We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Rothley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rothley Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
Reviewed October 23, 2006

I am happy to report that I agree with the majority of reviewers of this hotel. Rothley Court is nice hotel.

Rothley Court is an impressive old building. The service and general approach to the running of the place is of a high quality. The gardens are well maintained and there is a stream and a cricket pitch over the hedge.

The dinner in the evening is superb and the breakfast is really very satisfactory.

A fascinating addition to the ‘facilities’ of the hotel is a medieval chapel of the Knights Templar.

(N.B. They don’t seem to differentiate the price between rooms in the annex and rooms in the Court its self, which is a bit odd, but it does mean that if you ask when you book you are rewarded with a paneled room in the old building at no extra cost).

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 667 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2006

We stayed at the Rothley Court to attend a wedding in the area and to be honest, we were disappointed with what looked on Tripadvisor to be a lovely hotel. We booked for a Friday night, the booking confirmation was wrong, I requested a double room on the phone, but the email confirmation stated a single room had been booked. This was quickly and efficiently rectified.
We arrived late but this, again, caused no problems. The room we had (number 19) was OK, reasonably large and well appointed, but the bathroom was tatty and in need of a refurbishment. There was extensive mildew in the typical places, and the shower leaked, but the most offensive discovery was when the handbasin was emptied, this caused the waste from the bath to bubble up and deposit foul smelling water in the bath. I wouldn't expect this in any hotel, least of all an 'upmarket' place like Rothley Court.
A quite worrying development occurred at 6.30 in the morning when the fire alarm sounded for about 15 seconds continuously, then intermittently, then it went off. I phoned reception to be told that the kitchens has burned the croissants. I have never experienced an alarm signal that was subject to interpretation and the confusion it caused could have been potentially very serious.
Breakfast was also disappointing, with long waiting times (but not a full dining room) and the english breakfast swimming in fat, and looking like it had been under hotlamps for quite a while. No toast was served to us with the breakfast, which was disappointing. the general feel was that they were understaffed and stressed.
Overall Rothley Court is a stunning building, but I would expect more from the internal decoration and the staff. We will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
11
Reviewed June 13, 2006

Stayed for three days and found it excellent. The staff were very friendly. The grounds are pleasant and the restaurant is really excellent. We had specifically asked for a quiet room and it was just that: we slept perfectly. The piped music in the lounges is a little out of keeping with the general ambience, but that's a minor point. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed April 1, 2006

Just got back from a lovely weekend away that I booked for my husband as a birthday present. I chose the Rothley Court Hotel not only because of the close proximity to Prestwold Hall which is where I had booked a morning's racing treat but because of the reviews I had already read on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to say I was not in the slightest bit disappointed!

The hotel is wonderful and the staff are really friendly and helpful,especially the General Manager, Dave Robinson. He even took the time to show us around the chapel and tell us about it's history and that of the hotel. The room was lovely and cosy with all it's original wood panelling and even had it's own balcony overlooking the grounds which were stunning with an array of ducks, rabbits and peacocks.

The restaurant was really inviting and warm with great food and had original tapestries hanging over the fireplace.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The hotel deserves more than it's three stars. We'll definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

Even though we only stayed for the one night we can honestly say that this hotel offers the very best in hospitality. The building and its history are a joy to explore and discover. Entirely worth visiting for the Temple alone. Read about the history at --------, there is far too much for me to start writing about now!
Our bedroom was a perfect blend of old charm and new facilities. The bar was almost like relaxing at home (if you owned a manor house that is!). And the very best part.... the staff - from Mr Robinson (Daniel O'Donnel/ Dylan Moran lookalike depending on your age) and his second in charge being the friendliest of hosts, along to the staff cleaning rooms being happy and smiley and even the two ladies laying tables in the dining room when we scared them appearing from the creeky Temple door, each person we met had time to say a simple hello or ask if we were ok. Simple and effective, costs nothing but meant the difference from being a faceless guest at a commercial chain-hotel to feeling like we were staying with friends while being waited on hand and foot!!

Top class all round. 10/10. Recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aberdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Aylesbury, UK
13
Reviewed May 10, 2004

Staff friendly and welcoming, food excellent and the hotel delightful. A lovely country house hotel

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2003

Spent our Silver Wedding anniversary here on 12th Aug 03. A wonderful place, lovely grounds and fantastic food. Will go back.

6  Thank 1152man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothley
2.2 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
382 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
698 reviews
7.6 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#21 of 41 in Leicester
521 reviews
18.0 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
986 reviews
5.4 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothley Court

Address: Westfield Lane, Rothley LE7 7LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Rothley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
Price Range: $80 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothley Court 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Rothley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothley Court Hotel Rothley
Rothley Court Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing