We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a lovely day out”
Review of Bodnant Garden

Bodnant Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 80 acres of magnificent Garden in the beautiful Conwy Valley. Stunning collections of plants and trees from around the World, giving interest and colour throughout the seasons.Varied Events Programme offering something for everyone.
North Wales
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always a lovely day out”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What ever time of year you visit Bodnant there is always something wonderful to see. Hiden away in the Conwy valley this garden has been developed over many years and is truely magnificent. A real contrast in landscapes from small intimate gardens to ponds and lakes and streams, it has it all. Lots of walking so not for the faint hearted and they have made improvements recently for wheelchair access to most parts. But it is very hilly in places but well worth the walk up and down the paths if you are able. The tea room is always busy and is outside the garden so best to visit first or last. Very big shop and garden centre attached but is not NT. Also some small shops including local artist and local products.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,276
    227
    21
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penysarn, Anglesey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Garden on a hillside”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

As members of the National Trust we can visit this lovely garden as often as we please. I recommend a visit at the end of May when the famous Laburnum Tunnel is in flower. It is a unique experience to be there and see it. For disabled visitors it is a difficult encounter. Last time we went I nearly had a serious accident with the wheelchair in which my wife was sitting. It is essential to have a wheelchair where the operator can apply the brakes. I think these are available there. After pushing my wife round just part of the garden I had no need of a visit to the gym! But thegarden is lovely and the Pin House and canal are a georgeous setting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Didn't have time for Garden”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for a quick break. Food - cakes were out of this world. Home made and delicious. far too large,didn't eat for next twenty four hours. Service was so pleasant and friendly. Would have loved to have visited properly but next time!

Helpful?
Thank CarolineTodmorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Glorious gardens”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had the pleasure of visiting very briefly these beautiful gardens as part of a day excursion from the ship we were travelling on. Unfortunately it was raining, but eased off enough for us to see much of the beautifully laid out gardens and take some photos. It is a pity that we were unable to visit the large house. Would love to have been able to purchase some of the plants from the nursery

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ahernen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“80 Acres of Beautiful Garden”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Visited here mid-August, well impressed. Very well maintained. It's a National Trust garden although you can't go in the large house. Great views & there is always something around every corner. Large rose garden & the smell is amazing. There are plenty of trails to follow just pick which you prefer first. There are lots of seating around the gardens so you can just stop & take in the views. Also at the far end it is more wooded. It has it own chapel/crypt & is open the last Tuesday in the month I believe. Gardens also have a cafe. There is a tunnel of around 180 feet of laburnum which must look great when in season, bright yellow. This is around late May though so didn't manage to see this. What is a must is to take your camera.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayheaven4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodnant Garden also viewed

 
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Bodnant Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing