We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stay at the Rothley Court Hotel”
Review of Rothley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rothley Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great short stay at the Rothley Court Hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a short break at the Rothley Court Hotel. We thought it a very imposing place. the setting by the river was superb. Our room was faultless...very spacious, with a lovely view overlooking the garden and the river very quiet, peacful and resting.

The place is steeped in character and has an air of fading grandeur about it..which was perfect for us as we prefer this to 'corporate' hotels or ultra modern places. We loved it especially as we went on a very good value winter offer.

We ate the first night by the open fire in the small dining room and the second night at a nearby gastro pub...both were good.

The service was very good and friendly..very welcoming. Would definately return, especially in summer when you can sit out in the garden by the river.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the grounds and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    177
    98
    58
    53
See reviews for
150
248
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in the past and thought that it looked a little tired.Took advantage of a spring offer and stayed for two nights in February.The rooms seem to have been refurbished and new televisions installed.Much improved.The only thing that stopped me giving the hotel a "5" rating was the service at breakfast.The meal was very good but the staff need some customer care training.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback, as well as the current improvements that have been made we are planning a major refurbishment in the New Year. We will of course pass on all of your comments to the whole team & look at our service at breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After having a short break at the Rothley Court in Spring 2012, we couldn't resist going back! Spending 2 nights - 25/26 January - there, with glorious, sunny weather and lying snow - what a beautiful sight. Excellent breakfasts and a very nice dinner there on the Saturday evening. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The Annexe quieter when there is a wedding reception in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Great to read your comments about Rothley we will pass this on to the team & hope to see you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a really good newspaper offer, £30 per couple bed and breakfast. After reading previous reviews we were very apprehensive about what we would find but although our room (in the main house) was desperately in need of redecorating and the carpet was very dirty, at least the bathroom and sheets were very clean and we had lovely views across the grounds, the location really is lovely. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and apart from a grumpy waiter the food was really nice - hot, tasty and well presented; the sticky toffee pudding was the best I have ever tasted! Breakfast too was really nice and was served by a pleasant, friendly and helpful waitress. All in all a much better stay than expected and we would stay here again if the offer was repeated.

Room Tip: Room 10 has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is much appreciated and the negative points you have raised will be looked into. Rothley Court will be going through a refurbishment in January 2014, so we will have made vast improvements to our accommodation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here in a standard room. Upon arrival I thought the grounds were impressive and was looking forward to a nice room. Staff at reception and in the restaurant were all polite and helpful.
Unfortunately the room lacked quality and was a little tired looking. In fairness it is relatively cheap, so I can't complain too much. It's just a shame that the rooms are not up to the standard of the exterior and grounds. Also, in the annex where I was, I was awoken a couple of times by other toilets flushing or floorboards above creaking as people walked around.
I am sure it would all look great as a wedding backdrop.
Overall not high quality, but reasonable value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-and-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for your recent feedback and comment about Rothley Court accommodation.
We take on board your comments about the rooms and and thank you for your kind words regarding the team.
We are always looking at ways to improve upon standards and the feed back given and are now in the process of
planning refurbishment of these rooms which is planned to start on 1st January 2014.

Once again your comments and feedback are valued.
Paul Brice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Rothley Court provided an excellent setting for the wedding. We spent 2 nights there, eating in the restaurant on the first night- the special offer on curry night was superb both in taste & value. The staff did their upmost to help with everything from unloading wedding cakes, transferring decorations from room to room etc. The wedding was fantastic, the marriage service, blessing & wedding breakfast all passing without a hitch despite the bride arriving 15 minutes late!!! The food was excellent & service good. The DJ got everyone on the floor. All in all a fantastic day enjoyed by all. Many stayed in the hotel so breakfast was an added bonus. Good value & we will be back to relax in the magnificent surroundings. Thank you to everyone who shared & worked to provide our excellent wedding experience on valentines day.

Room Tip: Room 3 was a fantastic oak panelled room full of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeltonSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback in regards to your daughters wedding. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to give a review and look forward to seeing you in the very near future I will also pass your thanks onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's the first time I've felt the need to do an on-line review, but my sisters wedding day really could not have gone better.

It's a really impressive building, full of history and character. Perfect backdrop for the photos. We stayed in the main hotel, while some of the guests stayed in the mews (a 70's/80's built annex detached from the main building).

The staff trod the line between being professional and efficient, while also making us all feel welcome and at home. Special mentions for Jason and Alicia who we dealt with regularly and did a cracking job. The DJ was supplied by the hotel, and he had us dancing through the night. I was aching in the morning!

The whole family met over breakfast the following day and I can honestly say no one had a bad word to say. And I have a very picky family!

Overall a brilliant day. If I ever take the plunge Rothley Court will definitely be in with a shout.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothley
2.3 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
335 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
654 reviews
18.0 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#17 of 40 in Leicester
490 reviews
5.4 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
694 reviews
7.6 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothley Court

Property: Rothley Court
Address: Westfield Lane, Rothley LE7 7LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Rothley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothley Court 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rothley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothley Court Hotel Rothley
Rothley Court Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing