We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was quality.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 42 Caldy Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
42 Caldy Road
Ranked #2 of 5 West Kirby B&B and Inns
Fareham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was quality.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Stayed overnight, arrived late, warmly welcomed which set the tone. Excellent night's sleep in very comfortable bed and spacious room. Splendid breakfast in homely atmosphere. Felt the owners (Sue & Ken) were genuinely interested in their guests and making sure that their establishment passes the tests with flying colours. Have re-booked for later this month!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nic_holladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Sue and Ken are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and each visit warms me to them even more. I love the house, the gardens, the views and it feels like I come 'home' each visit. My Swiss partner also loves it here and each time we come over we would not dream of staying anywhere else but at Peel Hey or Warren Cottage

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jannnewbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We have stayed with Sue + Ken on two occasions and on both we were made to feel welcome and everything as done to make our stay perfect. The views over the R Dee towards were Wales magical. The accomodation perfect, the beds very comfortable.Well recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank branleyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciren
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

4 of us spent an enjoyable long weekend-superb weather did help-although breakfasts were good we felt the "extra little touches" to warrant 5 stars were not present-no fresh milk in bedrooms despite asking, only uht-no glasses in rooms for drinking wine, did ask but nothing provided, we had to use cups! no marmite! we have been to many other lower graded establishments and received the extras as a matter of course-the overall impression we got was that as they run another B&B nearby, they were overcommitted and could have done with some staff-only landlady was present to serve and cook!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfoxCiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

We had the room at the top of the stairs off the living room. It was like we had 1/2 the house to ourselves, using the living room and the very comfortable bedroom. The view from the room and backyard were amazing of the estuary and hills of Wales off in the distance. Be sure to stay in long enough to see a sunset if the sky is clear enough. Sue and Ken made us feel right at home for our two night stay with great breakfasts and great recommendations for dinner. Try Loch Fyne in West Kirby and The Portrait House in Hoylake. Thank you Sue and Ken for a great, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducci07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

Having had a stressful time recently, we needed some time away and started our journey on the Wirral. Sue's wonderful welcome and the fantastic room overlooking the Dee Estuary were much appreciated. And the breakfast, well, suffice to say that we would have been happy to stay there for the rest of our holiday!

Sue and Ken, thank you both for your warm hospitality and we will be back

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindylouIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

Caldy Warren cottage is ideally situated as a base from which to explore the delights of the Wirral. Whether by car or walking, you are minutes away from all this area has to offer.

On arrival at Caldy Warren, we were immediately made to feel at home. Shown by Sue to a room with lovely views of the Dee Estuary, Hilbre Island and North Wales beyond, set the scene for a superb long Easter weekend stay. The room and en-suite were immaculately clean and presented and everything was provided for a comfortable stay.

Over the course of the weekend, service was excellent - helpful but not intrusive. Sue was happy to chat about places to visit and to eat which was very useful and the lounge, patio and lovely garden were there for our use. The bed was so comfortable and as Caldy Warren is situated in a very quiet area, a good night's sleep was enjoyed. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of continental or full English and with an added bonus of a view of Snowdonia with snow on the mountain tops.

After our stay, we felt rested and relaxed and glad that we had made the choice to stay at Caldy Warren Cottage, a jewel on the Wirral!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leda34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kirby
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
5.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 Caldy Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 Caldy Road

Property: 42 Caldy Road
Address: 42 Caldy Road, West Kirby CH48 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > West Kirby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Kirby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful privately owned 42 Caldy Road guest house offering luxury B&B accommodation. Spectacular views across Dee Estuary towards Wales & just a short walk from beautiful sandy beach, local woods and Wirral Way. Close to West Kirby for restaurants & bars & all amenities, golf, sailing & windsurfing,walking and convenient for Hoylake Open Golf Championship venue 2014, Liverpool & Chester, making us an excellent touring base for North Wales & beyond. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 42 Caldy Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 Caldy Road West Kirby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing