We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granddaughters christening”
Review of Birch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had my granddaughters christening here we had a great day function room was ok and it has a large conservatory the food provided was good we had over catered but no waste bar staff polite and friendly we had our own dj and decorated the room ourselves a do is what you make it at the end of the day and we had a good day overall

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ady92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your day, I am glad to hear that our foom was to your satisfaction and our chef will certainly be pleased. We would like to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and please do remind us of your review and we can certainly arrange a special treat...
kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 242 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Difficult review this as we only needed a hotel to sleep in whilst we were on the East Lancs Railway Red Rose Diner trip. Found this hotel on Late Rooms and it was well priced and within a reasonable distance. It looked OK on the webpage as well.
Arrived around tea time on Friday and the place looked sad and empty with minimal people around staff included. The entrance and reception areas need some refurbishment and some TLC adding. Booked in and went to our room to find that the general state of the hotel was clean but drab and in urgent need of lightening up a little - whoevere chose the colour scheme wasn't doing them any favours at all. Our room was OK, small and clean but with dated furnishings and fittings bar the TV and in the bathroom. Only one bath towel between us and a partly used toilet roll is not right!. Still the bed was very comfortable and as I said earlier that was the main thing for us. Went out for the evening and arrived back around 11 to find the place again empty and the bar closed, on a Friday night at 11:00 this should never be the case. There was a "resident issue" just outside our room later as well but that couldn't be blamed on the hotel but it wasn't what we wanted to experience.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice from the table area and a nice freshly cooked hot choice as well, staff were attentive and helpful but perhaps a hotel uniform for all would make the place look more professional.
Had to go looking for someone to check out and again this isn't what you expect from any hotel.
All in all it was OK for the price but some attention to detail will make a huge difference, the hotel must make the public areas look lighter and fresher with new carpets, furniture and redecoration and make sure bedrooms have enough facilities. I don't think we'll be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveTheJive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and we understand certain issues you have raised and appreciate them greatly, every year improvents are made and this year the issues raised will be dealt with, including a refurbishment of our foyer/reception. I would hope that after your compliments on food staff & service that you would come back again next year to see the new & improved hotel.
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks run down. The car park area has most of the parking painting faded/warn out. There are potholes and uneven areas of the car park. The carpets in the hotel look thread bare in places and generally dirty.

My room (No. 2) was no better. The shower (no bath) was falling apart and warn out.(see photos)

I wont dwell any further, its nothing that couldnt be fixed - the hotel just needs major investment.

Room Tip: About half the rooms have a shower only and no bath. The showers are a joke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forest4ever7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and please accept our apologies for the experience you had, please note that the unevenness of our car park is due to a tree we have had removed from near the entrance, this has now been rectified, our pot hole further down the car park is being rectified. We are going through a refurbishment programme over the quiet christmas period and we hope you will come back and visit us to see the new look hotel
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Tried The Birch Hotel when the normal hotels I stay at in the area were too expensive for a mid week night.
You know what type of hotel this is going to be when you drive into the car park (mind the massive pot hole!) and see lots of white contractor vans. It's a pity they can't get the contractor guests working on the hotel. It reminds of a house bought on 'Homes under the hammer' but when they return its not been renovated.
The hotel doesn't do it self any favours- with the reception area. The sofa as you walk in the front door looks like its been abandoned and recovered from the side of the road. The carpet on the steps to reception is thread bare.
The official room pictures look like they've been renovated, but my room obviously hadn't been. The veneer had come off the sides of the furniture. I could feel the mattress springs while in the bed.

On the plus side I only paid £50 per night B&B. The breakfast was good, The staff were friendly.

Ultimately you get what you pay for. If you want cheap and are not too fussy stay here.

This hotel needs a full refurb £££ to get it back on track- but then the prices would be increased.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and we apologies if the white vans put you off, as you can imagine we are a very busy hotel which does not discriminate between guests. We are going through a renovation programme over the christmas period and we would like to think that our friendly service has not put you off from returning to the hotel. We will be more than too happy to upgrade your room.
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I and 2 friends used this hotel as a base to go to Bury to travel on the steam railway Red Rose Dinner trip. See other review. The hotel was clean, staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. £55 B&B great value. Would recommend this hotel as a stop over for the railway or Bury Market which we visited the morning after the train ride.

Room Tip: Don't use the room opposite room 18 it is the guests ironing room and the board is very hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and most importantly you found our staff warm and welcoming. Our reputation for friendly staff, good service and good value for money is imperative to us and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for only one night staff were friendly and it looked fine from outside and communal areas, but the bed was small and not comfortable and the room was only slightly bigger than the bed felt very closed in. We couldn't find switches for the bedside lights so we pulled out the bed and they were below the top of the mattress unfortunately so was some old pizza and a pair of knickers! Thankfully we didn't pay the full £89 per room we had a special offer but it still wasn't worth it. Also £9.95 per person for breakfast is over the top.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and please accept my apologies for the experience you had. We have a very good team of housekeepers and unfortunately if pizza were found behind the bed then this is totally unacceptable. Our standards & training have most certainly been addressed, please note that we would have upgraded you immediately if this had been brought to our attention. . £9.95 is a standard price for both continental and full english breakfast including copious amounts of tea/coffee, the breakfast is also cooked to order and is not a buffet bar which is most common in other hotels, I am sorry you feel that you did not receive value for money, however should you wish to return please be assured of our best attentions
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst visiting friends. Staff very friendly, hotel and room clean, warm, and comfortable. Good breakfast included in the price. Bedroom furniture very tired and there was some mold above the shower but if you want perfection go somewhere else and pay four times as much! I thought the Birch was good value for money and will definately stay again when visiting Manchester.

Tip.
Just down the road towards Heywood there's a pub called the White Heart on the left hand side.
Probably the best pub meal I have ever had and at an unbelievably low price

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and you received a very warm welcome, our hospitality is something we pride ourselves on and being a family run hotel we can focus on our guests personally, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Heidi Kristel Rogers
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heywood
2.4 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
486 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Birch M62 Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Heywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Price Range: $63 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two turns from J19 on M62, ideal place to stay over if you visiting Manchester or Greater Manchester destinations. Relax in our cozy lounge. If you fancy a swim or work out we have an arrangement with The Heywood Village Centre which guests can use for free. Free Wifi & Free Car Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Hotel Manchester
Birch Hotel Heywood, Greater Manchester, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing