We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but sweet...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short but sweet...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here on a one night business trip. It was easy to find (with satnav of course!). Unfortunately I arrived too late in the day to appreciate the external surroundings which was a shame. Inside tho... the room was immaculate & spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The only complaint I would have would be that there was no extractor fan in the bathroom so I had to climb on the side of the bath to open the window whilst in the shower which, with wet feet, could have been a health & safety hazard! I ate in the restaurant & had the liver & bacon which was absolutely divine. Staff very attentive & helpful.Unfortunately (again) I had to leave at 6am the following morning so was unable to sample the breakfast :-(.
I would definitely use this hotel again if in the area for both business & personal use.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyedgirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    34
    30
    25
See reviews for
34
43
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

On the face of it, the Birch is very classy for its price range - nice building, plush reception area, pleasant and helpful staff. Overall, it is pretty good value. Unfortunately,though, there were a few too many hitches and annoyances for my liking.

The room was quite cold when I arrived, and the next morning. The bathroom had no proper heating (just a warm towel rail), and a window that could only be reached by clambering onto the side of the bath. Little things as well: the toilet roll wasn't replaced when there was hardly any left, and the hot chocolate wasn't replaced either. And the breakfast was largely ruined by having Capital Manchester's gormless, shouty breakfast DJ being blasted into our ears, along with the terrible music and adverts. (WHY do so many hoteliers assume we're happy to listen to commercial radio?)

I would be happy to go there again, though - but probably not in the winter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Birch Hotel for a number of weeks now because I work away from home and ever since I have stayed here, it has always been a very comforting and relaxing stay, there has never been any problems. The staff are very friendly and always make you feel like at home. The food is fantastic.... especially the curry! The breakfast is always delicious and well prepared. I would really recommend the Birch....well worth the money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

we had the pleasure to see an Adele tribute night at the birch and had a great fun night
the staff was extremely friendly, and helpful a special mention for Andrew and Heidi who went the extra mile to ensure we had a great night, the meal was excellent and value for money .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a lovely stay @ The Birch hotel, very nice, cosy, relaxing atmosphere in attractive surroundings. We had dinner in the restaurant both nights we stayed i can highly recommend the curry and my husband said the steak was top notch both reasonably priced for a hotel we had a few drinks at the hotel bar before heading off in to manchester town centre not too far away about £18 in a taxi which the lady on reception arranged for us. Breakfast was fab full english just what we needed after a night out the waitress was very attentive with coffee refills and plenty of toast. The rooms were modern and comfortable with every thing you could need, we asked for a room with a bath when we arrived as i like a good soak and the manager swapped our room with no hesitation. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and couldn't do enough for us, we would defiantly stay here again when we are next in the area. Room rates are great for the service you get. The hotel were redecorating corridors and some rooms but this didn't affect us at all and was looking new modern and fresh. :)

Room Tip: didn't use the room service or gym but it was offered to us when we checked in we did take advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 406Claire1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Used this lots of time and it is consistantly good, warm welcome, secure carpark, great location for the motorway and clean rooms. They are just redecorating so it is fresh and well maintained, like the rest of the ammenities.
The staff are always keen to help and the WIFI is brilliant, all through the rooms and general areas. For the money it over delivers everytime for me.

Room Tip: Like all hotels some of the rooms are up the stairs, along the corridor etc etc so you may need to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_911_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have stayed at the birch for over a year now during the weeks while i work away and i couldn't ask for anymore, the staff are always extremely friendly, foods very nice, always accommodating and i do tend to ask for the odd thing, even at breakfast they have made fish and eggs my favourite each morning. Rooms are nice and tidy, it does feel like a second home at nights and makes working away from home feel a little more like home, i would also suggest trying the curry which is exceptional

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heywood
1.7 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Hotel

Property: Birch Hotel
Address: Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Heywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two turns from J19 on M62, ideal place to stay over if you visiting Manchester or Greater Manchester destinations. Relax in our cozy lounge. If you fancy a swim or work out we have an arrangement with The Heywood Village Centre which guests can use for free.Free Wifi & Free Car Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Hotel Manchester
Birch Hotel Heywood, Greater Manchester, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing