We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute bliss!”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Bluebells just coming up 28th March
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Elham, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lena D
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss!”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We've just come back from a lovely romantic weekend in this woodland hut. The surroundings and views are amazing and the hut itself is clean, cosy and relaxing. We loved cooking a full meal with the very good little oven! The log burner is fab and keeps the hut nice and toasty. Bed is very comfy! Shower works really well, and the eco toilet is hassle free. Mark and Hannah are lovely, warm, welcoming people. When we arrived, Hannah started our fire for us, brought us oat milk and even spared some banana bread she'd made (amazing by the way thank you!!) Tea, coffee, cereals and bread are provided. We spent the weekend reading books, drinking tea, walking around the woods and enjoying listening to the radio toasting marshmallows in the fire. A wonderful weekend, we totally relaxed and loved being in the quiet of nature together. Thank you Mark and Hannah!! Sorry for the rope swing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A fantastic 3 night stay. Valley Hut gives stunning views. Dog friendly the hut has evrything you need, it has been so well thought out. If you want peace and quiet this is the place to be. Lovely walks to be had or sit back and watch the buzzards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2017
Thanks Stephen and Fiona for taking time to write this review :-) Bring on the Autumn bookings - def need an Indian summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbylove...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A magical getaway”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a perfect holiday. We searched for a dog-friendly retreat and I have to say we got really lucky. The location is beautiful and there's so much space for a puppy to play safely. The hut itself is extremely comfortable, has a hot shower, a wood-burning stove and ample self-catering facilities. But this is all about the setting. Beautiful Kent countryside as far as the eye can see and easy public footpath walks to the neighbouring villages of Elham and Stelling Minnis. Highly recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
We love that you enjoyed it so much and thanks so much for leaving a review :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandajke...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful bluebell retreat”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful time at this amazing hut, wandering around the bluebell woods, walking in the forest, watching the sun come up over the fields or star gazing round the fire. We also went to Whistable which is our favourite seaside town and is only about 30mins away. It is so private and special we booked back in as we were leaving the farm! Hannah couldn't have been more helpful and even let us bring our cat for a small fee.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccazade...
gosport
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“get away from it all”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Where to start. This was one of the most relaxing breaks i have ever had and a lot was due to the hut. Firstly the setting was brilliant isolated in a wood clearing. The hut its self is bijou and excellently fitted out. Great time has been taken with the decor and accessories. The bed was brilliant comfortable and soft. The shower was like being at home and the smell from the shampoo was amazing. Bit concerned about the composting loo but now one whiff of odour was smelt. We took 2 medium dogs with us and they thoroughly enjoyed the freedom they had. The walks are all accessible from the hut and were well signposted. The extra touches where really appreciated, and the REAL milk was a welcome flash back to days gone by. The BBQ packs are brilliant and well worth the money. It was great to sit out and eat Al fresco every meal time. The wild life was lovely to including a bat circling every evening a green woodpecker on the grass out side every morning, squirrels tormenting the dogs and rabbits, birds of pray and lots of finches.
Would highly recommend this place if you need to unwind. The owners are brilliant too so friendly and helpful.
Will definitely be going back to this place again and again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the open air
Liked least: the walk up the hill to the hut lol
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msred77
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Up liftment for the Soul”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We needed a break away from the children, away from the day to day hustle and bustle of London life. We wanted comfort and privacy, nature and beauty.

I came across this website that boasted everything I wanted, the PRIVATE aspect rang bells for me, the pictures confirmed what I was reading.... I went ahead and booked in the old fashioned way, The wonderful human being to accompany you on your journey to attaining bliss is called Hannah.. Hannah is an amazing host that goes above and beyond to assure you have everything you need, she thought of Everything, my partner and I wanted for nothing!

Our stay was so comfortable, private and intimate. Through the hut windows the carpet of Bluebells that dressed the ground was simply breath taking, the baby rabbits I would glimpse and even the pheasant that strolled passed our hut... just added to the awesomeness.

We will be visiting this little piece of unspoiled pleasure again very soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing