We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more than a pub with food”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Croston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leyland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Much more than a pub with food”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Situated in the centre of the picturesque village, from the outside looks like your average village pub, selling food. Entry to the restaurant through the pub doesn't change the intitial view. Once seated and welcomed by the friendliest of staff you know that this is more than just a pub. Whilst not the largest of menus there is a selection of starters and main courses to satisfy most tastes. The addition of several specials on the board adds to the choice. The food is well presented and cooked to perfection. The seabass was excellent. The chef is obviously either moonlighting or just hasn't come to the notice of more upmarket restaurants. A decent selection of wines are available but if you're no expert, the house red ticks most of the boxes.
If your calorie intake is not an issue, the sweet menu offers you the perfect ending to the meal.
Prices are reasonable and great value considering the high quality. WIll definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    44
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have eaten here on numerous occasions and generaly the food is very good. Nice and lively at weekends with bands on once a month. The recent beer festival was Brill.
I think the menu needs changing more frequently to keep people interested, keep the basics and add a few new ones every now and then.
Beer kept well with changing cask ales (min 4) on all the time. mmmmm

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northwesthombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink and nibbles”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I'll be honest not had a sit down meal here since new owners but they do a very nice selection of table nibbles.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodExpertMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food for me and the kids”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I have taken the kids here twice in the last month - i have had the sea bass and the venison dishes and both were excellent (as good as i have had for many years). I even made a point of thanking the chef.

For the kids the choice is simple; but like all parents when kids like somewhere you just got to keep going back and they keep insisting we do!! They have had the chicken goujons on both occasions and its brilliant value with empty plates both times.

Would highly recommend it for a good meal out - they also do some good ales, so winner all round

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good pub grub”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We were a little bit dubious given latest review but we had a lovely welcome, service was excellent and food was better than some restaurants we've been to they are supposed to be 'high end' - we will definitely be going back. Good wine and nice choice of cask ales always a bonus too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Croston, Lancashire
Mawdesley, Lancashire
 
Croston, Lancashire
Croston, Lancashire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing