We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the local pub for drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Norton Park - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the local pub for drinks”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A very long trek to the room, Timed at 6 minutes walk at a very brisk pace.
Average hotel sized room but clean and comfortable.Had to find a local pub to eat and drink. Meal prices at the hotel very expensive for the quality and limited selection but my biggest gripe is the cost of drinks. £4.50 for a pint of ale or lager and £22 for a bottle of inferior wine. Outrageous! The local pub did a decent ale at £3.10 and a bottle of reasonable wine for £12.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception. Be warned
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffandmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking The time to write a review. The hotel is situated in 54 acres of Hampshire countryside and their were numerous restrictions when we expanded the hotel 8 years ago. One was that we were restricted to two floors and the style needed to be in keeping with the country setting. This resulted in the bedrooms being spread out but overlooking a beautiful rural setting. You can certainly request to be located closer to the main section of the hotel if required. Our prices are set to be competitive in the 4 Star Hotel Market with Pints of Lager starting from £3.85. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    794
    400
    163
    97
See reviews for
333
955
33
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A wonderful location set in acres of parkland. We enjoyed a one night spa break which comprised of a lunch, evening meal and breakfast all of which were fresh and plentiful. Also in the offer was an hour of spa treatment which was provided in the immaculate spa facilities. Staff to acknowledge include Amanda in the spa who catered for each of us individually providing a caring and relaxing service. Also, Rose who during the lunch time provides a friendly service.All the staff were professional,approachable and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked a single night stay for a weekend break arriving mid afternoon.The young lady on reception was pleasant and friendly.We were booked in, given our entry cards and directions to our room.After depositing our bags we went down to the lounge and sampled a very enjoyable plate of sandwiches with a much needed cup of tea.
We decided to dine outside in the evening. The menu was varied and gave a good choice of starters,mains and desserts.The waiting staff were helpful,nothing seemed to be too much trouble,our meal arrived promptly, was hot and extremely enjoyable
On retiring for the night we found the beds to be very comfortable, the bathroom clean and tidy and the shower most welcoming - it had been a very hot day !
The restaurant was our port of call the next morning where we had our fill of a delightful breakfast. Again a varied menu whether it be just fruit and yoghurt or cereal to a full english breakfast.The manager was keen to ensure that not just the plates were piping hot - the food was fresh, well cooked and very satisfying.
Checking out was just as quick and efficient as the previous day.
This was the first time we had visited a Q Hotel and we would certainly recommend them to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addicks1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'm quite fussy about hotels and booked this as a Travelzoo offer fairly last minute having read various mixed reviews on here. Service was really good. Room was clean (a little warm and stuffy but the weather was very hot and we found a fan in our wardrobe which helped) and of a reasonable size. Staff were all very good and chatty and helpful. We had dinner both nights in the restaurant and the food was really good. We also used the bar. Breakfast was really good too - can't think of anything that was lacking and there were plenty of staff around if you needed anything and to clear tables, etc. I would agree that it is is quite a remote location but this wasn't a problem for us as we drove to Winchester and spent a day there. We also walked around the grounds which are very pleasant. I would recommend this hotel especially if you can find a Travelzoo offer etc as this made it exceptionally good value.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long walk from the restaurant, bar, reception etc so if you have difficulty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Oh dear! It is such a shame. On a positive note to start, the staff here are wonderful, especially dear, funny, so helpful Rachel and, of course, Amanda. They both make you feel wanted as members and offer exceptional service. This with the fact that there are no decent gyms with pools in the county (except for David Lloyd which is so terrible that it deserves a bad review of its own but we would not know where to start!) is why we put up with the rundown, shabby side of things.

We only use the pool and we pay £64.00 a month each, equating to a lump sum of circa £1,500 per annum paid in advance so we are quite peeved at some of the things, which we find very sub-standard. By far the worst is the cram ‘em in mentality. Some of the ‘offers’ allow other people to come for the day, stuff themselves with free pastries, free soft drinks, robe etc thrown in for £8 a couple.

We don’t use the gym but we hear that the limited equipment is often broken. The pool water does not seem ever to be cleaned and is murky with hair and plasters swimming around and cracked tiles. Added to this, with the hot weather it is unbearably hot. If we have to swim in tropical temperatures you could at least bung in some corals and exotic fish.

Every so often something doesn’t work or is broken, the air con is non-existent and even though the staff clean, the place is dirty and continually running out of soap, loo roll etc. The main problem is that they have upped the membership and the special cheapo offers so that it is always over full to capacity for a small gym and small pool which was only ever meant to be for the original hotel when it was much smaller. Approx eight people swimming in a small pool of warm cloudy water is not enjoyable. And when you know that some of them do not pay anything like we do and some of then tend to dump all their rubbish and used towels in the changing rooms and around the pool area, it makes us feel more than fed up. Plus more than four in the changing room at a time doesn’t work, even if all three showers happen to be operating.

Please stop overcrowding our gym and pool and make it a little more exclusive but more than that can you put some clean fresh water into the pool because if anyone drowns in the heat, you will not be able to find them!

But Rachel et al, keep up your good work as ambassadors because it is you and your good humour which stops us from having a moan. And despite these grumbles, we do enjoy coming to the pool, we have made friends with other members and enjoy the ambience of a small place which, with a little consideration about its members and much improved maintenance could be an absolute joy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davewestmuzic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few Q Hotels and have never been disappointed.This place was set in lovely countryside, it had a fantastic leisure facilities. The rooms were comfortable and the meals I had in the hotel were very good. We were there on conference and the meeting rooms were top notch, the staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay as a result of a TravelZoo.com offer, with dinner included on the first night, glass of Pyms before dinner, breakfast, and a cream tea on the second day. All for £198 for the 2 of us. Dinner was very good but the first morning was spoilt when the papers we had ordered did not arrive and we were told that "they were not on the system". Consequently I had to drive to a garage a few miles away to buy them, and the hotel provided the papers without charge on the next day. However, it was disappointing that this 4*hotel did not show initiative and get a member of their staff to go and get them for me- they had their mini-bus parked outside.

Also, when we arrived for breakfast at about 8.45am on that first morning the restaurant looked as though a bomb had hit it- all tables cluttered with dirty cuttlery etc due to having 2 coach parties and a group of Conference delegates all needing to have their breakfast in order to leave the hotel by 9am. True, a member of staff had gone sick, but there was little evidence of management being in control, although the waitress was working hard under the circumstances.

Despite these issues, the dinner and breakfasts were very good and we enjoyed our stay. We had a disabled access room as my wife uses a wheelchair- it was fine, although we both found the toilet very low- a higher seat would have helped.
We may well stay there again in future as we are members of the QHotel Breakaway Club, which is supposed to contact us with special offers 4 times a year.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel before you arrive and seek confirmation of your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.As you mention in the title weare located on 54acres of wood lands , pastures, rolling lawns and a lake. I apologize for the confusion over your newspapers on the first day and the standard of breakfast on the Friday. These have been reviewed and actions put in place to unsure they are not repeated in future. The Breakaway club is a great way of getting exclusive offers and benefits at all QHotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Scotney
14.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
6.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,763 reviews
7.8 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
997 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Park - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Park - A QHotel

Property: Norton Park - A QHotel
Address: Norton Park | Nr Winchester, Sutton Scotney SO21 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sutton Scotney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton Park - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts of Winchester, Norton Park is a sumptuous four star hotel blending beautiful contemporary chic with historical elegance all set within 54 acres of peaceful grounds. No matter what your reason for visiting, on business, a family trip or a spa break, the hotel has all the facilities to surpass your expectations. For those visiting on business, be it for a board meeting, a residential conference, training seminar or annual dinner the state-of-the-art facilities are exceptional. Norton Park offers 16 conference and meeting rooms for up to 340 delegates within the main hotel, the Manor House and for something a little different the 17th century Tythe Barn. On the doorstep to all that Hampshire has to offer including historic Winchester with its magnificent cathedral and the coastal cities of Southampton and Portsmouth, Norton Park is an ideal base for a leisure break with family and friends. The hotel has 166 modern bedrooms, a large leisure complex and spa, a great restaurant and beautiful landscaped gardens to stroll around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norton Park - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton Park - a q Hotel Sutton Scotney
Norton Park a Qhotel Winchester
Norton Park - A QHotel Sutton Scotney, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing