We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”
Review of Hotel Villa Linda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Linda
Ranked #3 of 3 Griante B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Like most guests we were sent here from the Britannia. As a couple this hotel was better suited to our needs. The service was very good and more intimate. There's only about 30 rooms. The restaurant is frequented by locals which is always a good sign. The all inclusive menu did not change for the 5 days but there was plenty of choice for our short stay. Everything is made fresh. The pizza's are wood fired and you can just sit over a good meal, freshly prepared with waiter service whilst enjoying the views. It's a lovely Italian experience.

The breakfast is again fresh but limited providing cereal, yoghurt, bread, cheese and ham with coffee from a machine. Just a few more choices would greatly improve the breakfast.

Most of the staff are multi-lingual so you can always make yourself understood.

Looks like the hotel has been refurbished in the not to distant past. Its not shiny new but its clean. The room we had the first night was of a good size with a side balcony looking up the lake. The room was good except it backed onto some sort of generators which buzzed all night. We asked to be moved and were lucky enough to be given a room at the front with a small balcony which overlooked the lake. The hotel is right on the road side but this is typical of a lot of hotels in the area and its quiet enough at night.

There is nothing around this hotel what-so-ever but you can catch the tractor train outside which runs between Menaggio and Leno to visit the local towns and join the various ferries that take you around the lake.

Overall we would stay here again as it provides good food, friendly service and our room was a good size, clean and tidy. A relaxing Italian vibe with beautiful views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T5_JSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here because the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, which we had booked through Holidaysbooked, was overbooked. The same happened to all those booked through this tour operator - without prior warning, on arrival at that hotel, we were told we would be accommodated at Villa Linda.

Once we arrived at Villa Linda we were pleased to find a pleasant, lakeside, family-run hotel, with fine dining (the locals dine here, which says a lot). We were all inclusive and were offered the facilities of both Villa Linda and the Grand, however we tried the Grand once and decided we had definitely got the better end of the deal! This is proper Italian food and all a la carte with great service which is rare for all-inclusive.

A little bit of Italian will go a long way; we can barely speak a word but tried to order our drinks in Italian and used our little phrase book.

We had a large room with a four-poster bed and a lake view, and a bathroom including a proper bath (not just a shower).

Like most hotels in Griante, this is on the roadside, so there is a little noise, but this did not trouble us at night, or when sitting outside the hotel eating lunch or dinner looking over the lake. There is no swimming pool but everyone can use the public lido in Cadenabbia.

We walked there a few times (about 15-20 minutes) although there isn't really a footpath along the road. You can also walk to Menaggio (again about 20 minutes) where you can find some lovely coffee shops, restaurants, cashpoint etc.

Mid-lake ferries go from Mennagio and Cadenabbia to take you around the lake's resorts. We bought a 15 Euro day ticket each which allows travel to Lenno, Cadenabbia, Tremezzo, Villa Carlotta, Varenna, Mennagio and Bellagio. Bellagio was the most worthwhile trip, with cobbled (hilly) streets, gift shops, cafes, restaurants and hotels - very pretty.

We did a lovely steep walk to St Martino chapel in Griante, if you can put your hiking boots or trainers on then the walk is worth it for the views!

We also did a day trip to Milan which was 40 Euros each. Apparently you can also get the ferry to Varenna and then take the train to Milan from there, if you want to go by public transport.

We were very impressed with this hotel and would certainly return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We were sent here due to a booking error at another local hotel with holidaysbooked (NEVER use them!) and were pleasantly surprised. On initial arrival due to circumstances we did wonder... but this is a pleasant family-run hotel with slightly quirky/old-fashioned decor but real Italian charm.

What really makes it is the food. The locals eat here which says a lot. Delicious Italian food and wine which assured us we had ended up with a better deal here than the free for all buffet style all inc offered by the Grand Britannia!

Views over the lake are great and we had a lake view room with four poster bed and huge bathroom with bath!

Menaggio is a 20 minute walk and the ferry can be taken from Cadennabia.

I have no idea why this is #4 of 4 hotels in Griante - probably due to the lack of reviews which will change after this debacle with holidaysbooked as so many were in the same boat as us!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

we were sent here because the grand britannia was overbooked, thank goodness.
firstly let me put some things straight about the bad reviews given-
the staff speak Italian? well what a surprise eh, considering the hotel is in Italy. a phrase book or some sort of effort would help.
the breakfast was basic, croissants, rolls, home made yogurt, cereal and meat and cheese, but it was fresh and replenished as required, you can have coffee from the espresso machine if you ask. it is on a busy road but its double glazed and when the windows are closed you cant hear the traffic and at night its quiet.
the walk to menaggio is about 15-20 minutes and the path does run out but only for about 50 yards and is hardly the fault of the hotel.
the rooms are lovely and clean and pleasantly furnished. the hotel staff are hard working and if you ask for something they will get you it.
the food is lovely, the menu is varied and i loved all the food they served us, the pizzas are from a wood burning oven and are delicious.
there is a wee train that stops outside the hotel and runs from mennagio to leno about a dozen times a day, so you dont have to walk.
the hotel isnt for those who want to booze and party, it closes about 11pm, its all about the view, the lake,the food and the wine

Room Tip: get a day ticket for the train, if you want to swim in the lake you will need some sort of footwear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weeteggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Owned and run by the Orsatti family, Villa Linda is a reasonably priced hotel between Cadenabbia and Menaggio. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean with an equally spacious bathroom. Peppino Orsatti masterminds the delivery of superb local and Italian dishes from the kitchen to the restaurant, and if you are there for a short break as we were, there is no need to look elsewhere to dine. There is also a genuine wood fired pizza oven. The staff are friendly and Alberto Orsatti speaks excellent English. If you are a light sleeper, you ought to know that the lakeside road, with mostly local traffic, runs in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Villa Linda is located in Griante Lake Como enjoying the fabulous views of Lake Bellagio and the Grigna mountains.
The on site restaurant Ca Blanca seemed to be very popular with tourists and both locals we had a very good evening meals and good wine whlie providing tremendous views of the lake while dining.
The hotel is run by the Orsatti family we found them very helpful and with warm Italian hospitality they were always busy taking care of the guests the hotel was very clean and we had a large venetian styled room with a TV which faced the car park a blessing really as the main road was very busy we still had good views of the lake and the mountains.
We had a hired car and found it very easy to travel around the lake using the ferry crossing taking us to the Bellagio town which is directly across the lake, seeing it from this side provided us with excellent night views and we enjoyed the peaceful settings away from the crowds.
The hotel had a free car park and wireless internet our stay was very pleasant and i'm sure if we will go back to lake Como we would stay here again.

Driving around the lake is easy however i should imagine sometimes a little difficult during high season due to the narrow streets in some places but well worth doing so just let the high speeding ones on the highway pass by.

The lake is very picturesque well kept and i can understand why actor George Cloony bought villa 'Oleandra' in Lagio( former residence of the Heinz family) to rest and play i too can highly recommend anyone wishing a weekend or holiday will enjoy their stay and thank the hotel for providing us with the wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peabody11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed here for a night. The restaurant seems very popular but haven't tried it.
We were sent here by britannia because they were overbooked, this is a weak replacement hotel. The service was ok apart from the grumpy lady at the breakfast.
The breakfast was the major week point, very little options and quality and little replacing of stuff that ran out. Even tho it's free you might consider having your breakfast elsewhere.
The room itself was large and clean, not much amenities but ok.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outlanderlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Griante
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#5 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa La Mirabella
Villa La Mirabella
#1 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Linda

Property: Hotel Villa Linda
Address: Via Regina 87, 22011 Griante, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Griante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Griante
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Linda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Linda Griante, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing