We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHY GO ANYWHERE ELSE”
Review of Rose And Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose And Crown Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Elham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at The Rose and Crown for one night prior to going to France for Rememberance day, Well it couldn't have been better John the landlord and his staff are excellent friendly and attentive and nothing for was to much trouble, we had an evening meal in the restaurant which again was second to none and very good value for money. The rooms again were excellent very clean and welcoming , it was very quiet and we all slept well. we didn't stay for breakfast as we had an early crossing but even without eating it i could guarantee that it would be without fault!!. I can't recommend staying here enough if you are looking for somewhere to stay prior to going to france or for any other reason then come here, don't waste your money on anywhere else! Many thanks

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loppys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a mates' walking weekend. Great accommodation in well equipped, spacious, quiet and clean rooms. Terrific pub meal, two excellent breakfasts. Attentive service and well located for exploring the Elham Valley. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Deerleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here from Sunday through to Monday. We already knew they did not serve food on Sunday evenings but that was not a problem as the pub round the corner did and the food there was wonderful - 3 course meal with drinks for us both £35 (and it was really nice food!!)
The B&B was one of the best we have stayed in. Very clean and comfortable. The room was big with traditional beams and as I have a spider phobia I was pleasantly pleased with the complete lack of cobwebs even on the highest beam!!
The staff were really polite and friendly and they made sure we had everything we needed. The pub was quite also. We had a good nights sleep and it was very quite.
The best bit was the breakfast cooked fresh. Make sure you have an appetite as it was divine. I would certainly recommend this B&B and will be booking our next visit soon. Many thanks

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location a beautiful area, the service was attentive and food was tasty pub fare well worth the visit and we will return! There is a superb range of drinks -usual Shepherd Neame choice- with a lovely garden too!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight in order to catch a morning channel tunnel crossing. One of our criteria was safe parking as the car was full. This inn ticked all the boxes. Owners friendly and helpful, parking off-road right outside our room, which was huge with all the amenities. Breakfast with whatever and as much as you wanted, and an added bonus was an excellent dinner - the only point that set it apart from a very good class restaurant was no tablecloth (it is a pub, after all, and who cares about the tablecloth when the food is so good!). Also the price for both food and wine was very reasonable. Highly to be recommended and we will certainly be staying here again on our next trip through!

Room Tip: Room 4 was a twin bed which suited us fine and the car was right outside the door. Added bonus was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here 11/8/13 for two nights. Warm welcome as soon as we arrived from John who took the trouble to show us to our room. Lovely clean big room, very quite and relaxing. Breakfast, good choice, cereal through to full English all very good home cooked food. Dinner menu varied, we had the fish and chips, probably one of the nicest pieces of fish i have ever had, large portions you wont leave hungry. Sue did the cooking and always had time to talk to us. A very friendly place to visit, all the staff and regulars were lovely. Take time to play bar billiards, while having a drink in the fantastic pub.Only one problem was pub closes sunday evening, we knew restaurant was closed but did not see anything about pub being closed on any web site. No big deal as other pub just around corner just would have liked to have known. All in all lovely break and we shall return i am sure. Well done to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mivvyice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed one night whilst passing through Kent en route to the Channel. Good food, good room, good service. Ticked all the boxes for us. The positive reviews from others are well deserved by the team at the Rose & Crown.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank WheelieSlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose And Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose And Crown Inn

Address: High Street, Elham CT4 6TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Elham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Elham
Price Range: $101 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose And Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the Rose & Crown Inn, Elham. (AA 4 Star). A traditional 16th century coaching inn with our main Restaurant and Bar situated in the main building. Our rooms were once stables from the days when the inn served as a coaching stop on the way from Folkestone to Canterbury. The accommodation is located ideally for visiting many tourist attractions and local sites. Elham is a delightful Kentish village nestled in the heart of the Elham Valley, a popular destination for walkers and cyclists, We are close to Canterbury, Dover and the Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and Sandwich.The pub itself was built in the 16th Century and features oak beams and open fires. The north end of the building used to be the local courthouse, and the first game of Bar Billiards in England was played here in 1935. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rose And Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Inn Elham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing