We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit this pub. It's great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke of Wellington

Duke of Wellington
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Willingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit this pub. It's great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Been popping in here for the last few weeks, as I've been staying over in the village for work.

It's a great pub.

Why?

1) Very friendly welcome. Always a good smile and chat from the staff.
2) Good beer. Fine selection of real ales, some served straight from the cask. Spoilt for choice.
3) Pie & mash. Homemade with gravy. Need I say more?

I'll be popping in again next week. And the week after......

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulC237_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Proper pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friendly, welcoming and happy to accommodate my gluten-free needs (although I would have liked to have tried the pies with a gluten-free pastry) with alternative menu items. Excellent beer, friendly locals, good service in spite of the busyness, roaring log fire for a cold night and a warm welcome to match.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, really friendly staff and nice ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a meal lovely here with 2 friends and we enjoyed starters and main meals and were so full up we couldn't manage a pudding! The pies in particular were delicious. The staff greeted us with smiles and chat and were attentive all evening, without being intrusive. I will definitely be coming back for another pie!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyNearCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service, delicious mixed bread with oil starter, Italian salad on Ciabatta was fresh with lovely ingredients and dressing.

Highly recommended. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Proper country pub...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Kerp coming back to Wellie. Warm, welcoming and friendly. Good selection of bitter, especially IPA. Great, real home made food with generous portions. Limited but quality menu.
Good large garden.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gweriniaeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Wellington also viewed

Willingham, Cambridgeshire
Willingham, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Longstanton, Cambridgeshire
 
Swavesey, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing