We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was lovely in the Orangery and I high recommend it”
Review of The Orangery

The Orangery
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Bonnyrigg
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Breakfast was lovely in the Orangery and I high recommend it”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a 2 night stay in the Castle and had breakfast in the Orangery both mornings. This is where I first tasted haggis, and I must admit I quite liked it. There was cereals, yoghurts, spreads, croissants, pastries and of course the Full Scottish Breakfast. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food plentiful. The Orangery is a glass walled room and was therefore very bright and cheerful. We had no trouble getting a highchair for my grandson.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineH4132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    29
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Casual Dining”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The orangery was a very pleasant dining experience overlooking the Esk River & Dalhousie Grounds. Staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and plentiful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ramsey-Proctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent view ”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancé treated our mothers to a late Mother's Day afternoon tea and were not disappointed.

Good quality food served quickly in a beautiful restaurant and not overly expensive either for what we got!

We were all impressed and will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank danielallan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The chef did really well in terms of choice and presentation. We loved the food.
This was simple fare but at very reasonable prices when you consider the Castle environment you are eating in.
Well done the Chef and Dalhousie

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank J4NOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad service and lukewarm food”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Waited forever for lukewarm food served with the smallest slices of bread I've ever seen! Not just our table the whole restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunseeker1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orangery also viewed

Lasswade, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
 

Been to The Orangery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing