We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melanie Kennedy”

Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby
Ranked #10 of 71 Restaurants in West Kirby
Price range: $0 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fanatical about flames; silly about smokers and utterly obsessed with the smells, tastes and traditions of the Deep South. Our smokin' hot menu is available all day every day, from smokehouse classics including ribs, Texas style beef brisket, to steak and burgers. Serving breakfast Friday - Sunday and lunch throughout the week and a specially designed kids menu that includes ‘grown-up’ tastes and some fun healthy options, the entire family can experience the flavours of the deep South. Hickory’s comes complete with cinema room for kids (just the little ones!) and a secret garden with a slushy & milkshake bar, Hickory's West Kirby sits in a perfect location, just minutes walk from the fabulous West Kirby beach and Hilbre Island nature reserve.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food is just very poor and over priced it tastes as bad as it looks. Went with my family last year didn't like it then my son loved it he was the only one out of the family that did.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank BackPacker579700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory's S, General Manager at Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi BackPacker579700,

Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm sorry to hear you don't enjoy enjoy our style of food.

We hope that you give us another try in the future.

Best Wishes,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to hickory’s yesterday for the first time, we where celebrating our wedding anniversary, we where shown to a table really quickly.
Complementary bottle of water and some popcorn arrived, which is a nice touch, along with our waitress Georgia, she took our order which was the smokehouse sharing platter, also our drinks order.
Drinks arrived quickly and then just a short wait for our food, which was amazing! Portions are massive, we took a doggy bag home there was that much, the steak melted in your mouth, chips where great along with the pulled pork and dips, meat eaters heaven.
Georgia returned to ask about dessert, we explained we where too full but would have a cocktail as we where celebrating, on her return with a flaming firework, complementary brownie and strawberries and the cocktails on the house!!! Well what can I say fantastic service, Georgia is a credit to your restaurant, nothing too much trouble very bubbly and smiley she made our day, thanks hickory’s we will be back!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory's S, General Manager at Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi pam l,

Thank you for such a great review.

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us, especially as you were celebrating such a special occasion :)

I'll ensure pass your comments back to Georgia and the team, they will be made up!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not sure if lunch or dinner but who cares. The food was excellent in every way the prices were good the place is good to sit in especially in the conservatory on a nice day. Friends we took were very impressed. The 2 members of staff were excellent and very friendly.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howard-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory's S, General Manager at Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon Howard-Liverpool,

Thank you for such a positive review!

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us recently, i'll ensure your comments get passed back to Head Chef and the team :)

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

Haven’t been here for some time. Eight of us plus toddler booked a table for lunch. Service was pleasant if a little slow. Drinks took a little longer than expected to arrive but were all satisfactory when they did. Food was lovely, too many different choices to mention but the beef brisket and the frickles were excellent. Little play area outside was a nice touch, little one enjoyed the chalk and black boards. Will go again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 415lindsayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory's S, General Manager at Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 415lindsayf,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Its great to hear you enjoyed your meals with us recently, i apologise that the service was slower than usual, however i'm glad that it didn't ruin your experience.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Called with a American lady. new to the area and what a time we had the Brisket bites are amazing. great staff which was very helpful and had great knowledge of what to offer the customer. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will be back soon.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rogerthetimberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory's S, General Manager at Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Hi rogerthetimberman,

Thank you for such a great review!

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meals with us :) - i'll be sure to pass your comments back on to the team.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Many thanks,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby also viewed

 

Been to Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing