We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!”
Review of 42 Caldy Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
42 Caldy Road
Ranked #2 of 5 West Kirby B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at 42 Caldy Road many times over the last few years. The house is beautiful, the rooms are quiet, and the views are stunning. Sue and Ken Graves, the gracious owners are accommodating and informative - and they cook a great breakfast! I heartily recommend a visit if you're looking for comfort in the West Kirby area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for 42 Caldy Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Brian and Liz.

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Warren Cottage and it really was a very relaxing and wonderful stay.The breakfast was excellent and the beds extremely comfortable.Sue and Ken where very kind and entertaining hosts.The house is in a lovely position,stepping out into the garden one can hear the haunting calls of the Curlew and see flocks of Knot and Dunlin twisting and turning over the estuary and on misty days when the lights of the Welsh coast are no more visible it is very easy to picture the Dee as described by John Milton in his poem "Lycidas" as the wizard stream.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay at 42 Caldy Road with Sue & Ken who were nothing but accommodating and welcoming.

The view is of course amazing. We were able to see Wales every day and to watch the boats on the Marine Lake. Also such close proximity to Caldy Hill and the footpaths was awesome.

Breakfast was great.
Oh! Best part! They were able to snag a tee time for my husband at the Royal Liverpool which completely made the trip.
Thanks guys!
-Alex

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were in the area for a family celebration and found this little gem on Trip Advisor. Our room was at the back of the house with lovely views. It was spotless and there was every attention to detail. A delicious breakfast was served by Sue and the conversation at the table with other guests very pleasant. We would not hesitate to return next time there's a family bash.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - the view is wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were so lucky to find this wonderful 'home from home' having had a rather bad experience in Chester. Both rooms were superb and our room had the most spectacular views. It is possible to take a short walk down to the beach or if you are feeling really energetic you have miles of the Wirral Way to explore. Ken and Sue were lovely, lovely people, very welcoming and a great attitude to business. Thank you both for a great stay and we will be seeing you again very soon.
Only down side was having to look at Kens legs but you can't have everything. Only joking, thanks again from Honor, Sally and Don (you remember me the shy one)

Room Tip: Book early and avoid dissappointment
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We regularly visit the Wirral & use Warren Cottage as a base to explore the surrounding area.
We have stayed at this B&B many times & would highly recommend it.
The hosts, Ken & Sue, are very welcoming & happy to share their local knowledge on subjects ranging from golf to gastronomy.
The house itself is wonderfully located overlooking the Dee estuary & the North Wales coast. The room we stayed in was very comfortable & spacious with great views of the fantastic sunsets over the estuary. My husband particularly enjoys the delicious home cooked breakfasts which sets us up for the day.
This is a first class B&B and we would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I visit my elderly Mum regularly in Caldy and I regularly stay at this bed and breakfast. It's a very comfortable 'home from home' that is family run and gives a very warm welcome. The hospitality is great, the food is excellent, attention is paid to every detail and I highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kirby
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
4.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
804 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
CaldersCroft
CaldersCroft
#1 of 5 in West Kirby
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 Caldy Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 Caldy Road

Address: 42 Caldy Road, West Kirby CH48 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > West Kirby
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Kirby
Price Range: $113 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful privately owned 42 Caldy Road guest house offering luxury B&B accommodation. Spectacular views across Dee Estuary towards Wales & just a short walk from beautiful sandy beach, local woods and Wirral Way. Close to West Kirby for restaurants & bars & all amenities, golf, sailing & windsurfing,walking and convenient for Hoylake Open Golf Championship venue 2014, Liverpool & Chester, making us an excellent touring base for North Wales & beyond. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 42 Caldy Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 Caldy Road West Kirby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing