We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Scotland”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
La Grange, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 nights in Scotland”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, 11 yr. old son & I traveled to London, Edinburgh & Paris for a whirlwind 12 day European vacation. We stayed at Dalhousie when we went visited Edinburgh. We could have stayed closer to the city but thought it would be great fun for our son to stay in a castle. And it was. He loved looking at the swords and armor in the Dungeon Restaurant. The grounds were very well maintained. The falconry was spectacular. It was very relaxing and a beautifully appointed room. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Queen of Scots suite. There is an adjoining room with a pull out sofa for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiTownVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    347
    186
    92
    89
See reviews for
223
758
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Dalhousie castle for 5 nights. This is an experience in itself. The castle is beautiful, rooms are very spacious. The rooms are very well equipped with all modern facilities. Staff was very helpful. We had our 10 month old infant with us, so we needed a few extra services and the staff was always ready to help. The Dalhousie castle is a must visit during your Scotland trip.
One small suggestion would be to add Wi Fi at the Dower House cause walking up everytime to the main castle for internet can be a task.
Bonnyrigg is just a 5 minute drive away and you can find a lot of convenience stores, take out restaurants, etc which is again very convenient.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Dower House choose the Ground Floor rooms as you get a large conservatory all to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chirag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We discovered this castle by accident and were very pleasantly surprised by its great Scottish baronial character and interior decor. There was a falconry exhibition going on outside, which also impressed us. We had lunch in the orangerie, which was nicely decorated although some of the upholstery seemed a little past its best. Unfortunately this appeared to be some way from the kitchen and was a little short staffed. Our Cullen Skink soup was not authentic, although that's not unusual. I had a simple steamed fish dish, which was pleasant, but my husband ordered the pie of the day which arrived in three small airline-style serving dishes placed on a wooden board, which made it look cheap and was impossible to eat from without ordering a plate. (Hotels take note, people don't generally like this, please serve meals on proper plates) The pie was also very greasy and disappointing. Overall though it was fine for an un-booked Monday lunch. The hotel has great potential as a venue for romantic weekend breaks or as a small wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

There were three couples traveling in our group. While in Scotland, we decided we wanted to stay one night in a castle but were apprehensive about the value - we had a great experience at Dalhousie Castle. We only wish we had more time to enjoy all the ammenities and the grounds.

As we were unsure of dining availability in the area, we opted for the 'Dinner, Bed & Breakfast' package (195 Pounds) at the hotel. We enjoyed cocktails in the library, had a great meal and entertaining dining in the Dungeon restaurant and afterwards, exploring the various rooms in the castle. The breakfast room had magnificent vistas of the grounds complete with deer, and the food was very good with lots of choices.

We stayed in the 'Lady Catherine' room which was clean, modern, well equipped, an excellent view of the grounds and adequate size.

The grounds with the falconry were very well kept. We enjoyed walking and exploring the expansive lawns and pathways.

Overall a majestic castle experience. It was everything we had hoped for!

Tip: If using a vehicle GPS, input postal code not the address.

Room Tip: Lady Catherine Room had excellent view of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited the castle in August 2013. First appearances are very appealing, the grounds are nicely tucked away and well kept and the castle stands proudly at the end of the drive.
Staff were pleasant and polite throughout and on arrival in our room I initially thought I had gone through the wrong door, the long corridor stretching out before me leading to a magnificent round turret room that is beautifully adourned and complete with four poster bed and furniture fitting with the age of the room.
We were disappointed with the state of certain elements in the room, such as the carpet. There were many marks and stains, clearly the carpet needs replacing and the same could be said of some of the upholstery in the room.
We ate out in the evening but on returning we enjoyed a couple of drinks in the library bar. This is exactly what is says on the tin, a library which is small and intimate. Don’t expect cocktails or sambucas, but if you enjoy whiskey or wine then you will find something for you. It makes you feel quite grand, enjoying a drambuie in the grand setting.
Breakfast was served in the orangery which has a lovely view across the gardens, although the food selection is not sparse, I also didn’t particularly enjoy breakfast. If you don’t want cooked then you are left with cereal or a few choices of pastries.
Overall, staying in the castle was a nice experience and from afar it was beautiful and a very niche experience. However, the hotel appears to me to sell itself as higher end accommodation, I paid in excess of £120 for the night and I do not feel it was value for money, in that there is some work required on the rooms to update them – my wife wouldn’t even walk around bare foot in our room. The age old adage of ‘could be better’ applies here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsabigplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was at a very good friends wedding in August at Dalhousie and safe to say it was possibly the best weddings I have been at!

The staff were very helpful! I would definitely recommend people consider Dalhousie as one of their wedding venues!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillyflynnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved the grounds, which are wonderful to get out too, and walk around. We walked to the folly and had a bottle of bubbly in the very atmospheric setting. It 's a fab place for taking photos. We found the staff very nice, and the breakfast very tasty, and filling. I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyp1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
961 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Dalhousie Castle Scotland/Bonnyrigg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing