We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but....”
Review of Calamidoro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calamidoro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcinaia
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but....”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this hotel. The hotel is quaint, very old fashioned and has only two floors, we were above the bar. The breakfast room/bar area feels small and crowded with tables. The bedroom was a nice size, very clean, as was the bathroom, with linen and towels changed daily. The breakfast is described as American but it really is only continental breakfast and I was sad to see flies on the cold meat (which I didn't eat), lots of fresh fruit, oranges, peaches, plums, nectarines, which are left out so you can have them any time of the day. I think when we stayed there they had a staffing problem as we always had to go reception to get a drink from the bar during the day. If you don't have pool towels you can get towels from reception for €2.50 each per day. Beware of the midges around the pool during the day, I got badly bitten and had to buy insect repellent from the pharmacy next door. The hotel itself is in gated land and you have to buzz to get in, there is a nice lake with otters, swan and crane and a golf practice court and archery if you want. You can also use the bigger pool by the restaurant free of charge if you give your room number. The restaurant is very good but beware the English menu us significantly shortened from the Italian menu; you can charge your meal to the room. The American Bar, Limon, only opened one night as they had a private party. The café/music bar in the same complex is good for lunch and a beer. If you like kebabs the Instanbul Kebab shop across the road is good. There is a good restaurant a couple of minutes drive down the road next to a Lidl supermarket called Si Va Li - the food, wine and waiter/waitress service is brilliant, I wished we had found it earlier in the week!! A review of this hotel said that there were restaurants within walking distance but we didn't find any, there is not much place to walk on the main road and it is a very busy road. All in all I would recommend this hotel for a short stay or to use as a base to explore the area around Pisa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diontiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    121
    28
    18
    13
See reviews for
64
94
7
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a brilliant complex. Golf course, gorgeous grounds, lake, two pools, towers and ruins on site and brilliant restaurant. All done in full on Tuscan style. 37km from Pisa. Must have a car and then able to visit all the charming villages in the area.
The staff could not have been more helpful. Especially Lorenzo at Reception who was an absolute gem. Hope he comes to Australia to stay with us. He's been before and planning another trip. He was exceptional and clearly has a love of people.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. Ours was beautiful but smallish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithGoorjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a wonderful places to stay in Tuscany. It is close to many of the main attractions and
the hotel is lovely. The staff is very helpful, breakfast super (croissants were way too delicious) and the grounds a delight. You can play golf, watch the birds and the black swan on the lake, walk, swim or
enjoy some wine or the BEST coffee ever surrounded by old world charm. The accommodations were outstanding and
we came back each day to newly clean pressed sheets. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCarlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Rooms with lots of character but could be a bit cold in winter. Good breakfast with home made croissants to die for! Friendly staff speaking english which always helps when you are in italy. Ladies, avoid high heels as there is gravel all around the hotel, so you even cannot wheel your suitcase

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank annafox76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My partner and i were in need of a rest and the Calamidoro was great. A real old building which oozes character and charm set in some lovely grounds. No its not in the country, no its not by the sea... but as a base to explore Tuscany, you are right in the middle. Very nice and attentive staff.. who did go the extra mile.. beware of the Breakfast Waiter though... WIERD GUY (Tall silver haired), WHO JUST MAKES YOU FEEL UNEASY!! Lovely private small pool, and their A la carte gives you 20% discount as a resident.Really great food too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is about 20 min drive from the airport. Yes it was in the middle of an industrial park (but you have fields of sunflowers out back and a mini driving range as well as beautiful gardens). I loved being close to shops as we had lovely places close by to go out and eat and the jazz bar over the road was really great. Excellent music and affordable cocktails and food. This is fine ONLY IF YOU HAVE A CAR TO GET AROUND like we did, as we drove into the Tuscan vineyards etc. Downside:

1)They do not keep brining out food at breakfast, so get up early or "no eggs, sorry - finito"
2)If you have a room close to the club in the complex its noisy

Upside:
1)Lovely rooms and hotel - very Tuscan
2)2 pools. One with a slide which the kids will enjoy
3)Local restauraunt - good food
4)Friendly staff

Room Tip: Away from the disco, close to the main reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Gated community, villa style accommodations, staff very accommodating and helpful, gave us wine and mutchies while we waited on our rooms to be readied. Good breakfast variety. Excellent experience at the their restaurant - great food, great service, beautiful decor...we went back several times. The pizzeria was a disappointment however. Only one wait staff for the whole room and we waited a very long time to be waited on and later, to be served. Wait staff did not speak good English and we had trouble understanding menu options. One family member ordered a Pizza Americana and got cut up wieners and french fries on it! That was different and not appreciated. Noisy atmosphere, kids running unsupervised through the restuarant, slamming glass doors by our table. The management seemed oblivious to our situation and never came over to check on us. Would not recommend. Worst restaurant experience in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcinaia
9.9 mi away
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
Airone Pisa Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Armonia
Hotel Armonia
#1 of 6 in Pontedera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
6.1 mi away
Resort Casale Le Torri
Resort Casale Le Torri
#1 of 2 in Ponsacco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamidoro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamidoro Hotel

Property: Calamidoro Hotel
Address: Via del Tiglio 143, 56012 Calcinaia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Calcinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcinaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Calamidoro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Calamidoro Hotel featuring 46 rooms composed of Superior rooms, Loft Suites, our Sweet Suite and the Imperial Suite. After walking through the gate you will be enchanted by a magical atmosphere, taking you from a small lake and a golf practice yard on one side to a private and relaxing pool in the green meadows on the other, until you reach the ancient Villa. As a Tuscan postcard, you will see the Pisan mountains on the background, with the medieval castle on the peak of the Verruca mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Calamidoro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calamidoro Hotel Pisa
Calamidoro Hotel Calcinaia, Province Of Pisa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing