We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graced by arrogance but overall a very nice place.”
Review of Rothley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rothley Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed back in april the first time and had a very enjoyable stay, but now management has changed and we feel the New management arrogant and extremely rude , with a poor sense of hygiene.Two members of staff, Becky and Thomas, on different shifts, were very helpful and genuinely very friendly, others were not good.The food was not great either, which we both thought had been sat there waiting whilst members of staff were talking to each other. The place itself is in a lovely location and will return but hope for much better from the new faces that have graced this lovely hotel. Overall a very nice historical hotel with proper English heritage.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindyb136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Rothley Court, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Rothley Court Hotel. Firstly we need to apologise for the service you received from us of which we can assure you this was not our usual standard. We do take all guest feedback very seriously and all will be relayed onto the team. We do sincerely apologise and hope you will return to us here at Rothley Court Hotel and experience our usual high standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 668 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night following a wedding reception (our son's) We had a standard room (no upgrades left when we booked), which was right at the top of the old main building, so up two flights of stairs. Not a problem for us, but could be to anybody less able.
We like these garrett rooms, with sloping ceilings and creaky floorboards. The room was very big, with windows to three sides, one overlooking the garden and river. It had a comfy king-size bed, a settee and a few period pieces. The bathroom was also very big, and well-appointed.
The public lounges are very comfortable, with big chesterfields and log fires. The reception (for 60) was held in the chapel, which is a stunning setting, but it was freezing cold, despite halogen heaters dotted around. This was the only downside to the whole function, because the food and service were excellent, and the staff seemed genuinely friendly.
After the meal, we repaired to the lounges, and, later, the disco.
Breakfast was served in the main restaurant area, had huge choice, and was excellent.

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility limitations shold avoid the second floor, as the staircase is awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigal257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Having not visited for many years, we dined here recently and found the food very good and exceptional value. The surroundings are gorgeous, so much to see with a country house feel. The staff were attentive and efficient but somehow, unfortunately, the place seems to have lost some of the unique atmosphere which it used to have. It is well worth a visit, especially with the special offers on, but needs some attention to detail to reclaim its full recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheelagh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Rothley Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us and we do hope you will visit us again. Please be assured that all feedback does get relayed back to team in order to improve all guests visits. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It's now a year since we stayed here and we are still waiting for a response to our complaint. We stayed here as part of the Old English Inns promotion from Olive magazine - £99 for 2 nights including breakfast. It sounded like a wonderful deal - but we were definitely the second class citizens in the hotel. We were put in a room in the annex - scruffy, not that clean and the window was so rotten that if we had leaned on it the glass would have fallen out! It was a cold night and the cold came straight through the gap in the window frame. Also the junior staff from a company Christmas party were booked in here and spent hours shouting, swearing, slamming doors, running up and down the corridor....they were so intimidating we called reception but had no response. There was no one in managemnt to take our complaint the next day so we pt a note in the feedback box but never heard. The breakfast was good... It does mean we will never use the Old English Inns offer again so may miss out on some potentially good hotels, but we don't want to risk receiving the same treatment. Please not I had to say I stayed in January 2012 but in fact it was December 2011 - but seeing that it is still in the promotion I felt I had to warn people!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Rothley Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on that occasion last year. We would like to make you aware that we will relay your feedback to the team and hope that you will return to us in the future as since your last visit we have made a number of changes. Thank you again for raising these issues with us and we will aim to rectify these points in order for our guests to have the best visit possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked our daughter wedding here 12months ago,after reading some of the reviews i was begining to think we had made a mistake ,well how wrong was i.
From the moment we arrived all Jason and all the staff made us welcome they couldnt do enough for us any question we had were answered.

The wedding went smoothly,the food was lovely and hot,in the evening the disco was very good any request we had were played.

Again my husband and i would like to say a big thankyou to all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie_siddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Rothley Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback, we will pass this onto the whole team. We are really pleased that the day went so well for you, your family & friends. We hope to welcome you all back to Rothley in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I got married at Rothley court 3 weeks ago it was the most terrible experience of my whole life not only are the staff incompetent they ruined mine and my husbands day which is ment to be the best day of our lifes, the place is filthy my dress covered in soot from the chapel that i had asked in the morning several times to be cleaned and wasnt a 1500pound dress ruined. The DJ that is included in the hire of the room didnt turn up, the staff are rude, nothing was organised, the toilets doors had holes in toilet roll dispensers hanging off the wall-disgusting!! We paid £973 pound for a buffet for 140people i could of gone to iceland and done a better spread for £50 there was not enough food for even 30 people let alone 140 a disgrace, since the wedding we have complained and nobody seems to care!! Absolutely shocking!! Nobody even bothers to call you back, also a marquee that we paid £1200 for was leaking, freezing cold and filthy... we are still yet to recieve an official apology.. I feel for anyone that has a wedding booked with this hotel as they really know how to ruin your special day!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Rothley Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We appreciate the time you have taken to forward these comments to us and giving us the time and opportunity to discuss these with you and have these rectified for the future. From the meeting with your family we discussed and highlighted all these areas of concern which gave us the opportunity to offer our sincere apologies on behalf of the Hotel and the Company, that we had not met your expectations as your wedding venue. From our meeting, we discussed the ways forward and will be discussing further our ways in resolving such issues and the ways we will move forward as a hotel. Thank you for your time taken to highlight these comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a stunning hotel with friendly staff. Our room in the Mews was nice with the unfortunate exception of the door(room 25),which apparently had a gap down the side. I am sure this has been rectified in the 2 weeks since we stayed there,as it enabled thieves to get in and steal my bank cards and driving licence.This awful experience was dealt with in a sympathetic manner by the duty manager ,Peter.We shall return for another week-end stay very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda53lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Rothley Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your valued comments and time you have taken to bring this to our attention. From our conversation we had at the time of the incident and the telephone call a few days later, attention has been paid to the elements discussed and have taken the relevant steps to eliminate such an occurrence in the future. The staff and I look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothley
2.2 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
386 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#9 of 12 in Loughborough
707 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#20 of 41 in Leicester
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
998 reviews
11 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
15.1 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothley Court

Address: Westfield Lane, Rothley LE7 7LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Rothley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothley
Price Range: $67 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothley Court 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Rothley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothley Court Hotel Rothley
Rothley Court Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing