We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A welcoming Scottish castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A welcoming Scottish castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Dalhousie Castle offers the opportunity to stay in a real castle. From its long drive, the exterior of the castle is imposing, standing in extensive grounds with lovely views over the surrounding area. The welcome at reception is warm and efficient and Alastair, the concierge, professeional and experienced. He carried our cases to our rooms and stayed to chat about our stay. Remember this is a very old building and there are several floors without lifts, wandering corridors, and the bar is called the Library, so you may get lost. The food at breakfast is varied and ample, with kipper and porridge for those who would like a real Scottish flavour. The evening meal in the Dungeon restaurant is excellent. This is fine dining and the cost reflects this. Relax in the Library after dinner with a malt whisky, and you will have had a very good evening. Just one word of caution, should you book with an agency offering a considerable discount (we booked with Secret Escapes) then you may be accommodated in a room on the top floor requiring refurbishment. Although this is ongoing currently, our room was badly needing it with threadbare carpets and a dismal decoration, but with excellent views. The location is very good for visits to Edinburgh, and the staff are happy to help with suggestions of where else to visit in the area. If driving to Edinburgh then you may want to make use of the Park and Ride facilities as driving in the Scottish Capital is problematic.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in need of refurbhisment, so check if booking via a discount agency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    298
    153
    73
    64
See reviews for
181
614
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

driving to the castle on arrival was amazing it was all lit up and very impressive looking but walking through the main door and looking up at the size of the place wow!!! the negtive would be the threadbare carpet in room 18 but it would take some job to get that massive bed out of the room to replace it!! we booked in for 2 nights (thank god one wouldn't have been enough) you have to go to the library room pre-dinner which is nice where you relax and order your food before being taken down by the waiter to the very impressive dungeon for your meal,you are then given fantastic service by the very attentive and friendly staff, food is of a very high standard indeed but very posh, the spa room was a bit dissapointing, the steam room is good but sauna is too hot to sit down, edinburgh is 20 mins away so its nice to visit after the best breakfast you will ever get, the manager told me the haggis and black pudding are from stornaway brilliant taste as is the potato scone yummy!!! the history of the castle is amazing and will facinate you, all in all a magic weekend and i will be back again without doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muzakmanglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Service was great. Breakfast was amazing. Location was good too. It was outside Edinburgh but you can get a regular bus that takes you to the city in less than an hour. The castle/hotel is a quite run down though. I know its meant to be old and that's part of the charm but the some fabric of the furniture is stained/ripped. Its not what I expected for the money they charge. It needs a little TLC. The spa came in handy and is very good for relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from spending 2 nights at the Castle for Valentines... I cannot compliment this hotel enough... the castle is unspoilt and the most fabulous setting! The staff were ALL fantastic and couldn't do enough for you! The food is out of this world, from the lunch in the conservatory to the amazing Valentines meal in the Dungeon... We used the spa and although small it was quiet and a nice relaxing couple of hours! We walked around the Falconry which is free and explored the beautiful grounds.. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to the castle in fact I cannot wait to return! The library is so relaxing and taking afternoon tea in front of the fire is perfect.... Fantastic place - Everyone should visit!!

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to one of the theme rooms I would say it would be worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan&Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Though our stay was part of tracing ancient family history, this place is brilliant. Top accomodation, brilliant service and a magical setting, we had the best three nights of our four week United Kingdom holiday. The food is wonderful and great value, the service five star and everything is clean, well presented and up to date. A MUST if you are anywhere near, with easy access to Edinburgh and Roslyn chapel. Also a place to just stay, with walks, a creek and falconry on site, as well as the spa, beauty and massage facilities. We will make a point of staying here again next time we visit the UK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for a Burns Night celebration, which wasn't as 'traditional' as I hoped. Never the less, a wonderful stay, lovely room, friendly, helpful people, great bar and fabulous scenery. I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanieGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the castle for three nights in Feb 2013 for a special birthday treat. The building itself is full of charm and quirky features - our room was a themed room, it was clean and nicely decorated but it is due for a spruce up as parts were 'worn'. The bar is in the library and we enjoyed two afternoons drinking in there by the open fire. We spent an afternoon in the Spa and had one of the Dalhousie Signature Treatments, Lynn my therapist on the day did an amazing job and the treatments are well worth the money. We opted for the train and left the car at home so we were reliant on public transport to get into Edinburgh - we were disappointed that the average taxi fare into Edinburgh was £24! However, we did try the local bus service though which is great, £1.40 for a fare into Edinburgh (with just a 1/2 mile walk to the nearest Bonnyrigg bus stop, worth the stroll!). The staff were pleasant, polite and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. If you are looking for a place to stay that's out of the ordinary this is the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina1973_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#1 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Prestonfield
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,126 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#20 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Dalhousie Castle Scotland/Bonnyrigg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing