We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Definitely felt unwanted in the morning!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Birch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely felt unwanted in the morning!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very helpful young lady when we checked in and room clean and spacious. BUT, shower luke warm at best, towels small, no milk for tea and coffee in the room.
The worst was yet to come though - We were told that breakfast was from 8.30 until 10 but when we arrived in dining room at 9.40 it was clear that the staff were annoyed that we had arrived 'so late'! We were made to feel very unwelcome by all the staff we encountered. Cooked breakfast was virtually thrown in front of us and noone came to offer us top ups for drinks or any toast, although this was apparently included! In fact they were clearing away around us, including shifting tables about!
A real shame because this could be a really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judiefford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    48
    28
    27
    17
See reviews for
25
43
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Looked nothing much like the photos on here & smelt of stale smoke ... That's why they have plug in air freshness everywhere. At 50 quid was cheap but not for what you got ...!! Sheets were clean, towels were small and rooms in need of new decor. The one I was in certainly did.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynneelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heywood hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed over after a party in the function room at the same hotel. Welcomed by a very helpful young lady at reception who changed our room to a twin with no extra charge, as I was staying with a friend and had booked a double online as it was cheaper.
The corridors looked a bit tired but the room was fantastic. Very clean and modern looking. The staff working in the bar were also very friendly. They happily swapped my wine as I wasnt keen on the taste.
The hotel is on a main road but you can not hear the traffic from the room. Very pleasant hotel and would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpamJavelin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very dirty ! I don't want to talk about it , I think I'll walk out in the morning with more than I came in with , pubic hair on a clean bed , and same in shower .!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fixer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Cheap and cheerful. Nice breakfast in the morning .
Cheery & helpful staff.
Rooms a bit tired, but it was a bed for the night after the greatest gig ever.
Would stay again if needed .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesman9Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here as a last minuet plan for £50. Although the hotel is a little tired, for example the bedroom doors, carpets etc look old and worn we had a very pleasent stay. The staff were very helpful and overall the hotel is in a nice location and very easy to get to from the M62. There is also a nice pub over the road which serves food till 9pm.
The room was large with a lovely modern bathroom and everything was very clean. The towels were white and fluffy and warmed on the towel rail which made my stay very cosy. I must also say that the bed was very comfy. I didn't want to get up:-)
I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We Booked a One night stop,and stayed a week.
Lovely quiet surroundings at the side of the M60.unbeleivable !!
Gardens beautiful,staff very helpful and friendly, food very good Accommodation outstanding.

Room Tip: all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heywood
2.1 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#1 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Hotel

Property: Birch Hotel
Address: Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Heywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two turns from J19 on M62, ideal place to stay over if you visiting Manchester or Greater Manchester destinations. Relax in our cozy lounge. If you fancy a swim or work out we have an arrangement with The Heywood Village Centre which guests can use for free.Free Wifi & Free Car Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Hotel Manchester
Birch Hotel Heywood, Greater Manchester, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing