We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelmersdale
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Cannot fault anything about this hotel, from our first visit to our actual wedding day we have been given amazing service, The wedding planner (gill) has been superb, giving us advice on florists, chair covers etc and was in touch to make it as stress free as possible. The actual weding day went smoothly and I cant speak highly enough of the staff who made it so. Everyone really enjoyed the day and remarked at how good the venue looked throughout the day (the transformations made the room look different each time). A lot of our guests stayed over and were impressed with the room & with breakfast included it was value for money. Bar prices were very reasonable and the food was great. Overall I was amazed by the venue, the service and everything about the hotel & wil recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRBryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for your fantastic review of the Lancashire Manor; I’m so glad we could help to make your day perfect. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Gill our events co-ordinator and of how highly you speak of her. All the staff pride themselves on customer satisfaction, especially with special events such as weddings.
We look forward to welcoming you, and people you recommend us to, at the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    116
    49
    17
    7
See reviews for
105
75
7
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Joined friends at this hotel over the weekend for a meal in the restaurant, and must say what a great place. I was very impressed with the food, it really was delicious. This hotel mixes the old and the new, and what my friends say the rooms are great. Brill!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Matty071090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I was happy to hear of your positive experiance in our restaurant and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently attended a function at this hotel and stayed overnight. The first thing I have to say is don’t be put off on the approach. The hotel itself is located just off junction 5 M58, not too far from the M6, on an industrial park. However, as you drive through the gates to the hotel, you could be anywhere!

The hotel itself is a restored manor house with a number of function rooms.

The interior of the hotel is very clean and modern in appearance. The hotel rooms are spacious and well finished.

Staff throughout the hotel were very polite and helpful.

The food served both at the function and at breakfast was excellent.

Having stayed at other ‘branded hotels’ in the North West, such as Hilton and Marriott, room and meal prices were on a par but I found the bar prices were a bit on the high side in comparison. But to be fair, you pay for what you get and this is, after all, a good quality hotel.

I enjoyed my stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others staying in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank et79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel.
As we pride ourselves on our customer satisfaction, it was great to hear how polite and helpful you found our staff. As you say, a lot of guests are surprised as to how we are conveniently suituated by both the M58 and the M6 motorways; but once in the hotel you would never know this by the lovely surroundings!
I am glad to hear your experience has led to you recommending BEST WESTERN Lancashire Manor, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times when in the area on business and would be more than happy to do so again.

The rooms are very comfortable being well appointed, clean and modern. The restaurant is fantastic and offers good value. Breakfast is very good too. The bar/lounge area is great to relax in and offers a quiet (at least on weeknights when I've stayed) and comfortable place to unwind.

This hotel itself seems almost out of place in the area where it's located - it's too good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The2bitKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of the Lancashire Manor. We are very happy to hear that you found your stay relaxing and that you got to enjoy our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked a family meal on St Patrick's day for my daughters 21st, and although the staff where very pleasent the food was not, it was very dissapointing. We booked this as we also used this hotel for our other daughters wedding in 2011 and where very impressed. Its sad to see the good it can be, and the bad side it has become.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazkaz1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for the review from your recent meal at our hotel. We were very disappointed to read of your experiences, this is far from the standards we are trying to achieve here and we have discussed this matter at length with our Head Chef and his team. Thank you again for your review and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have been working in the area of this hotel for over a year now and have been using a different hotel until someone mentioned the Lancashire Manor. It is safe to say I will now be staying here on a regular basis. The staff at this hotel are so welcoming and friendly and the rooms are modern and very comfy. I had a lovely meal in the restaurant and even though it was very busy the service and food was fantastic. I will be back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of the Lancashire Manor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. I will pass your kind comments on to the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and all I can say is it's so much better than then. The staff are friendly and the hotel is modern and very clean. We only had breakfast but what we had was very good especially when cooked to order.

The rooms are very comfortable and have everything you could possible need whilst away.

The bed was a little too soft for us but that's personal taste.

The location isn't the greatest but ideally situated just off the motorway and great if visiting family in Skem (which we were).

We would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCarrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of the Lancashire Manor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelmersdale
1.4 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan West (M6,Jct 26) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
7.4 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Haydock
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
Address: Prescott Road | Wigan, Skelmersdale WN8 9QD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Skelmersdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelmersdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated just off Junction 5 of the M58 motorway, 3 minutes from J26 of the M6. Therefore it is ideally located for for Wigan, Skelmersdale, Ormskirk, Liverpool (just 20 minutes away) and Manchester Airport. Lancashire Manor dates back to the 16th century. Today the hotel offers an eclectic mix of the traditional, tastefully blended with the modern facilities expected by our discerning customer, including fibre optic data lines, Wi-Fi, Flat Screen TVs, soft duvets and great showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lancashire Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing