We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate - nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelmersdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Fairly functional hotel with not too much to recommend nor to condemn. I only styaed 1 night on a business trip for which it was adequate. The room itself is quite small but sufficient for 1 night. I was a bit surprised by the cheap white plastic chair - very tacky. Maintenance could be better - blown lightbulbs and no toliet roll holder do not make for a good impression. The room was bit noisy due to an extractor fan or similar which was on permanently

Breakfast OK if a bit uninspired.
I found the staff to be rather brusque and not very friendly.
Checking out was a chore. Only 1 person to deal with checkouts at 8.15 so there was a queue. Another receptionist would have been helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hepatacyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. As you can see from previous guest reviews; the hotel maintains a very high standard.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 416 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We just wanted to take this opportunity to say a huge thank you to everyone at Lancashire Manor for making our wedding the most amazing day. We could not fault the food, staff, facilities, cost and general support that was given in the lead up to and on the day.
Most of our guests stayed over due to the price and convinience. Everyone said how lovely the breakfast was and how nice it was to carry on the wedding celebratons onto the following day.
We would highly recommend Lancashire Manor as a wedding venue to all of our friends, family and complete strangers.
Many thanks,
Mr & Mrs Naylor
Wedding - 28th Dec 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Congratulations again to the new Mr & Mrs Naylor from all the staff here at the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor Hotel.
It was an honour to part of your very special day and I am so pleased to hear how everything met your expectations.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience and for recommending the hotel to others. Please keep us in mind for your future events as we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel was excellent in every aspect for the purpose of my business trip to Skelmersdale. The staff is helpful and friendly, the accomodations very nice, and the food excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in the Skelmersdale area, especially those doing business with one of the local industrial companies.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor Hotel.

It is great to hear how you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient for the Skelmersdale industrial estate.

Thank you for recommending the hotel, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just returned from having a fab time bringing in the new year.right from the start the staff where great, room lovely and the evening it's self was lovely.the function room the food everything.we all had a wonderful time would recommend it and will defiantly be going again !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middlemans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor Hotel and for your kind comments.
It is very pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us on such a special evening. Thank you for recommending the hotel, please keep us in mind for future events as we will look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I ate with friends here the week before Christmas. Initially we booked here because of the location (midway between our respective homes) but were most pleasantly surprised with the standards of service, facilities and food.
We were treated to a show round by the Manager when we enquired on the evening, and what a beautiful place it is. A real mixture of old world charm and modern facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor Hotel.

It is great to hear how enjoyable you found your stay; we aim to maintain a high standard for all our guests to make them as comfortable as possible. The hotel had a full refurbishment just a few years ago and we get many comments on how well the new/old styles mix together.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We returned to this hotel after a good previous experience and we were not disappointed. There were 6 of us for Christmas day lunch and the food and service were very good, nothing was too much trouble for the staff from the greeting on arrival with Bucks Fizz and throughout the meal. I would recommend this hotel and look forward to another visit in 2014.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us on Christmas Day.

I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff involved as customer satisfaction is highly important here at the Lancashire Manor.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had dinner on 23rd December with my family in the restaurant, on arriving at the hotel the Christmas trees all lit up outside looked stunning. We had a wonderful meal. The steak was full of flavor and the homemade chocolate brownie I had for desert was lovely. The Christmas tree in the restaurant was beautiful, and the pianist played and sang Christmas songs, it really made it a festive night out with a difference. Thanks to Suzanne and Sarah for looking after us (and providing extra crackers!). Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor and for your very kind comments.
It was great to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us; we have had some fantastic feedback from the festive celebrations we have held. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff who will be pleased as customer satisfaction is very important to them.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelmersdale
1.4 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
6.1 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
5.9 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Haydock
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel

Address: Prescott Road | Wigan, Skelmersdale WN8 9QD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Skelmersdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelmersdale
Price Range: $90 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated just off Junction 5 of the M58 motorway, 3 minutes from J26 of the M6. Therefore it is ideally located for for Wigan, Skelmersdale, Ormskirk, Liverpool (just 20 minutes away) and Manchester Airport. Lancashire Manor dates back to the 16th century. Today the hotel offers an eclectic mix of the traditional, tastefully blended with the modern facilities expected by our discerning customer, including fibre optic data lines, Wi-Fi, Flat Screen TVs, soft duvets and great showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lancashire Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing