'm so sorry that you were disappointed by your visit to us this month. We’ve had to close a couple of paths for your safety due to a tree which came crashing down in last weeks high winds. (There are lots of rather impressive pictures on Facebook). Otherwise the whole of the Garden is open and at half-price through November to February we think gives excellent value!

Leaf blowers can be noisy and not to everyone’s taste but raking 150 tonnes of leaves off over 80 acres of garden is sadly physically just not possible. The blowers are much faster and more efficient. We try to restrict their use wherever possible and there’ll always be areas of the garden that are quiet and peaceful.

Giving Gift Aid is a personal decision for all our visitors. Many of our guests choose to do so as a way of efficient giving which reclaims tax. There is never any intention of compulsion or coercion.

Do ring me if you'd like to discuss any of these matters in more detail; 01492 650460

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This week is the time to go. The maples and acers are at their best. If you get a sunny afternoon, go late on for the best photos. We went at 3, one hour before closing and the late sun sparkled off the reds, oranges and yellows. Colder weather forecast this week will see the end to them, so be quick! Great tea rooms too!

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank PaulL819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thanks for your glowing review of the autumn colour at Bodnant Garden. It’s still looking stunning and there are some fantastic views of the snowy dusted mountains from the Terraces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a fabulous garden, started by HD Pochin, in 1874, and continuously developed by his descendents ever since. Now in the ownership of the National Trust, there are formal terraces with lily ponds arrayed down the hillside, with views of the hills across the Conwy, and large areas of woodland along a picturesque stream in the valley below, offering a multitude of walks.
Combine this with the noted NT restaurant, shops, and garden centre, and you have an excellent day out for anyone.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodnantRhosyn, Property Administrator at Bodnant Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

You chose a stunning time of year to visit. Autumn is a magical time of year in the Garden; Atmospheric and mystical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews