We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stress on a Sunday no thank you”

Hall Place Riverside Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Bexley
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stress on a Sunday no thank you”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Do not bother what a disaster! We had a walk around the summer house up to the main centre to have a cup of tea, the cafe was busy staff running around not knowing what was going on, we sat and waited for a simple cup of tea but were ignored we gave up after 10 minutes and left... There's more to life than waiting next time we'll bring a flask

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    40
    24
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Getting better...”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We visited twice on a busy Saturday in March 2014 for lunch and, later, cake. Based on our experience I think some of the service problems in other reviews have been addressed. The staff remain friendly, and we were quickly offered a choice of any vacant table we liked, although we had to queue a few minutes to be seated on our return visit. The menu is limited but not overly pricey for London or National Trust equivalents (soup+bread £4.95, tart+salad £6.95, cakes £2.95, cream tea £3.95). The tables were clean, the staff attentive, and our orders arrived quickly and accurately, despite staff sometimes appearing rushed.

The cafe was busy, and our choice of table by the door linking inside and outside seating was a mistake as this was a narrow but busy thoroughfare. Outside tables include many by the river weir, which makes conversation difficult when the water is high, but masks the nearby A2 road noise. My impression is that the cafe is sometimes a victim of its success, and could do with being bigger.

So why only three stars? I would give 3.5 - the soup (Butternut and something) was good, as was the artisan bread it came with. The children's pasta was overdone, but the accompanying tomato and mozzarella sauce was tasty. My tart (Roasted Vegetable and Brie) was disappointing - the blandness actually contrasted the rocket in the generous salad well, but the pastry was completely soggy. I occasionally got hints of a nice dressing on the salad but it was mainly plain - probably better than over-dressed, but supplying the dressing separately would be even better.

The cakes looked good so we returned for a second visit. The cafe is very busy at 3pm but quietened down after lunches stopped at 4pm. No complaints about our second visit, coffee cake, cream tea and fruit tea all good. I'm told it opens daily, so might be quieter on a weekday, and it will briefly close later in March 2014 for refurbishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornopean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh dear where have all the cakes gone :(”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

What a shame this venue used to be a real treat for me but where have the real cakes gone? Now serving the usual high street crap that every other random venue on the high street tries to pass off as their own, but don't be fooled below par dry rubbish. When will the real stuff be back?

Helpful?
Thank Elmo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely gardens, cafe location wonderful, food disappointing”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The gardens of Hall Place are wonderful, especially the Queen's Beasts in topiary.
However, the riverside cafe, though a pleasant space in a well designed building is a disappointment. The food is overpriced for what you receive - the £4.75 bacon baguette consisted of a floppy mini baguette with only one and a half rashers while the sausage baguette had just one and a half small ordinary sausages. The £1.75 tea should have been ok consisting of a Twining tea bag steeping in a mug with a separate jug of milk but it tasted of cleaning product. The helpful waitress replaced it but it still tasted the same so we asked for a refund on the tea which was given without any problem. Service was friendly and polite but unfortunately that didn't make up for the poor quality of the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank LCat494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, stunning views, superb little cafe”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently moved here and found this place yesterday. We strolled through the grounds to find a farmers market with lots of goodies. Then into the main block to find the most beautiful cafe. Very buzzy, lovely staff and cakes that shout eat me. We sat on the deck overlooking the river watching the wildlife in the beautiful sunshine what more could you ask of something on your doorstep. The menu is not huge but a good balance of dishes, I am a vegetarian so opted for the vegetable cottage pie with a nice salad on the side and Mum had a Ploughman's, both were delicious. Then I could not resist I had to have a scone with jam and cream and Mum had a brownie and a coffee. This is a place I will definitely be back to visit, the farmers market is every month but I am not sure I will be able to wait until then. Loving your work!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hall Place Riverside Cafe also viewed

Bexley, Greater London
Bexley, Greater London
 
Chislehurst, Greater London
Sidcup, Greater London
 
Bexley, Greater London
 

Been to Hall Place Riverside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing