We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous helpings”

The Derby Pool Harvester Wallasey
Ranked #11 of 104 Restaurants in Wallasey
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The Derby Pool Harvester in Wallasey food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Wallasey, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Bidston, New Brighton and Seacombe, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff were welcoming and we were given a choice of tables to sit at. The menu has quite a range of hefty meals and all the salad you can eat. However, it was a lighter meal I was after and I had some difficulty finding something and settled for a starter in the end. They don't serve filled jacket potatoes or soups, but plenty of fish and chips steaks, burghers etc. The free salad is for main meals only, there is a charge if you want salad with a starter.

If you want a really filling meal then this is the place for you, the plates of food I saw were large servings and the sundaes very generous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cowrieshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Derby Pool Harvester Wallasey, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 472 of 565 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

food was great all the free salad you can have and always topping it up with nice fresh lettuce and tomatoes and the honey and mustard sauce was to die for.
The staff i have never meet such nice and pleasant nothing is to much trouble. we highly recommend this place for service and quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ladymack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Derby Pool Harvester Wallasey, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Ate here with family honestly don't enter food RUBBISH frozen peas frozen sprouts frozen roast potatoes frozen beef and the whole salad bar is defrosted food not one bit of fresh food in place ... It's the first time I've eaten pineapple with hardly no taste and the peas taste of nothing my wife steak was tasty though apart from the petrol tasting pepper sauce the bread was half decent Even the wifi is RUBBISH and didn't have signal WHAT a waste of money ITS CHEAP AND NASTY. Love chez xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bearLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Derby Pool Harvester Wallasey, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Poor food, poor service. Contacted them and they can't even be bothered to reply which just about sums up the visit. Won't be going there again

Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Derby Pool Harvester Wallasey, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Derby Pool. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Decided to give the restaurant a second chance after a poor first visit many years ago... Friends rate it so thought we'd go for lunch. Lovely greeting from Faith and chose to sit by the window. How draughty the double glazing is! The menu was perhaps not what I had expected and after much deliberation, not wanting to have too many calories I chose chicken wraps. I helped myself to crispy salad and whole meal roll while I waited.... That was a mistake as when the meal arrived I had truly had a 'lunch' and not ready... But how unappetising can a few scattered chips, a pile of garden peas and one dry, pale wrap cut in two look. In my mind I had expected the wrap covered in a sauce and soft, but it was dry and tasteless. The filling meagre and not very warm. When asked how the meal was, I determined not to complain as this is my opinion of the meal and it could have been edible, maybe?
Sorry, Derby Pool, we will be be back for a long while...

Thank mytrips08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Derby Pool Harvester Wallasey, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Derby Pool Harvester. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Derby Pool Harvester Wallasey also viewed

Bromborough, Wirral
New Brighton, Wirral
 
New Brighton, Wirral
 
New Brighton, Wirral
Wallasey, Wirral
 

Been to The Derby Pool Harvester Wallasey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing