We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norton Park - A QHotel
Nearby Hotels
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$57
$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barton Stacey(Andover)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$55
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peat Spade Inn(Stockbridge)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winchester Hotel & spa(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$100
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$172
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,388)
Filter reviews
2,388 results
Traveler rating
797
869
434
180
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
869
434
180
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor housespa breakspa facilitiesq hotelsrelaxation roomthe main hotelsauna and steam roomcream teaevening meallovely groundsbuffet lunchbreakaway clubnight breakwaiting staffboth morningsrestaurant staffbirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
1,739 - 1,744 of 2,388 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in September on the way back from a visit to Peppa pig world with our two young children. We were given a room in the manor house as it was the only one which could accommodate us. The room was huge, well appointed and had all the necessary amenities including tea and coffee, wifi access etc. In addition to a large king size bed, we had a cot and single bed and there was still room for a couple of sofas without the room feeling crowded. There was an ensuite bathroom which opened onto a separate dressing area. There were also good views over the garden and lake beyond. The manor house also has its own parking.

We also made use of the swimming pool in the main part of the hotel and it had allocated times for children which was good for all the pool users. Breakfast was good but was quite crowded. The staff in general were pleasant and helpful. The hotel itself was somewhere we would recommend in future and we did not have any major complaints.

However, the restaurant in the hotel was a real disappointment. It was memorable for being one of the worst meals I have had in terms of service.... The waitress was a bit amateurish and amongst other things forgot our wine, then when we reminded her about it brought the wrong wine. Then there was an incredibly long wait for the food. And when it came, the children's food was undercooked and mine was served lukewarm. Anyway, other diners also complained about the service and quality of the food on the night. We were told that here was a particularly large order from the bar that night, but surely an establishment like this should be able to sort out its staffing better? To be fair, we did complain to the manager of the restaurant and he was very apologetic and removed items from the bill. Hopefully, the restaurant has improved since then.

Room Tip: The rooms in the manor house
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tired_travelling_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor with regard to your recent stay at Norton Park.

I am please to hear that the majority of your stay was pleasurable and you enjoyed the facilities. We like to allocate family time in the pool to allow all guests comfortable use of the pool.

I am disappointed to hear that your dining experience was not up to our usual standards and I have spoken to the Restaurant Manager and Head Chef about this. At the time we were going through some staffing issues, which I am pleased to say are now resolved.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Norton Park in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

OK The weather was against us for our annual conference and the "How to find us" guide lines were misleading. The hotel is way off the beaten track and when you arrive the car park is quite a walk from Reception - but that's just the start. If your room is in the high 200s you're in for a long walk. There are two walkways that are almost in the open air, two lifts and several doors to negotiate - with a lot of luggage this is not funny. We'd already waited nearly two hours for our rooms to be ready.The food was OK and the staff were excellent. The layout of the hotel was weird and how it has a four star rating baffles me as it was without doubt the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are correct that the weather over the past weekend was against with 5 inches of snow on the Friday and having 175 rooms checking out and your conference taking the hotel over for the weekend. The first priority was making the the long driveway accessible and safe for guests to depart and arrive. Secondly we needed to re-adjust our work patterns to take into account that staff living in rural areas could not attend work. This did result in some small delays in getting guests checked into rooms but most were enjoying the complimentary hot chocolate and meeting colleagues in the lounge. The hotel is not ideally laid out for this rare weather phenomenon. The organizer of your event has scored the hotel 10 out of 10 in his meeting satisfaction survey and his holding space again at the same time next year to repeat the event as it was such a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stupidly we booked this without reading previous reviews - you live and learn. We needed a quite country hotel for 3 nights as we were attending a very tragic family funeral at Winchester Cathedral. Advertised as 4-star and priced accordingly we thought this would be much better than a hotel in Winchester - oh dear ! On arrival at 3pm, with a large suitcase, 2 overnight bags and 2 hanging cases, we had to find our own baggage trolley - just the one in the lobby, and no porter in sight - we never saw one ! Queued for 20 minutes to check in, then had to push our baggage trolley into one lift, through doors, along an outdoor corridor, then another lift, then another corridor, finally reaching our room which would have graced any roadside hotel. We refused to accept this and were, finally, offered a very nice room in the old manor house, this is what a country hotel should be like. Breakfast was very good but, oh dear, a 4 star hotel dining room for dinner, no table cloths, paper napkins and cutlery straight out of Poundstretcher ! A very limited, expensive, menu - the same one every night.

The only positive note for us was the staff in whatever capacity, they really are fantastic given where they are working.

If you want to run a conference, have a meeting or a stag/hen do then its a great location but, if like us, you want a quality/ luxury hotel for a weekend break then this is not for you.

The final positive is that because we booked last-minute we didn't pay full price, but it was still an awful lot of money for a pair of sheets !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinhoodsbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and firstly may I apologise for the delay in checking in and the lack of porterage on the day.

Our website clearly shows that the hotel is diverse and does cater for many different markets. The 16th century Manor House, as you experienced, is beautiful building set in idyllic grounds. Our other bedrooms are more modern and designed to be comfortable and practical. The Scene Restaurant is a modern brassiere and the wooden tables are not clothed but cloth napkins are used in evenings( we had an issue at the time with our laundry service).

I will pass on your kind comments regarding the friendliness of the staff whom you can tell from their pleasant attitudes love working at Norton Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I paid a fair amount of cash for the pleasure of visiting this slightly up market travel lodge with a spa tacked on the back... it was awful!

The rooms are of no better quality then you would expect on the side of a motorway, there was still plaster work required to be done in ours!

The food was ok... but pretty expensive and this is certainly no luxury get away spot!

The spa was crowded and noisy . At one stage the pool was out of order due to too many chemicals, then they had to shut the sauna due to it stinking of urine!

I went here with my girlfriend to celebrate her birthday... we still had a good time and I have to say the staff were nice... BUT I would never go here again and I highly recommend you don't. This is not a luxury spa, it is a Holiday inn with a crap pool and it's bloody expensive... please avoid!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

I would like to point out that this review goes back to August and due to the issue with the Chemical levels in the pool he was offered compensation and accepted. I do not agree with his description of the hotel and believe it is unjust and in complete discord with the majority of our reviews. I respond to all reviews both positive and negative but this review deserves no further response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A few us decided to go to Winchester this year and went to Norton Park. I have never been there but what a fab place. we had a wonderful time. The staff were brilliant, food excellent, rooms great, spa good and all in all we had a brilliant time. Definitely going to book to go back with their special offer this month.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 123 which was directly opposite the spa which was wonderful. Everything available in our room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments following your group stay at Norton Park. We have had great reviews following the New Year event and look forward to a similar one for next year. We ensure that we do our best to ensure our guests have a pleasurable stay and assist in any way we can.

We look forward to welcoming you upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews