We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Day Stay”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Day Stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Castle with lovely staff who put up with my annoying questions with poise! Needless to say they have abliterated my expectations of great customer service and would recommend anyone looking to spoil themselves or wanting a romantic and beautiful wedding this is your place to go! Not to mention the falconry! Truly exquisite and it could not have been more wonderful!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Vetz452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    350
    188
    93
    90
See reviews for
228
768
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Myself & 5 others were delighted to be part of the first Jacobean night held on Friday 13th in the Dungeons of the castle .A very Scottish scene greeted us on arrival drinks & canapés in the library, escorted downstairs to a magnificent Banquet served with wine & mead ,whilst being entertained by the lords & ladies of the castle ,great to interact with all types of people round the table ,thoroughly excellent evening enjoyed by our party .

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a voucher for here so went for afternoon tea. We walked through the lovely dungeon restaurant to The Orangery. A spacious conservatory at the rear of the castle looking out onto the woods. We had the afternoon tea and it was lovely. Served sandwiches, scones with cream and jam and an assortment if cakes and biscuits. We had tea and coffee and each had about 4 cups from our 1 pot. Staff were very professional, pleasant and polite. Priced at £13.95 each I thought it was a fair price considering where we were etc. Will be returning with other family and do advise visiting.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lindon-mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good points first: Dalhousie Castle is a stunning old building and you can get some beautiful photos if that's your thing. The bathroom was clean (although the shower wasn't great) and the bed was comfortable. Ummm... I think that's about it for the positives, unfortunately the bad points far outweigh the good points about this hotel.

Most of the staff were unfriendly, the "bar" wasn't really a bar (had to phone a very busy man to come up and pour a drink each time), the food was mediocre, and the cooked breakfast was particularly bad as it wasn't even hot. The biggest disappointment though was the spa. It was tiny, dirty and half of it seemed to be out of order.

I wouldn't stay here again unless someone else was paying, and even then I'd rather not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woebegone_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was really looking forward to staying at Dalhousie Castle, for the last night of a great trip to Scotland, but was very disappointed. The castle itself looks great, but it has an air of being unloved, with a lack of attention to detail, such as:

A nice flower arrangement on the reception desk, but some of the flowers were dead
No details about the history of the castle - i see in a previous review that these were there before, but have been taken down.
The room - very disappointing - shabby furniture with worn carpets and wallpaper, bathroom with mouldy sealant around the bath.
Staff are all friendly but not well trained, seemed unfamiliar with their own menu, delivered our bottle of wine to the table and left it uncorked - this may be small, but when you're paying the prices they are charging, it should be a lot better.
The evening meal in the orangery was poor, although breakfast was good

From a converstaion with one of the staff, we found out that there has recently been a change of ownership, and that there is some money to be spent, but it will need a lot of money to improve if all the rooms were as shabby as ours.

We didn't use the spa, so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: It seems the themed rooms are better, but much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennySMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights to attend a wedding, we arrived on the Friday an hour and half before we could get into our room as our flight was early and getting the hire car etc. had been quicker than we expected. We asked if we could get into our room early, however, the receptionist did not try and accommodate this, even though it has been vacated she would not ask house keeping to go to the room next which was a little disappointing. While we waited we went for a walk through the forests which was lovely as it was a very sunny day.

When we got to the room, it was huge, although a little worn. We were right at the top of the hotel, which was good exercise, but also meant that the windows were very small and one of them was too high to reach so at times it was too warm. The bed was large but you could feel the springs so was either cheap or old. There was a sofa and chair in the lounge area which were extremely old and worn and there was a small TV. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure was good.

We used the spa, which was very relaxing we were the only people in there, and it had recently been refurbished. It is worth popping in, but I wouldn't make a special trip to use the facilities that are included in the room rate.

Breakfast was very good, although a little too formal. They had a cold buffet of cereal and continental breakfast and then a hot breakfast could be ordered. I personally prefer a hot buffet, but the food was very good.

Overall this hotel is very nice, it is a relaxing place to go as there is nothing within walking distance. It desperately needs updating and I would have been disappointed if we had to pay full price for the room as I do not feel that it would have been worth that. Luckily we got a special wedding rate.

The wedding itself was fantastic, its a beautiful venue, the service was good and the food was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxandsightsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Okay, I did not stay in the castle hotel but I did fly a hawk and it was awesome! The castle is far from anything, so you will need a car! We took the bus, from Waverly Train station, and then walked from the bus stop to the castle. It was a long walk! The grounds are lovely! The staff is friendly! The birds are wonderful! The Hawk Walk was well worth the money, and the time, and effort to get there! Loved it!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view since there really is nothing around except the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyc270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
964 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,127 reviews
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Dalhousie Castle Scotland/Bonnyrigg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing