We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elmley National Nature Reserve

Elmley National Nature Reserve
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Sheerness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: £5 Per car. Or join Friends of Elmley £20 a year. Elmley is a huge National Nature Reserve renowned for wildlife. At Elmley you are likely to see water birds wading in the ponds, magnificent birds of prey soaring above, hares bounding across the meadows, as well as a butterflies, dragonflies and bees exploring the waterways and wildflowers. If you're lucky you might spot a watervole hiding among the reeds or a grass-snake basking by the ponds. Elmley is also crammed full of heritage and history: Discover the house where King James II was imprisoned in 1688, the remains of a Victorian village and the marshes that inspired Dickens' Great Expectations.The traditional Kentish barn is available for hire for weddings and events.Escape to Elmley, only one hour from London, and enjoy walking, bird watching, photography or simply relaxing in the magnificent scenery.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a great little place hidden on the island which is definitely worth visiting. Saw some fantastic wildlife on the drive up to the main car park and some amazing scenery when arrived. You feel like you are in the middle of no where, wish I could of walked further but the young kids were getting tired. Well worth a visit!

Helpful?
2 Thank Frostman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minster on Sea
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Always something to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We come down here quite a lot to drive along the track to the carpark at the end, often bringing friends and elderly relatives. Best time is at dusk but whatever the time there is always something to see, from the hare that run and play at the far end of the track, to the egrets, herons, lapwings and many other bird species. We often see the big birds of prey and owls also.
From the car park (with toilets) you can walk down to the bird hides and enjoy the peace and quiet that is truly Sheppey.
Love it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SkateMinsteronSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Level Contributor
252 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Peaceful perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

After the thunderstorms kept me awake through the night, bu 4am today I had had enough. I packed a camera, binoculars, some cash (in case) and drove along the foreshore of the Medway and the Swale before the sun could force its way through the gloom.
These days it is off the beaten track: The Bridge (that is its official title for the oversized spanning of the Swale) takes you past the access track, and also the local train halt.
The sky was leaden, the sun super-red, but cold, and the rain clouds were threatening.
So - what did I get for my money?
Well, you will be unlucky to be asked to pay (and if you are an RSPB member you can enter for free anyway), it teams with marsh habitats, wildlife, and thousands of birds scattered across six miles of the Swale foreshore.
At 4.30am I had seen the sub.Sixty minutes later I had seen two hares, three foxes, lapwings, cattle, the most enormous bull, dozens of little egrets,
a black pheasant, heard various frogs and toads calling, watched two marsh harriers and so.
There were several little egrets from their roost 12 miles away on the Isle of Grain. This is the place where the Mayor of London considers it is more appropriate for London's Heathrow replacement to be built and to hell with the "trivial" objectors in north Kent - including 32,000 people who would also be displaced by his runways, and jet aircraft,m trains and motorway access.
This is a place that should never be despoiled. It is not trivial to wish to protect the environment for birds, yourself and to improve things for future generations.
People (like me) moved here for work, the peace, wildlife, and some of the finest seascapes anywhere. We did not chose to live next to an airport. While I sympathise with those who did, Heathrow, Gatwick, Stanstead and Luton (like Birmingham) have been there for many years. Grain's airport (the first for seaplanes) and Sheppey's airport have been gone at least 80 years.
Visitors and residents need places like Elmley Marshes, now anbd for all time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gl8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lapwing heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This bird reserve is where Boris wants to build an airport! Acres of marsh and grassland make it a haven for all sorts of birds, but the lapwings are magic- just by the track, and then flying off in thaer wierd and wonderful way. If you like birds, don't miss this one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A long but worthwhile walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Varied habitat = a good variety of birds.

On our first visit we sat in the car on the drive out and watched a Marsh Harrier devour its prey from close range.

An amazing place in winter with its 1000's of wintering ducks

Helpful?
2 Thank RichardD1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmley National Nature Reserve also viewed

Sheerness, Isle of Sheppey
Sheerness, Isle of Sheppey
 
Minster on Sea, Isle of Sheppey
Sheerness, Isle of Sheppey
 

Been to Elmley National Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing