We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at Dalhousie”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalhousie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dalhousie Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Dalhousie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2007

After much deliberation (mixed reviews from previous guests), we finally bit the bullet and booked Dalhousie Castle for my husbands 60th birthday. I am glad to report that we weren't disappointed and had a wonderful, romantic stay.

We chose the Cockpen themed 4 poster room so that we could enjoy our own private battlement balcony, overlooking beautiful countryside. The room, though not huge, was reasonably spacious, but the bed was larger than a King size and very comfortable (if you like a fairly firm bed).

We took pre-dinner drinks in the library - a lovely room with an open fire and plenty of character. Dinner was in the Dungeon. We eat out a lot, but can honestly say that this was one of the most outstanding meals we have ever experienced. The Aberdeen Angus fillet was to die for! The Dungeon itself is fascinating and although in the basement, was warm and pleasant.

Breakfast was in the Orangery - a bright airy conservatory overlooking the river and countryside beyond. After eating this substantial meal, we didn't need to eat again until tea time!

All in all, a fantastic experience (albeit expensive) and I would thoroughly recommend a visit to anyone.

  • Liked — huge bed and beautiful views
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    336
    180
    89
    86
See reviews for
214
730
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

First of all, do not book a room in the Lodge! It is described as a 100 yr old lodge, tucked away from the castle and implies decor/ambience in keeping with the age. We arrived and the building could have been erected last year, the rooms could have been in any average hotel, ours was in the eaves with trees as our view. As we had booked what we thought was a romantic weekend away (at some cost) we were sorely disappointed. After speaking with the Reception and paying for an upgrade we found ourselves in the Cockpen Room. what a difference - fabulous! With a private terrace to boot. The staff were fantastic,the food was out of this world (if overpriced in the Orangery, they have a captive audience, no need for the prices)the dungeon was well worth the experience. Afternoon tea was great, infront of the fire in the library.
The spa was lovely, however, again with price - it is very small and you have to pay extra for the therapy pool. if guests have booked a rasul treatment it also puts the sauna out of bounds for 30 mins, you have a choice of foot bath, steam room, tropical shower and relaxation area.
Having said that, we did have a fabulous time, relaxing and wandering the grounds visiting the falconry centre. Only because we were able to change rooms.

  • Liked — the private terrace/ the food
  • Disliked — the lodge rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ohsobright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

My husband and I married at Dalhousie Castle in October 2007 after getting engaged there in April 2006. We had the most amazing day! The venue was fantastic and we are so glad we booked it for our special day. We will definitely go back for anniversaries and special occasions!

The staff knew I was the bride and made such an effort to look after me, they could not do more and responded to any requests I had instantly. I felt like a celebrity - like I was the only guest there! Everything was as we imagined… the owl, Lily, behaved and delivered our wedding rings without a hitch… the drinks reception was great and the canapés went down a storm. Our wedding breakfast was delicious and even a month later people are commenting on how great the food was. We had soup to begin with, Aberdeen Angus Fillet Steak and then Dalhousie allowed us to create our own dessert menu of 3 mini portions of our favourite desserts. Bacon rolls were served in the evening and our guests thought they were a great touch. We were allowed to serve cake & cheese that we had brought in ourselves, not many wedding venues would allow that! The ‘on the day’ wedding coordinator, Liz, was amazing. She is without a doubt one of Dalhousie’s best assets. Our day would NOT have run as smooth and problem free as it did without Liz. She put up with so much from us and our families… a crying Groom, a drunk Father of the Bride, a rowdy group of men watching England play in the rugby world cup final… and a bunch of drunken English lads in kilts desperate to show the world their crown jewels!!!

We didn’t stay in the honeymoon suite - I found it a bit eerie and dark so we opted to stay in the Mary Queen of Scots. It’s a lovely room, well decorated, huge and very clean. Oh and if you hear music in your room its coming from the TV - took us ages to work that out!!!

In terms of other things… when we stayed the night we got engaged I used the Spa and I also used the Spa the day before our wedding. I had a treatment on each visit and they were brilliant, really nice and relaxing. We put on a falconry display for our wedding guests, it went down well and they all got really involved.

I can’t recommend Dalhousie Castle enough!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsJoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

My husband and I got married in Dalhousie Castle in July 2007. When we first saw Dalhousie castle we knew it was for us, real traditional scottish castle with lovely grounds. The wedding charges are expensive however we thought it would be worth it for the location, the mention of exceptional cuisine and unparalleled service.

Well the big day came and went and what can I say, the exceptional cuisine - absolutely terrible could have honestly produced something better myself and believe me im no chef, watery soup, cold potatoes, tough beef - and the unparalleled service - total joke the staff were untrained, slow, there wasnt enough of them not to mention the management didnt seem to have a clue - such a disappointment.

With regards to the rooms we mainly had themed rooms and they are really nice but far too expensive for what they are and the standard room well there standard ..........and not what you'd expect for the prices. Having booked a large wedding and the money we paid you'd expect wedding guests to get a large discount of the rooms on the night however all they offer is 10% which is really sub standard compared to other wedding venues.

So word of warning, for a wedding - location isnt everything and if you want exceptional cuisine and unparrelleled service dont book Dalhousie Castle.

  • Disliked — Way too expensive for what you get
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lifra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

Stayed for 4 nights in June...most expensive ($420 a night),and least enjoyable of the 4 castles we stayed at...102, yes 102 steps from our room to breakfast and 102 steps back....sherpas with water stops along the way would help...food was grossly overpriced and relatively tasteless...background music with show tunes fron the 60's on an endless loop for the first 3 days..... had to actually request that the music be changed after the third day or I was afraid we would lose our minds....grounds are beautiful, as is the castle, but the room was so small we had to keep our bags in the small entryway...found great food ( Chinese and Indian )short drives away without 102 steps....a popular castle, but many of the guests could be heard complaining....passed an elderly woman going up the stairs as we went down for breakfast....her exact words were..." If you don't have arthritis when you come, you'll have it by the time you leave"...sort of says it all.

  • Liked — the grounds
  • Disliked — the food, the price, the room, the steps..
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tabicma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

We have just come back from a 2-night stay at the Dalhousie Castle hotel and I have to say it's the best hotel, and setting, I have stayed at in the UK.

The setting is breathtaking and the grounds of the castle are beautiful. There is a falconry within the ground with an incredible array of birds of prey, including what must be one of the biggest owls on the planet!

The castle itself consists of many themed rooms. We were lucky to stay in the William Wallace suite and, while it was a bit of a trek getting to the top floor, it was well worth it. The room was wonderfully decorated and the view from the top of the castle was something else. We even had a sun deck and enjoyed sitting, reading and drinking wine up there.

The staff are one of the biggest assets of the place and they always work well and with a nice warmth and friendliness. The food is incredible here too. The scottish breakfast kept me going til the evening, and the quality of the food in the Dungeon Restaurant is of the absolute highest quality. Try the Angus Beef Fillet - it's possibly the best food I've ever had, definitely in the top 3 meals ever too.

Finally, the spa is a lovely place to relax for an hour or two. The steam rooms are superb and are an ideal way to relax.

All-in-all, this is a truly top quality place to stay. As previous reviewers have ststaed, it's not the cheapest but it is quite possibly the best.

  • Liked — Staff, food, setting, room.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Rosh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

just returned from a two night stay at Dalhousie Castle which was the venue for our Son's wedding.

We had a perfect day both with our stay at the castle and the weather. All the Staff were friendly and attentive to our needs, we had five lively children with us the eldest being eight and they were allowed to explore the castle and enjoyed running round the extensive grounds.

The Piper piped all the guests into the chapel and while we waited, he collected the Bride and Bridesmaids from the Honeymoon Suite, we could just hear the pipes in the distance which increased in sound as they neared the chapel. We had the rings flown in by Owl which had apparently appeared in one of the Harry Potter films.

All in all a perfect day. Yes it is expensive but, for the unique setting, it was worth it.

  • Liked — The experience of staying in a castle
  • Disliked — Our granddaughter 18mnths in room at top of castle
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Property: Dalhousie Castle
Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnyrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Dalhousie Castle Scotland/Bonnyrigg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing