We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easter weekend visiting friends”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Sheerness B&B and Inns
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“easter weekend visiting friends”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

we picked the royal as it was very close to where our friend lived and very central. was good value for money especially as it was easter weekend. staff very friendly, our room was on the top floor and very quiet considering it was above a busy pub. bright and cheerful room comfy beds and nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in room. we were given a key to the main door to come and go as we pleased. heating on all day and night was a pleasure as it was very cold and windy weekend, nice to have extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe and i made good use of the blankets. the bathroom was very new and towels provided were lovely clean and fluffy. the hotel is a grand old building and our room was a little tired but for what we payed for the 3 nights was very acceptable and very clean. nice mints in bowls on each floor lovely! the only negative is their was no parking on site but we were given help on where to park and managed to park on a side road round the corner and left our car from fri to mon with no problem. we would stay at the royal again when visiting in the future. all in all we had a very pleasant and fun time in sheerness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesDorsetEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    10
    4
    13
See reviews for
16
19
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

stayed here with my boyfriend when we was guests of a wedding in the area. i must admit when i turned up i was sceptical! but when they gave us the key to the room we was pleasantly surprised! lovely big room with a lovely big bed!

the only problem about the hotel is the parking, but lucky for us we found a road close by to park on!

lively pub with music on at nights at the weekend and we didn't here it in our room once which was lovely! great place to stay if your in the area!!!

you also get a great breakfast in the morning too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLOUDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed here a couple during the winter as we wanted to come to the Island for a little break.

The staff in the bar where very warm and friendly, we had breakfast in the morning which was very nice.

Rooms where at a good standard and slept well.

Price was good also.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Londonmillwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We arrived at this lively pub on Saturday lunchtime and to be honest the surroundings are less than inspiring.Having fought our way through the smoking clientele we were greeted warmly by the landlord. Our room was on the top floor, quite a climb but was large and quiet. The decor was dated and a bit tired but both bedroom and bathroom were clean with new linen and towels. We spent a reasonable night there after our family party and the breakfast was freshly cooked and good quality. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chancel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

our stay was for 8 days and the service we received was over and above what you would normally expect, the staff are friendly, the atmosphere lively but not noisy. the food is exelent with wide choice on the menu and the breakfast is the best ive had. the rooms are comfortable and clean and the cleaning staff work hard to maintain a great standard. cannot reccomend this hotel enough. definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackiechurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheerness
4.7 mi away
The Shurland Hotel
The Shurland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eastchurch
118 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
484 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,197 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
515 reviews
6.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 29 Broadway, Sheerness ME12 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Sheppey > Sheerness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sheerness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is under new management and is currently undergoing an exciting refurbishment. Due to this, breakfast is unavailable until the restaurant in ready in September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing