We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited in 1998 but need to share!!”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
“Visited in 1998 but need to share!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had no reservations but the staff put the 3 of us in one room by our request!! Needed to stay in a castle! We had cocktails in the library before our fabulous dinner! Happened to meet the Laird during after dinner cocktails (did not know who he was) but told our story and how happy we were to be there. He left and came back with the key to his private suite and gave it to us!!!! We got a private tour of the haunted castle and had an absolutely marvelous time. I still dream of going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    346
    186
    91
    88
See reviews for
222
751
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on 13 December for a surprise bithday for my wife.

The staff were courteous and polite upon arrival, provided all the relevant information we required.

Our room was the William Wallace room which was super, it has a balcony leading out onto the castle roof & although the weather and season meant that it could not be fully enjoyed it was still a fantastic quirky added attraction.

The staff put a bottle of bubbly with ice in our room at no extra charge, for my wife's birthday, a lovely touch.

The room was full of character, it was large, with a superb bed.

We tried the spa which was great, one drawback was no staff member was on hand to provide towels etc. the Turkish bath was a surprise & we both thoroughly enjoyed that, well worth a visit...

The dungeon resturant was fantastic, the food was excellent although very overpriced, not enough selection for me though.

We decided to have our breakfast brought to our room (at no extra charge) it was first class, with everything we asked for.

Overall a lovely place, probably better experienced at a better time of the year to fully experience the walks etc.

Not far away from a top hotel

Bravo to the staff!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed at many hotels in my life and this is something else.
From the minute you enter they are offering to help in every way but not in a pushy way.
It was a bitterly cold night but we had a quick look around in the dark and they said that after checkout we could stay on to looked around.
We did so and was shown around saw the birds out of their cages and the areas and was told about the history and some stories.
Had seen about the ghost on the internet but did not perhaps unfortunately meet her.
The dinner in the dungeon was faultless and what a fantastic chef left us having eaten too much.
We then retired to our themed room wit giant 4 poster bed.
This is a place will never be forgotten by us.
Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Must have a 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabby289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I felt the need to write this review after seeing so many negative reviews about this lovely hotel. We have just returned from a weekend to celebrate our first wedding anniversary booked through a offer on secret escapes. The castle itself is of course beautiful and on check in the friendly and attentive desk clerk on hearing it was our anniversary automatically upgraded us to the Sir Walter Scott room, which had a beautiful four poster bed and view of the river and grounds. I have to admit the hotel is a little run down in places but it just adds to the whole shabby-chic feel of the place, however If you are used to sleek boutique city hotels, it may not be the place for you.The spa facilities were in excellent and in full working order and both days we had the place to ourselves, as the facilities are free to residents make sure you pack your swimming gear to make use of these.
We dined in the castle both nights and although the food was expensive it was excellent and the service was friendly, attentive and efficient, We even had a lovely breakfast in bed in our room for no extra charge. The grounds are really beautiful and if you bring your walking boots and head down the river you can spot squirrels and deer and we were even lucky enough to catch a glimpse of some otters !
If you are interested in the ghostly aspects of the hotel track down Peter the night porter, a truly amazing character who took us on a full guided tour of the castle at midnight for no charge. He also informed us the best rooms to experience bumps in the night are The William Wallace Suite and the Robert the Bruce room.
All told it was an amazing weekend that I would recommend to anyone, thank you Dalhousie!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We recently booked a one night/dinner stay in a theme room and it was great! The castle is beautiful and the room was very nice and very comfortable. The dinner in the dungeon, was excellent. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_Traveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in October. The outside of the castle and grounds are lovely but step inside and it all changes. The rooms are tired and shabby, wall paper peeling away, corner paint and skirting boards chipped away, carpet frayed and mildew in the bathroom. So not a great start before you even start on the service and quality of food...

In the bar the our drink order was initially wrong and they refused to light the fire as it wasn't cold enough (in late October....), all done with no sense of charm or manners. At breakfast in the morning I had to go and find someone to take our order and then had a gruff response for doing so. But the worst part was dinner in the dungeon. The dungeon itself was a characterful (if not a little cheesy) area and the staff here we're good. However the food was at best mediocre and the hotel charge Michelin star prices for it - over £30 for a main course and £15 for a starter which would cost half that for better food in and better restaurant in Edinburgh.

This hotel is there to take advantage of tourists who want "to stay in a castle". Please do not go here - it represents the worst of Scottish and British tourism and takes a large chunk of money for the pleasure. There are countless more beautiful hotels with much better service and tastier food and ambience in Scotland - in fact we were in Edinburgh the next night and stayed in a much nicer hotel and ate delicious food for half the price, let alone what you can find if you venture to the highlands.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Booked a one night stay elsewhere through Laterooms, but the booking couldn't be honoured and was referred to Dalhousie as an equivalent.

The Castle itself is beautiful upon arrival. Interior decoration is appropriate, although tired in places.
Our room had a beautiful view over the woods/fields, and had all expected features. Very comfortable.

We did not dine, but the menu for the Dungeon restaurant looked good.

We had a a drink in the library bar, but the member of staff serving was quite abrupt. The only downside to our stay.

Breakfast was lovely, and as we sat in the Orangery we say a few deer playing the adjacent fields.

On a final positive note, on checkout our drinks were given on a complimentary basis, as these had not been registered to our room.

Room Tip: Room 23 would be great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiserfarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Dalhousie Castle Scotland/Bonnyrigg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing