We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for a 3 star hotel - good value, nice rooms and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wallasey
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent for a 3 star hotel - good value, nice rooms and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great breakfasts and clean well appointed romms with nice touches (free crisps, water and sweets). Staff helpfull and friendly. Very good value.

Room Tip: room 17 is pleasant with a small 4 poster bed - larger than the other rooms but faces out to the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    35
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
64
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stay in this hotel when I visit my girlfriends in Wallasey which is normally every Xmas and at least two other occasions for birthdays etc.
The rooms are very spacious, very comfortable, and great facilities.
The food is fantastic with the most delicious sweet trollley I have ever seen.
The bar is so relaxing after a lovely meal and the staff very attentive.
I would highly recommend this hotel and is only 5 mins from Grove Road station which is
ideal for me travelling by train from Crewe.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

just returned from 2 day stay in this hotel there were 4 of us from the minute we walked into hotel till we left it was brillant the rooms were lovely with fresh fruit and bottled water the breakfast was best i have had in ahotel freshly cooked not sitting out also served to you at the table the second night we all got free desserts when we came back to hotel they were fab also we were given tea for 4 on the house as well thanks very much barbara carolan

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babs1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

A 60th Birthday Celebration took me to this gem of a small hotel. As it was a five minute walk from Wallasey Grove Road rail station I decided to go by train, an added advantage.

Booking myself into the hotel was "painless" and the receptionist so knowledgeable and helful. The hotel is located in a nice residential area of Wallasey I found the hotel and my room quality furnished with a very comfortable bed and widescreen telly set at the correct viewing height. Key for me is having a writing desk which was also in the room. In addition to coffee/tea making facilities there was a packet of crisps, a kitkat bar, bottled still water and a orange and apple, much appreciated welcoming features after your journey.

The Staff were friendly, well presented, efficient and helpful. I immediately relaxed in the inviting and comfortable ambiance of the hotel. Professionally run, all your wishes are catered for. For a private party the Function Room is excellent.

The centre of Liverpool is around half an hour on the train and all the attractions of the Wirral and Chester are also within easy reach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FraserMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We decided to book the Grove House Hotel for our ceromony, wedding breakfast and evening reception, and what can we say- excellent service all round. From the moment we arrived till following morning all staff were so professiona especially Carl, Function Manager . The food for the wedding breakfast along with the evening buffet was exceptional, all guests are still commenting on it now! The whole day was excellent. All staff made sure the day ran really smoothly and relaxed, excellent service. The photographs taken in the outside grounds are stunning, well maintained gardens, perfect for any wedding pictures. We could not of asked for any more the whole day ran so smoothly thanks to all the expertise of the staff. Perfect venue for perfect day. Sue+Mark

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue6897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stay as a business guest at the Grove perhaps a few times a month and the service I receive from all the staff makes my stay feel like i'm an 'old friend'. The service is personal, friendly and always efficient. I would recommend any one to stay here... if you want first class food, good hospitality in nice surroundings, the Grove is the place to stay.

Mike Jones, Johnson Controls

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejones62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel with my elderly mother and my sister. We had changed our booking from another close by hotel to this one because of the trip advisor reviews and we are so glad we did. The staff from reception to bar to restaurant to the night porter were all very friendly and helpful. The decor of the hotel was very nice and had a comfy ambience about it, especially the bar and restaurant.
The food in the restaurant was fantastic and the dessert trolley was something else !!! We have to go back up next week and booked our room straight away unfortunately we will be arriving to late too enjoy a dinner in the restaurant. A lovely little gem !!! and we ARE going back

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachskigirlX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallasey
2.1 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.6 mi away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
8.0 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#40 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Grove Road, Wallasey CH45 3HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Wallasey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wallasey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove House Hotel And Restaurant Wallasey, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing