We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable ”
Review of The Dee Hotel

The Dee Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Restaurants in West Kirby
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reasonable ”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Good service
Good food
Just a decent pub would recommend
For a family meal and few drinks
Not too expensive
Don't like new menu design but that's it rest was good

Helpful?
Thank Bennycrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Hotel W, Manager at The Dee Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you. It is always nice to be able to pass on positive comments to the team. Look out for the new menu coming in early march - any feedback would be welcomed and can always be passed on for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    20
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We called in on a wet and blustery Sunday afternoon as it was too cold for our usual walk along the beach. Service was very quick and staff were polite and helpful. Excellent food, well cooked and tasty, I had sausage and mash and my husband the tuna baguette, one really plus side was the tray of full size condiments on the table, no having to open half a dozen fiddly sachets. The décor is good and everywhere clean if a little thread bare in places. We will visit again and may book for Christmas

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getawaymenorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Hotel W, Manager at The Dee Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you - pleased you appreciated the move from 'fiddly sachets' - it was something we had worked on for quite a while & we are glad we have changed! We are currently working towards replacing some of the furnishings so on your next visit hopefully you will find us clean and less 'threadbare?' You're comments have been passed on to the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mold
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“steak night afternoon”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

a wet october afternoon and a steak with a drink beckoned.
as expected the location was quiet
nicely decorated with different alcoves and rooms
pity the fire wasnt lit
sirloin steak was excellent for £6.59 including a drink
friendly efficient staff

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great value everyday grub”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have a few days near West Kirby most years and last year we discovered the Dee. We visited again last week and went to the Dee twice. First evening, Monday - very hot, we called in for a drink but the air conditioning was so welcoming we ended up having some food. The gourmet burger with chips was very nice and plenty, price under £6 and I upgraded my included gin & tonic to a double for only a quid extra, marvellous. Thursday was our second meal there last week and this time we had Curry Club, beef madras, nan bread, 2 popadoms, rice & mango chutney again with an included drink, pint of Thatchers cider this time. All very nice and amazing value at £5.49!! Combine this with a nice building and comfortable furniture, plus (big point for me this) friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Example - an elderly gent, clearly not too good on his feet was cheerfully served at his table, when his meal came he asked where the condiments were, no problem, what would you like? I'll get them for you! Top marks, well done again Wetherspoons and staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

By going to an establishment which is part of the well known chain, you know the standard of food available and you quite rightly expect consistency. The Dee is no exception. The food is excellent for the price you pay and the drinks are extremely affordable as well.

There is an olde world charm about the Dee and even if you call in for a morning coffee there are comfy sofas to relax in whilst you chat with friends or just enjjoy the ambience whilst taking a well earned break after shopping.

It is a pity that the beautiful panelled dining room upstairs is not in use - what an ideal location for a restaurant - what about it Wetherspoons?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank restaurant_examiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dee Hotel also viewed

 
West Kirby, Wirral
West Kirby, Wirral
 
Birkenhead, Wirral
Wallasey, Wirral
 

Been to The Dee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing