We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location which is very atmospheric ,”
Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Great break which unfortunately did not live up to the full expectation from the web site, unfortunately the hydro pool was closed which I was advised of day before travelling , however after getting to our room reception called to advise the entire spa was closed due to a technical issue, these things happen I suppose
We went to explore the hotel and go for a drink, the "library" bar with the concealed bar was closed for renovation( not advised of), polite staff ushered us into the " wolhsley" room and offered us drinks, only to sit in a room with no background music or atmosphere, in fact the manager and owner were having a meeting discussing their strategy and cost saving plans, surely not what a guest wishes to hear, made us quite uncomfortable , however as we had ordered a bottle of wine we tried to ignore , room was like a real library with the " meeting" and our conversation hushed, a bit bizarre
As advertised in the web site, we expected to have pre dinner drinks in the real library and order our meal, unfortunately we were ushered again into the other room which by this time was like a dentists waiting room with other guests whispering their conversation

We dined in the Dungeon restaurant which was exceptional, service and food fantastic, absolutely first class
We retired to our room after the meal as we did not fancy enduring another visit to the dentists waiting room

Could have been an outstanding visit and birthday celebration for my wife but was marred by the lack of facilities available

Rooms are atmospheric with period features and furniture, previous reports/ pictures complain of this, if you book a 13th century castle what would you expect, it was very clean if dated
We stayed in the Cockpen room which had a roof terrace with a table and chairs, in summer this would be fantastic, recommend to ask for



  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephennPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a fantastic castle retreat, we booked a suite for a family of four for one nights stay as we were passing through but I really wished we had stayed longer and could enjoy the fantastic facilities and activities on offer.
The castle itself is very impressive.
The room we had was amazing and huge, furnished brilliantly and the 4 poster bed was excellent.
The staff were friendly and pleasant as you would expect.
Having young kids we chose to eat in the Orangery restaurant and were very impressed. It was the best steak I had on the whole trip and the desert was divine.

All in all I thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jarrod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at this first class Castle/Hotel. The staff were hard working and attentive, the food was great and the entertainment was more than what we expected. We loved everything about the Castle! The spa was an added treat that made the stay even better. If you are ever in the Edinburgh area and want a fantastic place to stay - Dalhousie is it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We decided to drive from London to Edinburgh on a whim, and the night before arriving in Edinburgh, booked a themed castle room at the Dalhousie Castle Hotel, with little more to go on than the star rating and the fact it was a castle - who can resist the fact it's a real castle... we sure couldn't!

This weekend was a real treat for us, a little more than we would usually spend on accommodation (£125 per night), but since it was a real castle...

Our purpose of visiting Edinburgh was purely to sightsee - Edinburgh Castle, Camera Obscura and Mary Kings Close were on the cards - so the location of Dalhousie Castle Hotel probably wasn't best for this if we didn't have our own car, but was fine with it.

We also didn't get any time to use the spa facilities which was unfortunate, so I can't comment on those.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted at reception, taken to our room and shown around the castle a wee bit. Our room was lovely (Dalwolsie - Room 16), with a long bedroom, a turret where you could drink your tea and coffee, and a spacious bathroom, with a great shower! The tv was of average size (definitely not large) and on a funny kind of angle for the bed, but was still fine for viewing. The views from the bedroom were overlooking the stream and nearby paddocks.

The rooms aren't incredibly soundproof, I could often hear the couple in the next room talking, although I couldn't make out any words or anything, and one night I was sure I heard one of them snoring... or could that have been a ghost... who knows.

Breakfast was included in our booking, they had a continental selection of meats, cheeses, pastries etc, and you could order cooked breakfast as well - traditional scottish (eggs, bacon, black pudding etc etc)and porridge... yum porridge! The breakfast was held in the Orangery, which has lovely views over the stream and paddocks.

We had drinks in the Library both nights, and it's gorgeous in there. Comfortable and warm, the staff are also very attentive. I think though they could do with some more board games or a pack of cards for something more to do than read an 1876 encyclopedia though :o)

On our last night we booked dinner at the Dungeon, and WOW... we were so impressed. Everything was impeccable, the service, the atmosphere, the food... oh the food. We were treated to two small dishes, compliments of the chef, additional to our ordered meals and they were beautiful. I would definitely eat there again if I was ever in Edinburgh. We pretty much had to roll ourselves out of the dungeon by the time we had finished, we were so incredibly full, but so satisfied.

In summary, we really enjoyed our trip to Edinburgh and especially our stay at the castle, we really felt like we were being treated the whole time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wickedwomandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had booked a two night stay at Dalhousie Castle as we would be attending the funeral of a very close family member from nearby. We had booked what was described as a standard double room, and all we could say was "Good grief, if this is a standard double, whatever must the suites be like"! A lovely sized room - with a king size four poster bed! So here's what we found in the room (apart from the bed); tea/coffee making facilities (with an impressively clean kettle - i.e. no limescale) and lovely biscuits which we suspect may have been made in the hotel kitchen(??); more than enough wooden coathangers in the wardrobe, which also contained an iron and ironing board, electric heater, huge electric fan, hairdryer, a bag for dirty linen, shoe cleaning stuff, a sewing kit, extra pillows an extra blanket, AND enough space to hang all our stuff. There was also a chest of drawers, dressing table, bedside tables (each with a complimentary bottle of water, two low but very comfy chairs, a coffee table, telephone and television (with a lot of channels). The bathroom was large, with a sink, toilet, and bath with a large shower over it; a heated towel rail with massive fluffy white towels, complimentary lotions and potions, fluffy white bathrobes, and slippers. The room was warm (the heating comes on automatically when you enter); and the bathroom was very cosy - no problem with goosebumps when you stepped out from the shower! We had a full breakfast (which was large enough to sustain us until much later in the day) on both days, in the Orangery There was also fruit, cereal, toast etc. available as well as the makings of a continental breakfast for those who wanted it. Every member of staff we interacted with was delightful...they could not have been nicer or more helpful. We didn't get the chance to use the spa as it closed at 6pm and our schedule didn't allow for us to get back in time; nor did we eat dinner at the Castle so we can't comment on how the food was. We did manage a few drinks in the Library Bar which was a lovely room, made even nicer by the very large open fire, and were pleasantly surprised to find that the drinks were quite reasonably priced. Now for the negatives....come on, would you really expect such a beautiful old building to be pristine? It's all a matter of perspective and any decorative "inadequacies" that anyone else may point out did not detract from our stay at all. A 100% CASTLE - from the sweeping double staircase, to the amazing furniture scattered around, to (what looked like to us) original tapestries, battlements, turrets, at least five small canons, and bucket loads of character! All in all our stay at Dalhousie Castle managed to take the "sting" out of what had been a very sad and emotional occasion - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dixona99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

liked it very much. We used the spa, there was no pressure to leave and we loved the falconry area. Lots of different birds The Gardens are very atmospheric. The only negative is the wine list is small so not much to choose from

Room Tip: pay as much as you can afford they have some 4 poster beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca99186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just had my daughter's wedding on 12/12/12 at Dalhousie Castle. The entire wedding was professionally managed by Mhari and Graham.
Fine dining , atmospheric surroundings and attentive staff made for the perfect wedding.

Room Tip: The rooms are all individual and interestingly furnished. It IS a castle, though, so some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
2.4 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,009 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
6 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,179 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range: $105 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Dalhousie Castle Scotland/Bonnyrigg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing